$99 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: May 25, 2015 Check-out: May 26, 2015

The Opal San Francisco

3 stars
View map of 1050 Van Ness Avenue, San Francisco, CA 94109

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Opal San Francisco

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
711 out of 711
Amenities:
3.3
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
3.7
Value:
3.8

81% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York, NY
May 22, 2007

pretty good

The rooms at the Opal were pretty good...not great but pretty good. My biggest complaint is that there was not internet access. They had a connection in the room but it didn't work. Also there was not outlet for the laptop. Otherwise, room was comfortable but nothing spectacular.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
okdonk
Business
North Las Vegas, NV
May 6, 2009

Perfect AAA+++

My 2nd visit to San Francisco with family. Great price and good location. Minutes away of walking to bus stations. [...] the receptionist gave me suite room during my stay. Other reviewers complained about the parking. To me, it was alright. I only paid $23.10/ night including Tax. Free breakfast was very nice too. Definitely will come back to stay!! Highly recommended to everyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

$23.10 including tax to park in the hotel building is a very good deal !!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ed the man
Business
Anaheim, CA
Aug 10, 2009

Good Hotel in a not so great area

Good Hotel, helpfull staff which seemed overworked at times, nevertheless friendly. Continental breakfast was good. Rooms where small but nevertheless well kept. Big downside is location!!! It is located on the edge of a bad neighborhood. But if you can manage great value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
1
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Not Applicable

Take a cab. Especially if you have a female companion.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
kukitina
Business
seattle,WA
Jul 23, 2009

good enough for the price such a deal!

the location is perfect!! everything is close!! I love that! all the touristic areas such as fisherman wharf(<-I love this place), downtown(hippie area haha)..banks, restaurant, pubs and so on.etc etc very close.Transportation everywhere!!wow!! taxis are super cheap, but if you want to save even more money, you can take public transportation for $2 w/transfer!! such a deal!!Don't forget to bring a sweater because San Francisco has unexpected crazy weather!..they call Indian Summer! windy windy! one day was 70ºF and the next day was 58ºF (<- I am talking about this !)..Hotel..check in at 3pm, check out at noon :P the people is so friendly and helpful! Don't be shy ask them anyquestion they will help you out!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Hof
Nov 27, 2007

Friendly staff

The Opal is a good deal, if you want a hotel in a central location of San Francisco. It's comfortable with a very friendly staff. The room was large enough and the furnishings are quite good. You have to notice the additional price for car parking!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

You are nearby Fishermans Wharf, Cable Car, Golden Gate and more. The location is very central an there are good connections by bus, tram and cable car.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mike and Sil
Business
Heemskerk, Holland
May 4, 2009

The Opal

Opal is a very decent hotel, definitely value for money. The location is oke, however, one block away the neighborhood is pretty skechy. The room is absolutely perfect, a bit small though, but very clean. The thing that kind of bothered us were the thin walls, it sounded like our neighbors were having a conversation in our room. By the way, the breakfast is a rip off!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
RowenaRicardo
Business
USA
May 6, 2007

My review of The Opal

The location of The Opal hotel was very nice. The room amenities were good - bottled water was provided and there was an in-room iron/ironing board. The in-room internet access was nice. There was an additional blanket for the cool nights. The only downfall was that there was a couple in the room either next to us or in front of us that was noisy. The first night we were there, we heard the woman crying and the man trying to convince her to get back into the room. The second night we were there, she was giggling uncontrollably. The third night they were just talkative in general. Otherwise, we enjoyed our stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There is Village Pizzeria located just up the hill and across the street and Kyoto Sushi with reasonably priced sushi. My husband enjoyed their 99 cent glass of Sapporro!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
black barbie
Business
USA
Nov 11, 2008

family holiday

It is in a great location. Parking was too expencive $28.50 per day. The house keeping was lacking once we got there but initially is was very clean. Bus lines close to everything.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Not Applicable

cafe next door has great food

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Tampa, FL
Sep 7, 2007

My review of The Opal

Great location. Convenient to all areas. The room was nice size, larger than we expected. Old building and room had a bad odor.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
MiWuk Village Ca
Nov 20, 2009

Clean and elegant, loved it.

Close proximity to MD and hosp.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top