$149 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 7, 2015 Check-out: Sep 8, 2015

The Opal San Francisco

3 stars
View map of 1050 Van Ness Avenue, San Francisco, CA 94109

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Opal San Francisco

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
629 out of 629
Amenities:
3.3
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
3.7
Value:
3.8

81% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
exploreit
Couples
bakersfield ca
May 8, 2012

good location

Its located perfectly and its walking distance to almost everything. The rooms were a little small, but clean and worth every penny.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
First Time in San Fran
Friends
NJ
Jun 1, 2012

Average Stay

The hotel was average, very clean and very friendly staff. The room was small but comfortable for two people. The continental breakfast was average - fruit, bread, hard boiled eggs, yogurt, and variety of hot/cold beverages. It's far from Fisherman's Wharf. If you can find a decent hotel in Fisherman's Wharf, then I would recommend that. Overall, the hotel was average, but the staff made it worth while.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Friends

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Fisherman's Wharf

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Dani the scholar
Business
New York, NY
May 27, 2012

Okay hotel, nothing special

The hotel is a typical 3-star hotel, in a so-so area. The staff is very friendly though. Breakfast is pretty bad.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Alternating Current
Couples
Texas
Jun 26, 2012

Good deal for the price

The staff was great. We couldn't have asked for better. Continental breakfast was good also. Its an old hotel that has been rennovated. Old CRT televisions. Beds are comfortable but the room isn't glamorous but it does the job. Its the city and the sites that we were after and Opal gave us a nice place to lay our heads and take baths. Lobby looks nice. Its located next door to an AMC theater. We also rode the bus. The #47 stops right outside for $2 takes you to fisherman's wharf. Also the #18 take you a block away from the BART, trolley, and tons of shopping. Oh yeah and its connected to a Mells dinner with great food and awesome malt/shakes.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

connect to Mels diner

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Nancy Grandmother
Family
Richboro PA
Jul 15, 2012

Family stay

The staff at the hotel are extremely helpful and accomadtating.When I explained that I could not sleep on the mattress because it was too soft, they allowed us to change rooms. Th rooms are small and do not have must closet space ( some have armoires). The location is not the greatest since there are homeless people in the area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Leslie A.
Couples
Centreville, VA
Jul 31, 2012

Not as close to Union Sq as appears

The hotel is older but the staff is friendly, the rooms are clean and there is free Wi-Fi (something most downtown hotels charge for). However, it is not as close to Union Sq as it appears on the map and you have to walk through the tenderloin to get there (SF's public transit doesn't reach all parts of the city). There are a fair amount of homeless people in the tenderloin who will ask you for money. I never felt threatened but uncomfortable, and I was with my husband who can look intimidating.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Dato n
Couples
menifee ca
Aug 4, 2012

its ok

Very cold greeting. Their parking 35$ a night.night

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
DG 2012 x1
Couples
Portland OR
Jun 19, 2012

Recent Opal visit

I enjoyed the central location. Could walk to trains and easy public transport right out front. Overall enjoyed my stay there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Alabama
Jun 10, 2012

Not bad, not great, just good.

This is a classic 3 star hotel. Clean, nice staff, old, elevator makes noises and you are on the edge of the Tenderloin district. I actually liked the shady neighborhood characters and enjoyed watching them from a great diner next door - Mel's. Walk a few blocks and you can get on a trolley going anywhere. Would stay again, wife would prefer closer to Union Square.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Mel's Diner is next door and a great place for breakfast. I got up really early one morning (still dark) and while enjoying my eggs and hot coffee, watched a hooker beat down her pimp on Van Ness Blvd. Stuff I don't get to see in my home town.

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
International Southerner
Couples
New York, NY
Aug 6, 2012

Great value for good location and helpful staff

I booked this hotel for the beginning of my stay, and was impressed by how helpful the staff. They suggested an alternative parking option to the hotel's parking, which saved us some cash. The rooms are a bit dark with "tired" furnishings, but comfortable enough. They are refurbishing part of the hotel now. Breakfast is not very enticing, but ok for a quick something before heading out. Overall, the location and staff won out, so I ended up booking it again for the end of our week's trip to Northern California.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Back to menu Return to top