$122 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Apr 7, 2015 Check-out: Apr 8, 2015

The Opal San Francisco

3 stars
View map of 1050 Van Ness Avenue, San Francisco, CA 94109

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Opal San Francisco

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
656 out of 656
Amenities:
3.3
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
3.7
Value:
3.8

81% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
coral springs, florida
Jul 10, 2011

great staff, but terrible area

The hotel staff was very helpful, but the room was shabby and the neighborhood felt unsafe. We were approached twice by drunk men, and at breakfast one morning there were two obviously homeless people eating, in spite of the fact that the door is kept locked and a hotel key is needed to enter. This was our second stay in two weeks {we were in Reno in between} and our room the first time had badly stained carpet and no counter in the bathroom. Between the shabbiness and the neighborhood, I would not recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
andonid
Business
London, UK
Jul 25, 2010

Opal San Francisco

The hotel itself is ok-ish if you don't count how noisy it is, the incredibly cheap breakfast service (just some juice and bagles) and the outdated decoration of the rooms, with a weird mix of tackiness and 70s stuff... Add to this that the parking was full so I had to overpay valet parking in a parking nearby, the entrance door didn't work properly so I had to wait 15 minutes in the SF coldness before someone from reception opened it, and how expensive it was...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
LAWFORCE
Business
ENCINO, CA
Feb 28, 2010

Horrible Hotel [...]

Front desk staff on arrival was horribly rude, lied that manager was not present when other staff member later indicated that a manager WAS on site at the time requested, and took hotel GM 3 DAYS to eventually call to address the inexcusable treatment at check-in AND second night of stay, night manager did not address VERYLOUD noise problem in adjoining room at 3:00 a.m. Until about 5:00 a.m. WORST STAY AT ANY HOTEL/MOTEL IN MEMORY FOR OVER 20 years of business travel! [...]DO NOT STAY AT THE OPAL HOTEL [...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
ProudPop
Business
San Francisco
Jul 18, 2014

not happy

son was really sick and waited for an hour for a plunger. silly as it seems you wait 15 minutes then another...go downstairs to find they have no idea what your talking about. i asked for a place that included parking but $41,00 later ....for the variance in price I probably could have upgraded to a better hotel for a little more money....it was ok but could have been cleaner.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

check out day passes, or coupons...very expensive town

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
BP DP
Business
Redding, CA
Aug 11, 2014

One night stand

Very old, room was small. AC unit had a high pitched steamy squeal (maintenance did quiet it down.) Floor had a steep slope to it. Glad it was only one night. On the plus side, there is a parking garage close by where you can park for $26/day which is cheap in SF.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
DrOpie
Business
Hughson
Nov 15, 2014

no recommendation here.

Was woken up several times by noisy elevator in a hotel. The beds were terrible. Parking was excessive.The hotel staff was very accommodating and and a pleasure to work with.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Mel's diner was a great spot for a quick meal. They have excellent service and the food was pretty good.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Shameram K.
Business
modesto
Jan 5, 2015

Froze All Night

Our heater was broken and the temperature in our room was 58 all night! This was the worst hotel experience we have ever had. First the heater would not come on we called down for someone to come turn it on for us. We also noticed there was a portable heater in the closet, obvious bad sign. Then we woke up in the middle of the night and the temperature was on 58 and the unit was blowing cold air on our heads. We ended up leaving the hotel at 6am, some vacation!!! The bathroom had hair on the floor and we also found hair in our bed. When i told the receptionist during our checkout, she said she would discount the parking fee, which is crazy, and never once apologized for the inconvenience we experienced. I would not recommend this place to anyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Diego, CA
Jan 28, 2008

ok

it was fine... the price was great. it's old though. there were very small elevators. it reminded me of a cheap bed and breakfast in europe.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Mel's diner.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
L.A.
Jul 15, 2009

nothing's worse than a rude "supervisor"

It was a very bad start to my weekend get away. Upon trying to leave my bags (as I arrived early), I was given an extremely rude and condescending "Check in is at 3. WE DON'T HAVE A ROOM" before I could even say a word. I thought I was the paying guest.Needless to say, this extremely rude guest relations person named [...] neglected to take down my name so by the time I came back to check in, the only rooms left were smoking. Even though I had confirmation for a NON-SMOKING room. They "upgraded" me to a bigger room, (smoking) but the entire place was in dire need of renovation and clean up. This place is worn down. Stains on carpet and cracked sink.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
power shopper
Business
Seattle, Wa
Oct 17, 2011

Girls shopping trip to Union Square

Union Square is NOT within walking distance. It is within HIKING distance. And the hotel borders the Tenderloin, so not a safe area to be walking about at night. The staff were wonderful, but somehow, when I've booked a room through Orbitz I ALWAYS get the one with the view of the room and air/heat conditioning units or a tiny window overlooking the fire escape. So far 2 for 2. Makes me wonder if paying a little more wouldn't be worth getting a larger room with a better view.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top