The Opal San Francisco

3 stars
1050 Van Ness Avenue, San Francisco, CA 94109
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
615 reviews
Nice stay

We had double suite room with 4 adults, we had good stay. Breakfast was better than expected with... See full review

  • TravelerAsia
  • Sep 26, 2014
great location

pleasant staff, decent breakfast and good for bus routes See full review

  • craiggus
  • Sep 7, 2014
Historic hotel and spacious suites -- walking distance to Union Square

Dating back to 1908, this five-story Union Square hotel still boasts the stained glass windows, period antiques and other decorative touches that hearken back to a simpler time. Rooms are clean and efficient; spacious work desks are popular among business travelers. Other amenities include a complimentary on-site fitness center and 24-hour coffee and tea service, as well as a complimentary breakfast buffet.

Highlights
  • Walking distance to shopping in Union Square
  • Historic architecture, decorative touches
  • 24-hour coffee and tea service
  • Complimentary breakfast buffet
Rooms

Each of The Opal's 164 guest rooms features central air and heat, cable television and complimentary high-speed Internet. (There's also free Wi-Fi in the hotel lobby.) Suites include small sitting areas with plush sofas. A handful of rooms have windows that look out onto the bustling Union

Features
The hotel has received a three-diamond rating from AAA and was selected as the Crescent Hotel and Resorts "Hotel of the Year" in 2008. A baby grand piano welcomes visitors to the lobby of The Opal -- a public area decorated to invoke the way it looked when the hotel debuted in 1908.

Elsewhere on the property is a 24-hour laundry facility (fees apply) and car rental desk (fees apply; rentals also can be facilitated by the concierge). Overnight parking is also available (fees apply).

All guests have complimentary access to a state-of-the-art on-site fitness center. Guests also are entitled to a complimentary breakfast buffet every morning.

After a long day exploring the city, grab a milkshake and a tuna melt at the on-site outpost of Mel's Drive-In, a 1950s-style diner that has become a San Francisco institution. The restaurant is open 24 hours on weekends.
Transportation
  • San Francisco International Airport (45 minutes)
  • Oakland International Airport (40 minutes)
  • MUNI bus (5 minutes walking)
  • Cable car stops (15 minutes walking)
  • BART (18 minutes walking)
Attractions
  • Union Square
  • Theater District
  • Embarcadero
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art
  • AT&T Park
Policies and fees

Debit cards are not acceptable at check-in. Overnight Parking is available (FEES APPLY).

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

The Opal San Francisco Rooms

Superior Junior Suite
Superior Jr Suite-Free Continential Breakfast Free Internet
Executive Suite
King bed w-Living room Free Cont Brkfst-Wireless Internet Access
KING JUNIOR SUITE
ONE KING BED - SITTING AREA FREE CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST BUFFET FREE WIRELESS INTERNET ACCESS
Deluxe King
Deluxe King - Free Continential Breakfast Free Internet access
Deluxe Double Double
Deluxe Double Room Free Continential Breakfast Buffet
Deluxe Queen
Deluxe Queen-Free Continential Breakfast Free Internet access

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
General
Air conditioned
Free local telephone calls
Elevators
Dining
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
Coffee shop
Meal plan - continental
Family plan
Services
24 hour front desk
Maid service
Guest laundromat
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
Security
In-Room Safe
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Room
Temperature control
Electronic door locks
International direct dial
Sprinklers in rooms

Hotel Map

37.7855 -122.4209
Nearby airports
San Francisco International Airport, (SFO), 25.00, MI, W; Oakland International Airport, (OAK), 22.10, MI, NW;
Area description
City Center

Nearby points of interest

  • Civic Centre: 0.2 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.2 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.4 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 0.5 mi
  • Japantown: 0.5 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 0.5 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 0.5 mi
  • Japan Center: 0.5 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 0.6 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 0.6 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.6 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.7 mi
  • Union Square: 0.8 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.8 mi
  • SoMa: 0.8 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.2 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.2 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.4 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 0.5 mi
  • Japantown: 0.5 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 0.5 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 0.5 mi
  • Japan Center: 0.5 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 0.6 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 0.6 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.6 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.7 mi
  • Union Square: 0.8 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.8 mi
  • SoMa: 0.8 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.9 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.9 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 1 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 1 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 1.1 mi
  • Moscone Center: 1.1 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 1.1 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 1.1 mi
  • Chinatown: 1.1 mi
  • Lombard Street: 1.1 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 1.2 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 1.2 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 1.4 mi
  • Coit Tower: 1.4 mi
  • Walter Adams Gallery: 1.4 mi
  • Mission Dolores: 1.5 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 1.5 mi
  • Mission Delores: 1.6 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 1.6 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 1.6 mi
  • Ferry Building: 1.6 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 1.7 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 1.7 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 1.7 mi
  • Underwater World: 1.7 mi
  • ATT Park: 1.7 mi
  • Haight Ashbury: 1.7 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 1.7 mi
  • Pier 39: 1.7 mi
  • Wyland Gallery: 1.8 mi

Dining

Mels Drive In Diner
Classic American Food - 1950 Diner

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (615)

Ratings and reviews for The Opal San Francisco

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
615 out of 615
Amenities:
3.3
Room cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3.6
Location:
3.7
Value:
3.8

81% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Philadelphia, PA
Feb 11, 2010

Highly Recommended

I was greeted by a very friendly manager at check-in. He even voluntarily recommended activities and told me what areas to "avoid" on a map. The room and bathroom were very clean. This hotel is charming and located conveniently. The only disadvantage is the expensive parking fee and the lack of street parking in the vicinity.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Park your car on the street - preferably one without street cleaning restrictions and take the bus! Saves you the inconvenience of driving around to look for a parking spot.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Hogansville, GA
Feb 8, 2010

Nice for the price

We got to the hotel almost 3 hours before check-in due to flight time, and we were able to check in without any problem. We did switch rooms because we had requested a smoking room and weren't given one. (Note: The smoking rooms are in a seperate building connected by a breezeway. The main building is smoke-free.) The hotel is old, but location is good, there are several restaurants nearby, pharmacy and bus stop just down the street. Super-comfy beds with nice linens and huge, king-size pillows. Our shower drained slowly, but it wasn't a big deal. Make sure you bring your own soap, shampoo, and conditioner. What they provide is minimal. The continental breakfast left a lot to be desired - boiled eggs, toast, cereal - but maybe that's just me. It was nice to have coffee available 24 hours a day, and Mel's Diner (attached to the hotel) had very good food at a reasonable price. I would definitely stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Defintely take the San Francisco tour! The deluxe one through Tower Tours was great. They picked us up at the hotel, we saw a LOT of the city that way, and the bus was clean and comfortable.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Somewhere in, New Mexico
Feb 6, 2010

Nice and quiet.

Good location to the cable car. and walking distance from union square. Also close to Michell brother!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Opinion Hotel
Business
San Francisco, CA
Feb 6, 2010

Great all around!

I live in the city with roomates and when my boyfriend comes to visit me from out of town we always end up choosing this hotel. It has the best location on Van Ness. Very close to downtown. You could walk there in about 10 min. Just one bus ride to either the mission or even fisherman wharf. It is an older hotel but is kept up really well and most of the staff are really great and very helpful. They always remember my name from the various times I visit. Love Love Love and would recommed to anyone. They have a free continental breakfast that is your average toast, bagels, juice, and coffe and they even have a complimentary cheese and wine reception on Wednesdays with live music. All in all my boyfriend and I call it our home away from home.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Peder the Great Dane
Business
Bydgoszcz, Poland
Feb 1, 2010

unbeatable price for the good location

Very professional staff, always very helpful. The hotel is good situated only few blocks away from Business Center and China Town. If you are looking for a downtown location to a fair price, the Opal hotel is the hotel to go for. Our first time in SFO, but certainly not the last and Opal would be our choice for the next trip too.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Ruth´s Chris steak restaurant. Certainly worth to pay a visit. Excellent service, the food extremely good and a place you would bring your loved ones.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Ann Arbor, MI
Jan 18, 2010

By Antiques they just mean old.

There were quite a few homeless people in the area. Very sad. I did not feel safe. The fitness room is small but the machines were fine. That and the breakfast were pleasant surprises. I do not think I would stay there again but it was inexpensive. Everything was old and run down in the room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Cross the street to go to the best little bar/deli style resturaunt I have ever been to. Can not remember the name but there was a good crowd and everyone only had great things to say about it. Food was awesome.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Diego, CA
Jan 18, 2010

Unbeatable location for the price

Room was too small, bedspread too old. Other than that if was GREAT. Excellent location close to bars. Parking costs $25 per day. The front desk people were very professional and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Vertigo bar, great atmosphere.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
dirt man
Business
Roseville,Ca.
Jan 18, 2010

stuff

Great spot if you like staying at Grandmas house. Great place for a parking ticket $73 just to check in $25 more for their safe parking I spent more in parking than the room. Close to all the bums.and strip joints.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

set up parking before hand . so you dont get hammered like me.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Opal Hater
Business
Oakhurst Ca
Jan 12, 2010

***Beware Additional Parking Costs****

Arrived at 9 pm and tried to check in...Hotel Clerk was nice but informed me that I needed to pay another 50 dollar deposit and would only accept a credit card, only brought cash so had to go to the nearest WF ATM to deposit money into account. Finally got checked in around 11 pm. Hotel clerk asked if I would like parking and indicated that it would be another 25 DOLLARS PER NIGHT. I asked where else we could park and she indicated on the street (which is not safe and has many homeless people sleeping on the sidewalk). So I paid the 25 bucks and brought my full size truck around the block to the parking garage, upper parking lot was full so I tried the lower parking lot...which only had a 6 foot clearance...so I called the clerk again and she indicated that I should park in the only spot availble a HC parking spot at the top parking lot...luckily I had the assistance of a local bum to guide to the right location (he was more help than the hotel clerk). Finally got to room and found the elevator would go up but would not go down to the garage. 2 bed room was small with no view... got bit by something during the night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
SarieKay
Business
Hesperia, CA
Jan 12, 2010

Teeny Tiny Room

These rooms are teeny tiny, but really, who stays in the room while in San Francisco? We certainly did not. I was expecting a small room when I booked the hotel, so it was no big deal. The room was clean. The staff was efficient, I can't say she was friendly, but in her defense, she was very busy. Parking is an additional charge, and the spots are small. ***The Opal is walking distance to the cable car start at California, and China Town. It is around the corner from restaurants on Polk. This is a very good location for the money. ***I skipped the diner attached to the hotel due to lukewarm reviews, and instead we ate at Tommys Joynt across the street, it's a MUST for hot open faced sandwiches, very good, we ate there twice. ***Overall? I was satisfied with my stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top