$104 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 1, 2014 Check-out: Sep 3, 2014

The Opal San Francisco

3 stars
1050 Van Ness Avenue, San Francisco, CA 94109
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
632 reviews
Good price for location

Friendly and helpful staff. Large comfortable room. See full review

  • MarianaMC
  • Apr 27, 2014
The Opal Stay

We found The Opal very helpful and welcoming to all our request. Staff was very efficient and... See full review

  • Jan Combs
  • Apr 12, 2014
Historic hotel and spacious suites -- walking distance to Union Square

Dating back to 1908, this five-story Union Square hotel still boasts the stained glass windows, period antiques and other decorative touches that hearken back to a simpler time. Rooms are clean and efficient; spacious work desks are popular among business travelers. Other amenities include a complimentary on-site fitness center and 24-hour coffee and tea service, as well as a complimentary breakfast buffet.

Highlights
  • Walking distance to shopping in Union Square
  • Historic architecture, decorative touches
  • 24-hour coffee and tea service
  • Complimentary breakfast buffet
Rooms

Each of The Opal's 164 guest rooms features central air and heat, cable television and complimentary high-speed Internet. (There's also free Wi-Fi in the hotel lobby.) Suites include small sitting areas with plush sofas. A handful of rooms have windows that look out onto the bustling Union

Features
The hotel has received a three-diamond rating from AAA and was selected as the Crescent Hotel and Resorts "Hotel of the Year" in 2008. A baby grand piano welcomes visitors to the lobby of The Opal -- a public area decorated to invoke the way it looked when the hotel debuted in 1908.

Elsewhere on the property is a 24-hour laundry facility (fees apply) and car rental desk (fees apply; rentals also can be facilitated by the concierge). Overnight parking is also available (fees apply).

All guests have complimentary access to a state-of-the-art on-site fitness center. Guests also are entitled to a complimentary breakfast buffet every morning.

After a long day exploring the city, grab a milkshake and a tuna melt at the on-site outpost of Mel's Drive-In, a 1950s-style diner that has become a San Francisco institution. The restaurant is open 24 hours on weekends.
Transportation
  • San Francisco International Airport (45 minutes)
  • Oakland International Airport (40 minutes)
  • MUNI bus (5 minutes walking)
  • Cable car stops (15 minutes walking)
  • BART (18 minutes walking)
Attractions
  • Union Square
  • Theater District
  • Embarcadero
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art
  • AT&T Park
Policies and fees

Debit cards are not acceptable at check-in. Overnight Parking is available (FEES APPLY).

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

37.7855 -122.4209
Nearby airports
San Francisco International Airport, (SFO), 25.00, MI, W; Oakland International Airport, (OAK), 22.10, MI, NW;
Area description
City Center

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Opal San Francisco also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

The Opal San Francisco Rooms

Superior Junior Suite
Superior Jr Suite-Free Continential Breakfast Free Internet
Executive Suite
King bed w-Living room Free Cont Brkfst-Wireless Internet Access
KING JUNIOR SUITE
ONE KING BED - SITTING AREA FREE CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST BUFFET FREE WIRELESS INTERNET ACCESS
Deluxe King
Deluxe King - Free Continential Breakfast Free Internet access
Deluxe Double Double
Deluxe Double Room Free Continential Breakfast Buffet
Deluxe Queen
Deluxe Queen-Free Continential Breakfast Free Internet access

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
General
Air conditioned
Free local telephone calls
Elevators
Dining
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
Coffee shop
Meal plan - continental
Family plan
Services
24 hour front desk
Maid service
Guest laundromat
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
Security
In-Room Safe
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Room
Temperature control
Electronic door locks
International direct dial
Sprinklers in rooms

Nearby points of interest

  • Civic Centre: 0.2 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.2 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.4 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 0.5 mi
  • Japantown: 0.5 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 0.5 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 0.5 mi
  • Japan Center: 0.5 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 0.6 mi
  • Nob Hill: 0.6 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 0.6 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.6 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.7 mi
  • Union Square: 0.8 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.2 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.2 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.4 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 0.5 mi
  • Japantown: 0.5 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 0.5 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 0.5 mi
  • Japan Center: 0.5 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 0.6 mi
  • Nob Hill: 0.6 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 0.6 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.6 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.7 mi
  • Union Square: 0.8 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.8 mi
  • SoMa: 0.8 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.9 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.9 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 1 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 1 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 1.1 mi
  • Moscone Center: 1.1 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 1.1 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 1.1 mi
  • Chinatown: 1.1 mi
  • Lombard Street: 1.1 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 1.2 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 1.2 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 1.4 mi
  • Coit Tower: 1.4 mi
  • Walter Adams Gallery: 1.4 mi
  • Mission Dolores: 1.5 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 1.5 mi
  • Mission Delores: 1.6 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 1.6 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 1.6 mi
  • Ferry Building: 1.6 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 1.7 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 1.7 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 1.7 mi
  • Underwater World: 1.7 mi
  • ATT Park: 1.7 mi
  • Haight Ashbury: 1.7 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 1.7 mi
  • Pier 39: 1.7 mi

Dining

Mels Drive In Diner
Classic American Food - 1950 Diner

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (632)

Ratings and reviews for The Opal San Francisco

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
632 out of 632
Amenities:
3.3
Room cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3.6
Location:
3.7
Value:
3.8

82% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Beloa
Spain
Oct 11, 2009

The good hotel for the price

The experience was very good. The only thing I can say that it could be better, it's the breakfeast...it should have ham, cheese or sausages.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Atlanta, GA
Jul 21, 2009

Very nice hotel

Older hotel with lots of character. Nice room and location for us. About 4 blocks from cable car to Nob Hill area. Had problem with coffee maker - called front desk and within 2 minutes, someone was at our door to see about it. Good service and decent breakfast bar. Rooms were adequate size and bed was comfortable. It's an older hotel in a busy urban area, so there is some noise, both from inside and out. Parking was OK but expensive, but most parking in the city is pricy. Would definitely stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Cable cars are convenient, fun way to get around if you're heading to Fisherman's Wharf, Chinatown or downtown. We drove around town the last time we were in SF and spent a fortune on parking. We left the car at the hotel this time and saved a lot of time and money.

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Gran, Granny, Mom, whatever works.
Los Angeles
Jul 22, 2009

A charming environment to relax in

This was a fast trip to meet up with family members for an outing. The hotel was charming. Continental breakfast could have been better if fresh fruit and pastries were provided. I spent very little time in the hotel but I found the room very comfortable, clean and perfect for my trip. Staff was helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

California Academy of Sciences and de Young Museum well worth the trip

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Pacifica, CA
Mar 25, 2010

Very nice, very convenient location

Easy access to cabs, bus. very close to a great movies theatre (next door) great restaurants in walking distance, Tommy's joint across the street. House of Prime rib just a few blocks away. Very clean and great old SF atmosphere. Will stay there again. Susanne was very friendly and helpful when we checked in.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Tommy's joint and House of Prime Rib, Tommy joint very, very reasonable with great food, House of Prime Rib more expensive with great food.

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Niagara Falls,On
Mar 20, 2011

"Great place to stay in San Francisco"

This hotel was a very comfortable and clean place to stay while visiting San Francisco. The hotel front desk staff were very kind, helpful and knowledgeable regarding directions to various locations and other information asked of them. The lobby is very lovely and the rooms are a fair size. There are bus stops everywhere so getting on the MUNI is easy and within walking distance. Local calls are free so if you need to use the phone it is very convenient. The free breakfast includes toast, bagels, orange and apple juice, hard boiled eggs, apples and oranges, and coffee and tea. It is sufficient and well stocked at all times and is enough for a good head start in the morning and very convenient. We enjoyed our stay very much and would definitely stay again when visiting San Francisco. Thank you Opal Hotel for a pleasant experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Haight/Ashbury experience is great for those who love vintage shopping. It is a very quaint area full of great vintage store and nice little cafe's. We took the MUNI buses to get there and it is fun traveling through the city.

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Winnipeg, Manitoba
Apr 5, 2011

Great value!

This was a very nice, comfortable hotel at a very reasonable price with nice staff. The only issue is that it's in a sketchy part of town...but walking 10-15 minutes will get you to nicer areas. We got the CityPass and several buses stopped near the hotel which was convenient. If you're willing to do a little walking and you're a smart traveler, this is the place for you.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Burmese Kitchen and Napoli Pizza

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Slidell, La.
Apr 9, 2011

A good experience for the money

The room was clean but the a/c would not work correctly. We changed rooms and still could not get the a/c to work. We had to open a window to cool off the room. The staff was very friendly and helpful. I just think it was a fluke about the a/c. They offered us another room, but we did not feel like moving again. I would stay at this hotel again if I go back to San Francisco.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

I would recommend the Catamaran sunset cruise on the bay.

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lost in Asia
Business
Los Angeles, CA, USA
Oct 21, 2009

An Excellent Value

I'm in San Francisco often for work. I had been staying in the suburbs to save money on the hotel, and then traveling into the city on BART. But I decided to try again to find an inexpensive but decent hotel in the city. I spent a lot of time reading reviews and comparing prices, and settled on the Opal. It seemed that everything else was either too expensive or too sleazy I was not disappointed. The room was big enough to be comfortable and very clean. It was also very quiet. I never heard any noise from surrounding rooms (maybe they were empty?). The mattress was firm, but comfortable. The pillows were more firm than usual, which I like, but you may not. The breakfast buffet was good for this price range: toast (white and wheat bread), bagels with cream cheese, croissants, hard-boiled eggs, Cheerios and Raisin Bran, etc. The neighborhood is not the best, but is safe enough. The hotel is on Van Ness, a very busy street even at night, so I felt safe outside even late at night, as long as I didn't wander down any quiet streets. The fitness center is very small, but no one else was there the two times I went there. It has dumbbells up to 50 pounds, which will allow me to stay in shape while working in San Francisco. The worst thing about the Opal was the slow internet connection. I ran speed tests at various times. The speeds were always around 250 kbps, which is only 5 times dial-up speed, which is fast enough for text-based work, such as reading and e-mail, but too slow for video and fast picture viewing. I paid $66 plus tax for my room. In the suburbs, I was paying $60 plus tax plus the cost of the BART to get into the city. For appoximately the same cost, I'll be staying at the Opal from now on, and walk 5 or 10 minutes to my work at the Civic Center. Yea, I get to sleep in longer!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The attached diner, Mel's Diner, was okay, but a bit expensive and nothing special. It seemed to be more about image than substance. The cheeseburger was too ordinary, but the quality of the meat was good. The fries were above average. I found an excellent Burmese restaurant a few blocks away: the Larkin Express, also known as the Burmese Kitchen. I ate there three times, and ate three excellent meals. The Tea Leaf Salad was especially good. If you like Thai food, you'll like Burmese food, which is similar. I've travelled in Southeast Asia, although not in Burma. The food at this restaurant seemed to be authentic, and up there with the best restaurants I ate at in Southeast Asia.

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Pratheep
USA
May 28, 2007

Good hotel, open to improvements

The rooms are comfortable, well maintainted,good internet facility - fast and uninterrupted. The breakfast options were minimal, with few items to chose from. Allocating the parking lots need to be improved. We had to park in an open lot for one night,even though we were allocated a parking lot - someone else had parked in the lot. However, we were able to park the next night in our lot!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

1) Good hotels nearby - walkable distance 2) Short drive to Golden Gate,Union Square,China Town,Fisherman's Wharf and other major attractions.

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Dallas, TX
Jun 21, 2007

BEWARE OF HIDDEN COST

WE WERE TOTALLY SUPPRISE THAT WE HAD TO PAY $25 PER DAY TO PARK AT THE HOTEL. ALL OTHER HOTELS IN THE NEIGBORHOOD WERE FREE INCLUDING THE ONE NEXT DOOR. WE HAD END UP TO PAID OVER $100 FOR THE PARKING AT THE HOTEL. I THINK THAT NOT RIGHT FOR CUSTOMER TO PAY THAT MUCH FOR THE PARKING.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
1
Value:
2
Back to menu Return to top

Change search