$99 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: May 6, 2015 Check-out: May 7, 2015

The Opal San Francisco

3 stars
View map of 1050 Van Ness Avenue, San Francisco, CA 94109

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Opal San Francisco

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
709 out of 709
Amenities:
3.3
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
3.7
Value:
3.8

81% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Stilly
Business
Boston, MA
Mar 14, 2013

A great value!

The Opal is a great find for a cost-conscious visitor. It's located on the edge of the seedy and nice parts of town. One block in the wrong direction and you're in ghetto. One block in opposite direction and you're in a pleasant neighborhood. The building is dated but the staff are very friendly. The rooms are small but clean. The good news is you are on a major bus route to take you anywhere you want to go quickly. Best of all, the price is 1/3 of other hotels in the area. If I was looking for a place to stay "on the cheap" in San Francisco, I'd definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
sssh
Business
newport beach ca
Mar 19, 2013

great locale

Ive stayed here several times and like it Best feature is covered self parking Old hotel but well kept with nice staff

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
indigo.
Business
Los Angeles, California
Apr 4, 2013

NIce hotel

Staff was excellent. Rooms were big and very quiet. Unfortunately, breakfast room was too small - we had to wait for a free table!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
skulley
Business
hamilton ontario
Apr 21, 2013

feelin special

I only stayed one night because i was meeting my sister and family and had a condo booked.I had a whole day to kill before i met them,i left my suitcase at hotel and when i got back to get it they invited me to a free buffet and complimentary wine and i have already checked out.great job opal The place is clean and great value,i will be back

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

china town few blocks away lots of good food

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sandie B and Jinty
Business
Glasgow, Scotland
Apr 21, 2013

Excellent 3* hotel.

We had a very nice big room with 2 queen sized beds and sofa . Very accessible especially if you check out the local bus services. Nice and clean and lovely continental breakfast, also cheese and wine on the Wednesday night. Staff were very friendly and helpful, Would go back like a shot !

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: In Hotel

Take the bus tour to get your bearings thn can hire bicycles or take locla buses

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
john the Bicycle man
Business
jacksonville, fl
Apr 23, 2013

Opal san fran

Peasant surprise for price in San Francisco. Hotel is well maintained with great staff

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

tommy's and Mel's are close and reasonably pricedBicycle man

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Eva A.
Business
Nicholasville, KY
Apr 27, 2013

Short (stay) but sweet

I thoroughly enjoyed my 2 night stay at the Opal. It was most helpful to me that the staff arranged transportation to the airport for me at a very reasonable price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
cha chino
Business
fort worth, texas
May 13, 2013

nice price for nuce spot

every thing was nice except the breakfast! if u like fruit yogart and hard boiled eggs its ok but I need some waffels r omilets r some form of meat besides hrad boiled eggs but it did buy me some time while I decided ware to eat a real breakfast!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

use public trans the hole time! save hundreds on cab fair!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Psyclops
Business
San Francisco
May 30, 2013

We found our Heart in San Francisco

Right from the get go, we were greeted and welcomed to the Opal. Friendly, courteous, gracious are just some of the praises for this wonderful, elderly hotel. Not that everyone who stays there is long in the tooth but it is one of the quaint, structures that make San Francisco such a geeat place to be. One of the things I notices most about the Opal was how clean the employees kept it. There was always someone dusting or polishing or whatever throughout the day. Like almost everywhere in the city, the Opal is very GREEN conscious, a big plus in my book. Breakfast was not elaberant but sufficient for four of the five days we were there. The breakfast room was also neat because of all the foreign people who were also guest. This imparted a feeling of being in an exotic local which made our vacation even more interesting. If and when I'm able to return to San Francisco I'll not hesitate to book my stay at the Opal. Oh, one more thing. It's location is on a major artery which makes getting around the city and back fairly easy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
David your travel planner
Business
Texas
Jun 3, 2013

Grand old hotel

Hotel was excellent with many places to eat within walking distance. Movie theater next door & Accademy of Art car collection a block away. Free bread and bagel breakfast or Mel's drive in cafe attached. Only ad thing was the AC kept cutting off.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to Mels

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top