$99 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: May 25, 2015 Check-out: May 28, 2015

The Opal San Francisco

3 stars
View map of 1050 Van Ness Avenue, San Francisco, CA 94109

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Opal San Francisco

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
711 out of 711
Amenities:
3.3
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
3.7
Value:
3.8

81% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
San Fran Kid
Business
Aniwa,WI
Nov 18, 2009

Value stay

I thought it was a very good value for the money. My room on the fourth floor facing a side street was very queit. Staff was friendly and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Sep 22, 2009

Love it!

I loved how friendly and helpful the staff was, the complimentary continental breakfast was very much appreciated, the location was perfect-walking to Union Square plus close cab/bus rides to anywhere, plus the historic look and feel of the hotel was wonderful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Fog Harbor on Pier 39 on the waterfront was excellent-great views and food! I am from Massachusetts and it was some of the best clam chowder and seafood I have ever had!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Coolweather Seeker
Business
Oklahoma
Aug 5, 2011

Weekend getaway

We loved The Opal, it was clean,everyone friendly and helpful. Bus service was easy and close-by. The price was right. I would definatly stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Minneapolis, MN
Aug 17, 2009

Like hotels used to be

Easy to get to on public transportation. The staff were all great, the ambiance European, clientele young and international-student and family. I will stay again when I'm in San Francisco

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Vacation Tracy
Business
Fresno Ca
Feb 24, 2011

Great Location, Beautiful Lobby

Very friendly helpful staff in beautiful lobby. Loved the bed linens! Easy walking distance to Union Square and trolley. Pretty extensive continental breakfast with toast and bagels. Rooms were small but well accomodated. Parking is limited but very secure. Overall great stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Most downtown activities within walking distance, but the city bus is also a good resource and front desk very knowledgable of routes and schedules.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
KARAMLEA
Business
CHICAGO
May 14, 2015

fun trip with my husband

Hotel was convenient located, 30 minutes walk to fisherman wharf, accross the street from restaurant and close to Union center

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
hyena
Business
Boise
May 13, 2015

wonderful first vacation with my girlfriend

The staff was great. They were super helpful. The opal is in the perfect location if you are on foot. Clean and comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
A Boyfriend
Business
NYC
Jan 5, 2014

Convenient and Economical Stay

All in all the hotel is reasonable for its value. The location has its pluses and minuses. The hotel is conveniently located within 10-15 mins walk to the station (civic center/un plaza), the walk might take you thru diversifying characters and landscape which to me speaks of San Frans current urban devlopment. The hotels staff is accommodating and pleasant. Hotel is also located across Tommy's joynt (carved meats buffet style bar)...A local stomping ground for meat eaters. Mel's diner is located at its coner and seemingingly packed all day. Hotel room itself is small and tight. Kept as clean as it could be...but dated and as equivalent to any NYC 'hells kitchen' cheap price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

The mission district !

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
001Traveler001
Business
new york
Jan 19, 2014

OK for a short stay

The staff was friendly and checking in/out was quick and easy. The hotel itself was alright for a short stay. The place is a bit outdated and dingy, but the room was a decent size and had all the necessities for a night. There were some stains on the carpeting and chair in the room, but the bed linen seemed clean. It wasn't my favorite hotel but it was decent for the price. I didn't have breakfast in the morning so I'm not sure how that was.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Yuchen
Business
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Feb 13, 2014

Average

OK for short stay. Bed linen seemed not that clean. Parking is expensive. I parked one block away in the theater which was $26 a night while the hotel charges $35 a night for parking. Not that good for walking towards main attractions.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top