$179 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 17, 2015 Check-out: Aug 18, 2015

The Opal San Francisco

3 stars
View map of 1050 Van Ness Avenue, San Francisco, CA 94109

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Opal San Francisco

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
623 out of 623
Amenities:
3.3
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
3.7
Value:
3.8

81% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Calibuckeye
San Diego, CA
Nov 11, 2013

Fantastic stay!

The Opal has a wonderful and helpful staff and a very old school French feel to the hotel. They even sent me a complimentary bottle of wine to our room for my birthday. Would definitely stay here again on our next trip to San Fran!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Tina Travels
Business
Las Vegas
Feb 4, 2015

great weekend getaway

My friends and I stayed at the Opal for the weekend. It was perfectly close to a lot of the things we wanted to do. The room in the picture was definitely not the room we got, but whatever. We deal with the small room. The staff was friendly. At night we would encounter a lot of shady characters, but nothing pepper spray wouldnt fend off. Overall a good place to rest your tired achey bodies. Lol

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Scba
Business
Cambridge
Feb 4, 2015

Value Hotel

It is the least expensive hotel in the nearby areas. The location is convinient, close to downtown, has a nearby cinema.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Riley L.
Business
Edmond
Feb 4, 2015

The only good thing is the location

We got there in the middle of night. And the room is cold, the A/C didn't work very well. The room is pretty small. I was glad we only spent one night there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sean
Business
Warren
Jan 22, 2015

Nice

Was pleased with cleanliness and friendly staff. I'd stay here again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tnltn
Business
Westlake
Jan 12, 2015

Business Trip

The hotel is in a short walking distance from Union square, restaurants& bars. The staff was helpful and nice. It is a historic building however the design was old. If they want to attract more tourists it needs some renovation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

It was fun to hang out in Union square, to look around shops. There was a handmade perfume shop which got my attention while walking around. I had dinner in Cheesecake factory with an amazing Sf view. Of course the cable cars are the most interesting thing in the city.

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Frank Nestaval
Business
BRADENTON
Jan 12, 2015

Family trip

this hotel is just by the airport and suitable max. for 2 nights.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Vini
Business
Brasilia
Dec 31, 2014

Two nights stay

The hotel turned out to be farther from Union Square than I expected (20min walk), and the neighborhood around the Civic Center is quite odd. The hotel is more old-fashioned, but the staff was nice and let us use their storage room for later pick-up, which is very handy. Their complimentary continental breakfast is good, with a nice variety of fruits, breads, and juices, however I wish they had a bigger room to accommodate the big amount of guests. If you try to eat there after 9am you will have a hard time getting around the crowd to use the toaster or reach for a juice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Brett
Business
Bloomington
Dec 30, 2014

Trip to SF

We stayed for three nights, and I think this hotel was a good choice. The location is convenient. The bus stop is right outside, and you can save some more money if you are will to walk since a lot of places are walkable from here. Room condition is fair. Wifi connection is not good though.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Karen R.
Business
Bakersfield
Dec 29, 2014

Our standard location

The Opal is an older hotel like most in the city. The location is central. Walking distance to some great restaurants. Mel's Diner is attached to the hotel and serves good food at a good price point. The hotel does offer a breakfast. Only drawback is the size of the bathroom, especially the shower. I don't think they could have made it any smaller! Overall a good experience every visit and the added bonus of secure parking for an additional fee with no extra charge for in and out service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Mel's Diner. Convenient, good food at moderate prices

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Maxjelous
Business
phoenix
Dec 29, 2014

Good Business trip

the hotel is nice and clean. close walk to many markets. local food was very good. On main street and easy access to transportation to take you to the more popular locations. Staff was very friendly and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top