$119 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: May 31, 2015 Check-out: Jun 1, 2015

The Opal San Francisco

3 stars
View map of 1050 Van Ness Avenue, San Francisco, CA 94109

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Opal San Francisco

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
711 out of 711
Amenities:
3.3
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
3.7
Value:
3.8

81% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Wendy s.
Business
N/A
Apr 26, 2015

Nice Clean Hotel

This is a nice establishment and the price is right. The rooms are clean, showers nothing special but everything in working order. Its easy to get cabs from here, the internet is free and a continental breakfast is included. The only downside is its in a questionable neighborhood as part of the Tenderloin I suspect if not on its corner. Not great for walking after dark but I never had a problem as a single woman during the day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Francesco555
Business
Reno
May 21, 2014

Left my heart...

Enjoyed the Opal and it's good eats neighbors. Location is great, staff was friendly and helpful and the accommodations were comfortable. Good value for SF....would do again...Toms Joynt directly across the street...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dave Venice
Business
Venice, CA
Oct 10, 2014

Definitely a solid overall choice

The positives of The Opal include the very helpful and friendly staff, the overall value proposition of the place, and the free Wi-Fi. A decent if not terribly exciting continental breakfast is also worthy of a thumbs up. While small, the room my girlfriend and I stayed in was quite clean. It was also surprisingly quiet, which was a definite plus. One unexpected positive was a complimentary wine and cheese happy hour on Wednesday afternoon. We didn't ask if that's a regular feature, but at any rate it was appreciated. The flipside is that the location might be a little edgy for some. One other relatively minor downside was that the bathroom in our room had no fan. All in all, a good choice for the budget-minded traveler.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Natalie04184
Business
Houston
Nov 26, 2014

Good spot, great price

This hotel is right off the popular path of hwy 101. We got a great deal on a 4 night stay. Our first experience was with the staff. AWESOME! Our check in was not until 3pm. We arrived at 10am and got a room without even asking! The room was clean, neat, and bigger than expected. Even though we stayed right next to the stairs and elevator it wasn't too loud. We took public transportation everywhere so this was a great pick for us. I definitely recommend it and would book here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Themis
Business
Virginia Beach, VA
Dec 17, 2009

Nice hotel

The hotel was clean and very close to downtown. The staff was very friendly

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
black barbie
Business
Tijuana MX
Jan 26, 2011

Right on!

Friends and I took a weekend trip to SF for a concert, it turned out to be a great experience as the music hall was just around the corner. The location was a bit far from downtown but not a big deal. The service was corteus and the price just right. Would definitely come back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MicHenn
Business
Hollywood, CA
Sep 2, 2009

Cool old hotel, nicely kept, good price.

While not in the greatest part of the city, it is conveniently close (5 blocks) to one of the cable car lines. So get a day pass and you're good to go. It has been very nicely restored, the staff was very nice and the continental breakfast, while basic was completley adequate. I'd definately stay there again. There's also a Mel's Diner that has an entrance right off of the lobby, so that's cool!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

One note, the secured on-site parking is limited so don't show up too late.

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
NYC Hula Darling
Business
NYC
Mar 26, 2009

Great value & location! Memorable visit.

Friendly, knowledgable staff. Close to all the sights. Cable car 4 blocks away; rode every day. Didn't need car. Room was a good size with full bath. Pleasantly suprised and pleased with last minute accommodations. I would highly recommend this comfortable, modest hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Cable car is 4 blocks away on Van Ness/California. Great way to travel like the locals and times' past.

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
los angeles
Jun 13, 2010

The Opal

Near bus transportation

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
George -Sales Mgr
Business
Glendale, CA
Oct 4, 2009

GOOD LOCATION - CLEAN - GOOD VALUE

Went to Palace of Fine Arts - SMUIN BALLET - Close to everything - we did have a car - Dinner at Warf - Lunch in town (Sushi) Our room 227 was exceptionally large 2 queen beds and a sofa bed..Suite. Much larger than our previous room at this hotel, and much more comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Palace of Fine Arts - SMUIN BALLET - MEDEA - SINATRA FABULOUS - THRU 10-11-09 Holiday show will begin rehersals in November for December opening.

Back to menu Return to top