$122 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jul 1, 2015 Check-out: Jul 4, 2015

The Opal San Francisco

3 stars
View map of 1050 Van Ness Avenue, San Francisco, CA 94109

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Opal San Francisco

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
719 out of 719
Amenities:
3.3
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
3.7
Value:
3.8

81% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Romas
Singapore
Jan 2, 2013

Eventful Family Holiday

The hotel provides complimentary breakfast of continental bakery, something which is not common for tourist hotels in America I would say. Hotel location is within walking distance to downtown Union Square and City Hall, which is very convenient for shopping and typical tourist leisure walking.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
indianapolis indiana
Jul 4, 2011

good location and good hotel

It was in a great location in town and very freindly personal. Loved the wine and cheese party with intertainment. Rooms were clean and nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Devonair
Business
Los Angeles
Jul 1, 2011

AWESOME SERVICE

STAYED FOR PRIDE GOOD LOCATION!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Union Square

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
modesto
Jun 25, 2011

surprised

I was surprised,because I read some reviews that weren,t so hot. We liked the free wine and cheese when we arrived. Our suite was very comfortable. Our t. v. wasn,t working and they sent someone up to our room in 10 min. to fix it. The front desk was very helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

The jardinerre restaurant was fabulous-very high end...

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Plymouth, MA
Jun 24, 2011

Decent place in a good location

Decent old hotel on Van Ness not far from the seedy Tenderloin district and a bit further from Union Square and the Financial District. The room was small, the bed was hard and lumpy but the front desk folks were nice and all-in-all it was a good value for SF. There seemed to be a lot of younger foreign tourists staying there. A good selection of restaurants is nearby and this would be a good location for exploring the City.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
atlanta, ga
Jun 24, 2011

Great value!

Cute place. Ok location. Good value. Parking was high and sketchy. Breakfast needed a lot of work. Only choice was toast and apple an orange.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Avoid the grotto. Try house of prime rib.

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
melbourne, Vic - Australia
Jun 21, 2011

Great Place to stay

Hotel was most enjoyable, Staff was friendly in exception of a young male [*]staff who was rude and unfriendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Honolulu, Hawaii
Jun 18, 2011

The bad and the ugly

We went to San Francisco to attend my cousin's graduation.We stayed in the The Opal hotel its so frustating when we got to the room because the room is so small the carpet is so dirty. The toilet is not even functioning, so I called the front desk if we can move us to a bigger room, so they did moved us to a different room which is a bigger room I guess, on our second day I can't really stand the carpet is so dirty I called [...]if we can checkout earlier because we are not happy with the hotel, they called the hotel if it's possible for us to checkout earlier. Unfortunately, we cannot because of the hotel policy, they cannot refund us our money. So they advised me to go the front desk and talk to the manager instead if we can checkout earlier. I called the front desk many times to ask for the manager, the manager's office always on a voice mail so I left messages for him to call me back regarding our situation in the hotel. The manager did not call me at all. I'm so frustated. So I will not recommend this hotel to any of my relatives and friends. This hotel is so disgusting. We always travel but this is the worse dirtiest hotel ever.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jenna tell ya
Business
San Francisco, California
Jun 16, 2011

Great location

This location was great for walking to SoMa, little Italy, chinatown. The hotel had technical difficulties, we called to alert them amd when it couldnt be quickly remedied we were generously compensated. Highly recommended.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Peach & Honey
Business
Thailand
Jun 12, 2011

Walk in may be better than reservation

Untrained staffs didn't trusted guests who made a reservation via [...] although we showed the printed confirmation so we had to hang around waiting for the Manager more than one hour in addition to be asked to deposit $50 in cash after checking in. Outside the Opal look common contrary to luxurious lobby and room. Only bread provided for free breakfast with coffee, tea, chocolate & fruits juice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Peach & Honey
Business
Thailand
Jun 12, 2011

Walk in may be better than reservation

Untrained staffs didn't trusted guests who made a reservation via [...] although we showed the printed confirmation so we had to hang around waiting for the Manager more than one hour in addition to be asked to deposit $50 in cash after checking in. Outside the Opal look common contrary to luxurious lobby and room. Only bread provided for free breakfast with coffee, tea, chocolate & fruits juice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top