$109 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: May 10, 2015 Check-out: May 11, 2015

The Opal San Francisco

3 stars
View map of 1050 Van Ness Avenue, San Francisco, CA 94109

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Opal San Francisco

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
670 out of 670
Amenities:
3.3
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
3.7
Value:
3.8

81% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
L.M.
Business
Detroit, MI
Apr 22, 2011

wonderful stay

we visit most of san francisco and had a great time. the muni bus stop was on every other block and arrived on time every time. really didn't have a reason for a car rental not unless you want to leave the city. the staff at the hotel was helpful and friendly every time i spoke with them, they even took pics of my partner and i. one thing that was kinda over played was the breakfast at the hotel it really wasn't a buffet, more like a continental breakfast and it ended a hour to early (9:30am). over all great stay. Also if your looking for a big room this may not be the place for you. P.S. Mels drive in below the hotel not the best and kinda over price and may close earlier than posted.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

take a short sub way or cable car ride to orphan andy's on castro street. Great staff, great food, great area.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Butta Beans
Business
Minneapolis, MN
Apr 21, 2011

San Francisco

My stay at the Opal was fine. Rooms were clean. Staff was VERY helpful and friendly. I never made it to the continental breakfast but Mel's diner next door was excellent. I ate there 3 times. Also, the sandwich joint, Tommy Johns across the street was excellent too. Parking in the hotel's lot was VERY easy and also convenient. Union square was about a 10 block walk down Geary. Fisherman's wharf was also a short bus ride away. At night go out in the North Beach area. Overall I would definitely stay at the opal again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
women
Business
syracuse
Apr 19, 2011

Good Location

Hotel was located centrally to everything. Neighborhood not the best, would not reccomend children.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

short walk to chinatown

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Washington DC
Apr 18, 2011

Good price for what you get

Ameneties and location justify very well the price. The front desk personnel was not friendly at all. For the price I would recommend to a friend. The architecture is interesting and old.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

To metro and the Square.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Takeitfromme
Business
San Jose, CA
Apr 12, 2011

Though classy, kinda outdated.

My friend and I stayed at the Opal for one night so we could run in the US Half Marathon. While the price was reasonable, it did have some drawbacks. 1) You must pay $31 for parking/night and it's in an underground garage that's only accessible by stairs. You need to drive down a "bum" alley to get there too. 2) Hallways are very narrow and if you're claustrophobic, that may bother you. 3) Amenities are few and far between, no pool but they do offer free Internet, fitness room, and breakfast. 4) No shuttle services to anywhere in town; thus, my friend and I had to walk all the way to Ghiradelli Park.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Lots of clubs on Broadway, a short walk away.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Slidell, La.
Apr 9, 2011

A good experience for the money

The room was clean but the a/c would not work correctly. We changed rooms and still could not get the a/c to work. We had to open a window to cool off the room. The staff was very friendly and helpful. I just think it was a fluke about the a/c. They offered us another room, but we did not feel like moving again. I would stay at this hotel again if I go back to San Francisco.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

I would recommend the Catamaran sunset cruise on the bay.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Australia
Apr 7, 2011

Fabulous old world charm

We had a great stay at the Opal. Beautiful old world charm, helps to get the feel of an old San Francisco. Helpful friendly staff,good breakfast, good location, though stick to Geary St when walking home from Union Square. O'Farell a bit dodgy with some seedy characters hanging about. On the edge of the tenderloin. Booked bus tour package through hotel, good value, great to get your bearings in the city. No fridge in room, a bit inconvenient. All round A+.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Take advantage of the sight seeing hop on hop off buses. You can see a lot of the city with a guide, and then go back on your own. Good value for money. They also let you upgrade to add other areas, and also, don't miss out on Alcatraz.The metro bus and street cars all work together and give you about 2 hours to use your ticket on all of them. Very easy to work out and get around the city to dine, shop and so on for $2.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Winnipeg, Manitoba
Apr 5, 2011

Great value!

This was a very nice, comfortable hotel at a very reasonable price with nice staff. The only issue is that it's in a sketchy part of town...but walking 10-15 minutes will get you to nicer areas. We got the CityPass and several buses stopped near the hotel which was convenient. If you're willing to do a little walking and you're a smart traveler, this is the place for you.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Burmese Kitchen and Napoli Pizza

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Minneapolis, MN
Mar 30, 2011

good visit to san francisco

overall it was nice quite clean and the complementary breakfast was great the internet didn't go much beyond browsing most games were laggy so not much hope in that but the stay was above average compared to some hotels I've been to. i did rate the staff lower because on arrival i did have the staff at the front desk was kind of rude to me didn't seem very interested in helping anyone at the time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

I personally think its best to stay in the area of the hotel maybe go down vaness ave a bit but stick to the less tourist area's and you'll be pleased with what you find and not so crowded

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Minneapolis, MN
Mar 28, 2011

stay at the Opal

The accommodations were very nice. The hotel staff was helpful and the location was perfect! I would stay there again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top