$139 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jul 5, 2015 Check-out: Jul 8, 2015

The Opal San Francisco

3 stars
View map of 1050 Van Ness Avenue, San Francisco, CA 94109

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Opal San Francisco

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
720 out of 720
Amenities:
3.3
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
3.7
Value:
3.8

81% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Stoclton , CA
May 23, 2011

Nice place, good service, but........

The opal is a fine hotel. The immediate area gives you a lot of what you need to have fun without even traveling more than 5 blocks. There is night clubs, dance clubs, crepe lounge, good food and some shopping behind it on Polk. Feel secure, and parking is good. Having said that, our stay was terrible. Not to the fault of The opal, but 20+ 18 year old check in and cause nothing short of chaos for the entire night. I called down 3 times, and was informed the cops were coming. It took 4 hours to get control of this, including me threatening to handle it myself. They comped our room for that night and the general manager was very accommodating to make this right. None the less, we were a wreck the entire next day because we didn't get any sleep. I would stay there again but not in the back courtyard area around the parking, that is a joke out there. I gave the staff 2 stars because they were not in any way prepared or capable of handling the chaos that night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

On Polk St. behind the hotel

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Pahoa, Hawaii
May 23, 2011

Opal Hotel review

We explored San Fransisco and Berkeley. The BART station was within a mile walking range and good restaurants were nearby.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Tommy's Joint across the street had good food and atmosphere at good prices.

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago
May 20, 2011

Good value, nice people

Decent location, friendly and helpful staff, okay breakfast and comfortable lobby. Rooms are small and the neighborhood is not beautiful, but the value is great, which is a real challenge in SFO.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Wyoming
May 19, 2011

Just fine

Worked on the computer in my room and slept. Hot water was a little slow in coming. Everything else was fine. The help was friendly, courteous and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Diego, CA
May 17, 2011

Good deal

I paid $79 per night and stayed for two nights, quite a steal. My room was clean and large. It seems like it's typically easy to find very low prices for the Opal. I will say that if you spend anything over say $120 a night, you won't get your monies worth. I'd fork out the extra money and stay somewhere nicer. I'm a 5'2" 112 pound female that was in town alone and I felt perfectly safe walking around the neighborhood. The hotel is within an easy walk over to Japan Town and Fillmore st. You can also jump on the #38 bus on O' Farrell st. and be in Union Square in about three minutes for $2.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Red Door Cafe had a good breakfast a few blocks away. Walk down Van Ness to Philz Coffee, it's amazing!

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
JACKSONVILLE FLORIDA
May 16, 2011

NOT AS IT SEEMS

THE PICTURES ON THE SITE ARE BEAUTIFUL BUT THE INSIDE WAS LESS THAN TO BE DESIRED. THE LOBBY IS NICE BUT THE ROOMS SMELLED FOR THEY HAD SPRAYED THE ROOM THAT MORNING FOR PEST AND TRIED TO COVER THE SMELL WITH A CARPET DEODARANT ALSO THE ROOM HAD NO ACTUAL SPACE FOR OUR CLOTHES ; THE ROOM THAT WE HAD WAS SET UP FOR OLD PEOPLE THE MATTRESS WAS OF LOW QUALITY AND THE BATHROOM HAD DUCT TAPE ON THE PIPES UNDERNEATH ; THE SHOWER HAD HARDLY NO PRESSURE AND THE SHOWER HEAD ITSELF CAME TO MY CHIN AND IM 5.7..THE ALSO CHARGE YOU 33.00 A DAY TO PARK.UNLESS YOU WANT YOUR CAR ON THE STREETS OUTSIDE[...].

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

PLAN YOUR TRIP SO THAT YOU STAY IN THE ROOM AS LITTLE AS POSSIBLE. OR ELSE FIND SOME WHERE ELSE TO STAY TO ENJOY YOUR TRIP BETTER.

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Itstu
Business
atlanta,ga
May 14, 2011

San Franisco hotel

Seen a lot of San Fransico in three days, convent location easy secured hotel. Staff was plensant and very helpful .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Central Virginia
May 11, 2011

Refreshingly Refreshing

Nicely equipped, safe, very clean and pleasing to the eye. Friendly staff, very accommodating and eager to serve. Terrific location with walking distance to many attractions. Nice local restaurants nearby. Will likely stay there again on my next visit.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Do not attempt to catch the cable car nearby as they are all full and do not take riders. Go to the station and save yourself valuable time.

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
City Traveler
Business
Los Angeles, CA
May 9, 2011

Adequate and Useful, but...

Went on a leisure trip to explore the city. The Opal was good price, nicely situated (during the daytime at least, pretty safe), easy to get to busses, and had some good food places around it. The furnishings were a bit old and scuffed up, but the room was pretty clean and the beds were VERY comfortable. The service is a bit slow (asked for towels three times, until finally receiving them 25 minutes later) but the people at the desk were very nice and compatible. I think it's a good hotel for the deal they give you, and a good place to just get some sleep if you're running around the city, but if you're staying at the hotel for a longer period of time or spending a lot of time IN the hotel, find somewhere else. p.s. Continental breakfast is NOT their forte. Only bagels. Very disappointing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Street fairs! Free! Fun! Bus-ride accessible!

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Riverside, CA
May 9, 2011

Decent room at a decent price

A very old building with somewhat modernized rooms. There's a lot of variation in room size: last time I stayed here I got a very small room, this time a spacious one. Lots of foreign tourists (especially French) stay here. One complaint: when I was checking out, some tourists ahead of me were arranging a tour, which took almost 1/2 hour, while I waited for the one clerk on duty.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top