$109 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: May 12, 2015 Check-out: May 13, 2015

The Opal San Francisco

3 stars
View map of 1050 Van Ness Avenue, San Francisco, CA 94109

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Opal San Francisco

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
661 out of 661
Amenities:
3.3
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
3.7
Value:
3.8

81% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
CHISPA
Business
Scottsdale, AZ, USA
Oct 7, 2011

The best place for a SECOND HONEYMOON!!!!!

WE WERE IN THE CENTER OF EVERYTHING. WALKED TO THE WHARF, TO JAPAN TOWN, LITTLE SAIGON, LITTLE ITALY, AND CHINATOWN. MEL'S DINER ON THE CORNER AND THE BEST CORNED BEEF SANDWICH ACROSS THE STREET FOR UNDER $7.00. THE STAFF WERE VERY NICE AND PLEASANT. KNEW HOW TO GET AROUND THE CITY AND RESERVE OUR TOURS. THE ROOMS WERE SO COZY THAT I COULD OF STAYED ANOTHER WEEK!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

STEAK AND EGGS AT MEL'S DINER ON THE CORNER RIGHT NEXT TO THE HOTEL.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Reno, NV
May 7, 2008

Helpful Staff

The staff was extremely helpful. Upon checkin, our room was upgraded without any request. One downside is the location. We were somewhat nervous walking to union square. Overall, it was a nice experience and we would stay here again for the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
2
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Diego, CA
Apr 8, 2008

A Great Place to Stay

We were very impressed with all aspects of this hotel. Its old 1908 charm made it an out of the ordinary place to stay and a great value. Its upkeep was impecible. We stayed in a 2 room suite which was roomy and comfortable. There was a large walk-in closet which easily accomodated all of our suitcases. The room was very clean and neat. The staff was wonderful and more than willing to answer any of our questions. There was a daily continental breakfast. (The coffee was great!) On Wednesday evening, a nice gentleman served wine and cheese in the main lobby as a perk for staying at this hotel. There is a 50s diner right next door; reasonably priced, a good place to eat and fun! Our only complaint was the hotel location to Union Square. The bus stop was right on the block and the cable car stop about 6 blocks away. Once we learned the transportation system in San Francisco, it really wasn't a problem. We would certainly stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Learn and utilize the bus system. It is much faster than the cable cars and much more convenient to the hotel. Also, purchase the 3 or 7 day transportation pass rather than buying single rides on bus, Muni or cable car. This will save you lots of money.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
san jose california
Feb 19, 2010

greal experience!

we whent to the city to see the ballet and some shoping a very nice and placent 3days stay, the staff make us feel in home very freindly and warm a big thumps up! we will back again and again..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

very close to the opera house city hall and resturants and shops

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Aug 18, 2007

Charming Hotel!

The Opal is a charming, beautiful old hotel! If you're looking for something that reflects San Francisco from colorful past this is the place. The stain glass windows, high ceilings, architecture is wonderful. It's very convenient to everywhere and it's just 8 short blocks - all downhill - to Union Square. We were aware that it's location wasn't the best but we felt quiet safe. I didn't think the room was too small as some other reviews indicated. The walk-in closet was very large and that bathroom was also fairly roomy. The hotel was very well kept - everything worked and it was very clean! The best part of this hotel is the friendly staff....everyone was just wonderful and helpful. It was nice to enjoy breakfast in their beautiful lobby and breakfast room. I would recommend this property to anyone who wants to experience the old charm of San Francisco and true customer service!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Within walking distance to shopping, Union Square, restaurants, etc. Public transporation right out the front door.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Jan 27, 2008

My review of The Opal

The Opal was very comfortable. We had excellent service, and the lodging was worth the price we paid. It is on a direct bus route and within walking distance of many sights.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Shopping is a short walk away.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Central Virginia
May 11, 2011

Refreshingly Refreshing

Nicely equipped, safe, very clean and pleasing to the eye. Friendly staff, very accommodating and eager to serve. Terrific location with walking distance to many attractions. Nice local restaurants nearby. Will likely stay there again on my next visit.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Do not attempt to catch the cable car nearby as they are all full and do not take riders. Go to the station and save yourself valuable time.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Pollick Pines
Jun 9, 2008

Clean, Easy access to public transit

We had two rooms. One of the rooms was a suite. The regular room had two double beds and a desk. It had a small bathroom. The suite had two queen beds a desk and a nice sitting area with a couch and chair. It also had a walk in closet. The bathroom was fairly small. Both rooms were very clean. They had a nice continental breakfast downstairs. There is a Mel's Dinner next store with access from the hotel. Staff was friendly and helpful with directions. Bus stop is a block away and cable car is a couple blocks away.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Fisherman's Wharf is accessible by cable car or taxi. Giants Stadium is a short distance away. We took the bus to the stadium for a $1.50 one way.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Mt. Pleasant
Jun 10, 2008

Nice location and facility

We hvae visited San Francisco many times and have enjoyed staying at different places. We were very satisfied with The Opal, staff was friendly, room was clean, and hotel in a great location. Would recommend this hotel and would like to stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Gig Harbor, WA
Nov 4, 2008

Good value, comfortable

Had a great time at the Opal for business but close to everything for pleasure also. Staff was attentive and very professional. Very clean, larger rooms than in other San Francisco downtown hotels. Plumbing slow and staff fixed this very quickly so no problem. Very quiet. Delicious diner and a bakery nearby. Walking distance to trolley, LaFayette park, Moscone convention center for people not afraid to walk a mile or so. Nice ethnic restaurants nearby. Theaters in walking distance also.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top