$160 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jul 31, 2014 Check-out: Aug 1, 2014

The Opal San Francisco

3 stars
1050 Van Ness Avenue, San Francisco, CA 94109
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
883 reviews
Good price for location

Friendly and helpful staff. Large comfortable room. See full review

  • MarianaMC
  • Apr 27, 2014
The Opal Stay

We found The Opal very helpful and welcoming to all our request. Staff was very efficient and... See full review

  • Jan Combs
  • Apr 12, 2014
Historic hotel and spacious suites -- walking distance to Union Square

Dating back to 1908, this five-story Union Square hotel still boasts the stained glass windows, period antiques and other decorative touches that hearken back to a simpler time. Rooms are clean and efficient; spacious work desks are popular among business travelers. Other amenities include a complimentary on-site fitness center and 24-hour coffee and tea service, as well as a complimentary breakfast buffet.

Highlights
  • Walking distance to shopping in Union Square
  • Historic architecture, decorative touches
  • 24-hour coffee and tea service
  • Complimentary breakfast buffet
Rooms

Each of The Opal's 164 guest rooms features central air and heat, cable television and complimentary high-speed Internet. (There's also free Wi-Fi in the hotel lobby.) Suites include small sitting areas with plush sofas. A handful of rooms have windows that look out onto the bustling Union

Features
The hotel has received a three-diamond rating from AAA and was selected as the Crescent Hotel and Resorts "Hotel of the Year" in 2008. A baby grand piano welcomes visitors to the lobby of The Opal -- a public area decorated to invoke the way it looked when the hotel debuted in 1908.

Elsewhere on the property is a 24-hour laundry facility (fees apply) and car rental desk (fees apply; rentals also can be facilitated by the concierge). Overnight parking is also available (fees apply).

All guests have complimentary access to a state-of-the-art on-site fitness center. Guests also are entitled to a complimentary breakfast buffet every morning.

After a long day exploring the city, grab a milkshake and a tuna melt at the on-site outpost of Mel's Drive-In, a 1950s-style diner that has become a San Francisco institution. The restaurant is open 24 hours on weekends.
Transportation
  • San Francisco International Airport (45 minutes)
  • Oakland International Airport (40 minutes)
  • MUNI bus (5 minutes walking)
  • Cable car stops (15 minutes walking)
  • BART (18 minutes walking)
Attractions
  • Union Square
  • Theater District
  • Embarcadero
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art
  • AT&T Park
Policies and fees

Debit cards are not acceptable at check-in. Overnight Parking is available (FEES APPLY).

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

37.7855 -122.4209
Nearby airports
San Francisco International Airport, (SFO), 25.00, MI, W; Oakland International Airport, (OAK), 22.10, MI, NW;
Area description
City Center

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Opal San Francisco also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

The Opal San Francisco Rooms

Superior Junior Suite
Superior Jr Suite-Free Continential Breakfast Free Internet
Executive Suite
King bed w-Living room Free Cont Brkfst-Wireless Internet Access
KING JUNIOR SUITE
ONE KING BED - SITTING AREA FREE CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST BUFFET FREE WIRELESS INTERNET ACCESS
Deluxe King
Deluxe King - Free Continential Breakfast Free Internet access
Deluxe Double Double
Deluxe Double Room Free Continential Breakfast Buffet
Deluxe Queen
Deluxe Queen-Free Continential Breakfast Free Internet access

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
General
Air conditioned
Free local telephone calls
Elevators
Dining
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
Coffee shop
Meal plan - continental
Family plan
Services
24 hour front desk
Maid service
Guest laundromat
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
Security
In-Room Safe
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Room
Temperature control
Electronic door locks
International direct dial
Sprinklers in rooms

Nearby points of interest

  • Civic Centre: 0.2 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.2 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.4 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 0.5 mi
  • Japantown: 0.5 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 0.5 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 0.5 mi
  • Japan Center: 0.5 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 0.6 mi
  • Nob Hill: 0.6 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 0.6 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.6 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.7 mi
  • Union Square: 0.8 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.2 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.2 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.4 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 0.5 mi
  • Japantown: 0.5 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 0.5 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 0.5 mi
  • Japan Center: 0.5 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 0.6 mi
  • Nob Hill: 0.6 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 0.6 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.6 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.7 mi
  • Union Square: 0.8 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.8 mi
  • SoMa: 0.8 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.9 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.9 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 1 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 1 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 1.1 mi
  • Moscone Center: 1.1 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 1.1 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 1.1 mi
  • Chinatown: 1.1 mi
  • Lombard Street: 1.1 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 1.2 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 1.2 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 1.4 mi
  • Coit Tower: 1.4 mi
  • Walter Adams Gallery: 1.4 mi
  • Mission Dolores: 1.5 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 1.5 mi
  • Mission Delores: 1.6 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 1.6 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 1.6 mi
  • Ferry Building: 1.6 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 1.7 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 1.7 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 1.7 mi
  • Underwater World: 1.7 mi
  • ATT Park: 1.7 mi
  • Haight Ashbury: 1.7 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 1.7 mi
  • Pier 39: 1.7 mi

Dining

Mels Drive In Diner
Classic American Food - 1950 Diner

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (883)

Ratings and reviews for The Opal San Francisco

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
883 out of 883
Amenities:
3.3
Room cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3.7
Location:
3.7
Value:
3.9

82% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Greg C
Business
Aptos, CA, USA
Apr 18, 2014

pleasant stay

Just there for one night while scouting colleges. The room was a bit tight. Onsite parking was great (but $30). The breakfast was as expected, but when we went there were not enough seats for everyone which was kinda awkward. The hotel itself is charming and was overall a good value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jan Combs
Lenoir City, TN
Apr 12, 2014

The Opal Stay

We found The Opal very helpful and welcoming to all our request. Staff was very efficient and strived to meet our needs. Would return again and would recommend it to everyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

The Opal is centrally located the major attractions in the downtown area. Very easy to use bus, cable cars to get where you need to go.

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Vanalex
Toronto, Canada
Apr 12, 2014

Wonderful spot, great stay!

We loved our visit to San Francisco and enjoyed staying at The Opal. My partner and I were there for three nights in early April and would definitely stay there again. The rates are reasonable and the location is a perfect starting point for exploring all that SF has to offer. It's within easy walking distance of a BART station, many transit lines, downtown amenities, Fisherman's Wharf, and countless interesting neighbourhoods. The hotel itself is older but classically beautiful and well-maintained, hotel staff were always pleasant and helpful. The continental breakfast includes: bagels, bread, muffins, various spreads, fruit salad, yogurt, and juice. I was most impressed by the hotel's commitment to waste reduction --all of the breakfast dishes and utensils were compostable and the yogurt cups were recycled; recycle bins were also provided in the accommodation rooms. Being a 3-star hotel, The Opal may not have all of the amenities of a higher-end chain but it does offer excellent value. However, I would like to see a complimentary guest computer with internet access (there was a pay-per-minute computer in the breakfast room but the fees seemed exorbitant to me). It would also be nice to have a book or card in the room outlining the features of the hotel, such as: breakfast hours, fitness room location, etc.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
yays
Oregon
Apr 11, 2014

If only the water didn't leak from the ceiling and the drier worked.

If only the water didn't leak from the ceiling, that one day, and the drier worked, it may actually be a very good hotel, especially for the price and the location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
PB86
Nevada
Apr 10, 2014

Average, I've been in better for less $$...

Pretty average hotel. It's got the standard TV and wifi in the room. Breakfast is just juice/coffee and bread. Other (cheaper) hotels I've been in had eggs and sausage or bacon, so I was pretty disappointed about that. You have to pay extra to park there, which might be something all hotels do in SF (you might want to research that if you're gonna drive because it's NOT included in your price). And their $30 a night parking lot is like sardines in a can. Location was great because it was right in the middle of town, so every tourist attraction could be easily accessed by 1-2 bus rides. It's in a pretty safe place, compared to other hotels in ghetto streets. No refrigerator in the room or microwave so don't bother with take out. No complimentary water (don't know if that matters to you). We always came back to a clean room. Factoring in the parking fee, I'd look for somewhere else first when it comes to value because it's a pretty ordinary hotel, nothing special besides its convenient location. If you're not driving (which is advisable, because driving is a pain in SF) and you plan on enjoying your breakfast in local spots then this is a good place to sleep at night and leave in the morning to enjoy the city.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Don't drive in SF, you waste a lot of time looking for a place to park! Bus rides are cheap and part of the experience!!

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Giant's Baseball Fan
Business
Portland, Oregon
Apr 10, 2014

Fun in the Sun

We had a great experience at the Opal Hotel. The rooms were spacious and clean. The location was conveniently located on the bus lines. It was a short 10 block walk to Unio Square. The staff was very helpful answering all quetions and setting up tours of the city for us.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Kristine W.
Phoenix, AZ
Apr 10, 2014

Gorgeous

Beautiful hotel in the perfect location. Almost everything was in walking distance or close to a bus stop.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
sfvisitor78
davis, ca
Apr 7, 2014

Great Stay at the Opal!

I was very happy with my stay at the Opal Hotel in S.F. Its an older building, but that is part of the charm. I had a room with a king-sized bed and it was quite spacious and overlooked Van Ness avenue. Even though my room was located in front of the building, there was not much noise coming in at night while I slept. The room was clean and the bed was comfortable. The bathroom was clean as well and spacious enough. Overall I enjoyed my stay at the Opal. Would highly recommend. Decent location and great price!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Lers Ros Thai Restaurant is located a couple of blocks away on Larkin. They have fantastic food. Order the stir fried pork belly. You will thank me!

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Chi Spring Traveler
Chicago
Apr 6, 2014

Great Value Stay

I looked at several hotels before booking at the Opal. It was an extremely great value for a hotel in San Francisco. The staff was friendly and helpful upon checkin and answering any additional questions we had about the area. We checked In on a Wednesday, and they had a wine & cheese hour. After checking out on our last day, we were able to store luggage in a locked luggage room before an overnight flight. The rooms was cozy and clean and did the trick for our four day stay. The area is great aside from a walk down Geary near Hyde.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Odeon
Business
California
Apr 5, 2014

One of the rare hotel in SF that includes breakfast

I booked this hotel a few times this year because of the great price. It is out of the tourist area but very close to bus lines that takes you to Fisherman & Union Square. The building is very nice with a very confortable lobby area. Mels Diner restaurant is in the same building if you check in late and need a burger fries ! Easy acces to great and cheap ethnic restaurants in the Tenderloin area. Staff extremely nice, and room confortable. The only problem I noticed is a very strong smell of "cleaning products" or something like this in the corridors and in the room. They should do something about that. Great breakfast from 6 to 10am.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Tenderloin area : Thai, Vietnamese , Turkish restaurants

Back to menu Return to top