$142 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jul 6, 2015 Check-out: Jul 9, 2015

The Opal San Francisco

3 stars
View map of 1050 Van Ness Avenue, San Francisco, CA 94109

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Opal San Francisco

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
720 out of 720
Amenities:
3.3
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
3.7
Value:
3.8

81% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Riverside, CA
May 9, 2011

Decent room at a decent price

A very old building with somewhat modernized rooms. There's a lot of variation in room size: last time I stayed here I got a very small room, this time a spacious one. Lots of foreign tourists (especially French) stay here. One complaint: when I was checking out, some tourists ahead of me were arranging a tour, which took almost 1/2 hour, while I waited for the one clerk on duty.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
La Quinta, California
May 8, 2011

Pleasant Surprise

Very pleasantly surprised. Hotel is centrally located to everywhere we went. Hotel offered parking with in and out privileges for one daily price. Desk staff was EXCELLENT, very helpful. Rooms were clean and sound proof. Free use of computer room to check in to airlines and get boarding passes. Mel's Diner attached to premises was great and reasonable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

When we used taxi service instead of our car everything was within $10 taxi ride for three of us. Great location.

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chico
May 4, 2011

Good location

Average room, a bit over priced, but great location in San Fran. They add on 3 different charges and you can't have back until a week later. Can't find the vending machine anywhere.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
CarTraveler
Business
Houston TX
May 4, 2011

never again

This was a one star hotel and I wonder how is it categorized as a three star one! It took more than half an hour to check in, as their internet connection was faulty and the receptionist couldn't look up my reservation info, nor could run my credit card. Almost everywhere, including inside rooms, the carpet was stained. The bathroom sink was very old and partly broken. They did not change bedsheets in four nights of our stay. We asked them twice to do so, and again in the evening we would return to our room and find that the bed is made without changing the bedsheets. We had to ask everyday to get some shampoo! And don't get me started on "continental breakfast"! Beside the fact that they offered nothing more than cheap bagel and bread, they stopped serving breakfast at 9:30. The only nice thing was the historic building! But overall, I think no one should go there expecting anything more than a cheap one star hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tugjohnson
Business
Dallas, tx
May 1, 2011

Not bad, you get what you pay for

Hotel was in the middle of everything in the cities. No problems with hotel or staff

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Fun!
Business
Mountain View, CA
Apr 29, 2011

Great deal!

The location was very convenient, around restaurants and near the place I needed to be. Very friendly atmoshpere and staff. Room was the average size for SF, but it was clean and comfortable. Definitely a good deal for the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Charlotte, North Carolina
Apr 28, 2011

Not the best experience

We enjoyed the sightseeing and the food during our recent trip to San Francisco. The hotel was by far the worst part of the trip. The workout room was in terrible shape(it was small and cramp, TV needed to be replaced and the weight eqiupment) needed to be updated bad! The rooms were very small, the bathroom fan was exteremly noisy, and the A/C for the most part fell short. I would not recommend to family to stay out there. Sad part was.. hotel was surrouned by homeless people...not a good neighborhood.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Virginia
Apr 26, 2011

VISIT TO CISCO

Clean but little bit worn hotel. Very polite and helpfull staff. Good value for money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Sihghtseeing bus - hop in hop out. Very fast way to see the city!

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
L.M.
Business
Detroit, MI
Apr 22, 2011

wonderful stay

we visit most of san francisco and had a great time. the muni bus stop was on every other block and arrived on time every time. really didn't have a reason for a car rental not unless you want to leave the city. the staff at the hotel was helpful and friendly every time i spoke with them, they even took pics of my partner and i. one thing that was kinda over played was the breakfast at the hotel it really wasn't a buffet, more like a continental breakfast and it ended a hour to early (9:30am). over all great stay. Also if your looking for a big room this may not be the place for you. P.S. Mels drive in below the hotel not the best and kinda over price and may close earlier than posted.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

take a short sub way or cable car ride to orphan andy's on castro street. Great staff, great food, great area.

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Butta Beans
Business
Minneapolis, MN
Apr 21, 2011

San Francisco

My stay at the Opal was fine. Rooms were clean. Staff was VERY helpful and friendly. I never made it to the continental breakfast but Mel's diner next door was excellent. I ate there 3 times. Also, the sandwich joint, Tommy Johns across the street was excellent too. Parking in the hotel's lot was VERY easy and also convenient. Union square was about a 10 block walk down Geary. Fisherman's wharf was also a short bus ride away. At night go out in the North Beach area. Overall I would definitely stay at the opal again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top