$103 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jul 13, 2014 Check-out: Jul 14, 2014

The Opal San Francisco

3 stars
1050 Van Ness Avenue, San Francisco, CA 94109
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
880 reviews
Good price for location

Friendly and helpful staff. Large comfortable room. See full review

  • MarianaMC
  • Apr 27, 2014
The Opal Stay

We found The Opal very helpful and welcoming to all our request. Staff was very efficient and... See full review

  • Jan Combs
  • Apr 12, 2014
Historic hotel and spacious suites -- walking distance to Union Square

Dating back to 1908, this five-story Union Square hotel still boasts the stained glass windows, period antiques and other decorative touches that hearken back to a simpler time. Rooms are clean and efficient; spacious work desks are popular among business travelers. Other amenities include a complimentary on-site fitness center and 24-hour coffee and tea service, as well as a complimentary breakfast buffet.

Highlights
  • Walking distance to shopping in Union Square
  • Historic architecture, decorative touches
  • 24-hour coffee and tea service
  • Complimentary breakfast buffet
Rooms

Each of The Opal's 164 guest rooms features central air and heat, cable television and complimentary high-speed Internet. (There's also free Wi-Fi in the hotel lobby.) Suites include small sitting areas with plush sofas. A handful of rooms have windows that look out onto the bustling Union

Features
The hotel has received a three-diamond rating from AAA and was selected as the Crescent Hotel and Resorts "Hotel of the Year" in 2008. A baby grand piano welcomes visitors to the lobby of The Opal -- a public area decorated to invoke the way it looked when the hotel debuted in 1908.

Elsewhere on the property is a 24-hour laundry facility (fees apply) and car rental desk (fees apply; rentals also can be facilitated by the concierge). Overnight parking is also available (fees apply).

All guests have complimentary access to a state-of-the-art on-site fitness center. Guests also are entitled to a complimentary breakfast buffet every morning.

After a long day exploring the city, grab a milkshake and a tuna melt at the on-site outpost of Mel's Drive-In, a 1950s-style diner that has become a San Francisco institution. The restaurant is open 24 hours on weekends.
Transportation
  • San Francisco International Airport (45 minutes)
  • Oakland International Airport (40 minutes)
  • MUNI bus (5 minutes walking)
  • Cable car stops (15 minutes walking)
  • BART (18 minutes walking)
Attractions
  • Union Square
  • Theater District
  • Embarcadero
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art
  • AT&T Park
Policies and fees

Debit cards are not acceptable at check-in. Overnight Parking is available (FEES APPLY).

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

37.7855 -122.4209
Nearby airports
San Francisco International Airport, (SFO), 25.00, MI, W; Oakland International Airport, (OAK), 22.10, MI, NW;
Area description
City Center

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Opal San Francisco also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

The Opal San Francisco Rooms

Superior Junior Suite
Superior Jr Suite-Free Continential Breakfast Free Internet
Executive Suite
King bed w-Living room Free Cont Brkfst-Wireless Internet Access
KING JUNIOR SUITE
ONE KING BED - SITTING AREA FREE CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST BUFFET FREE WIRELESS INTERNET ACCESS
Deluxe King
Deluxe King - Free Continential Breakfast Free Internet access
Deluxe Double Double
Deluxe Double Room Free Continential Breakfast Buffet
Deluxe Queen
Deluxe Queen-Free Continential Breakfast Free Internet access

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
General
Air conditioned
Free local telephone calls
Elevators
Dining
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
Coffee shop
Meal plan - continental
Family plan
Services
24 hour front desk
Maid service
Guest laundromat
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
Security
In-Room Safe
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Room
Temperature control
Electronic door locks
International direct dial
Sprinklers in rooms

Nearby points of interest

  • Civic Centre: 0.2 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.2 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.4 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 0.5 mi
  • Japantown: 0.5 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 0.5 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 0.5 mi
  • Japan Center: 0.5 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 0.6 mi
  • Nob Hill: 0.6 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 0.6 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.6 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.7 mi
  • Union Square: 0.8 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.2 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.2 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.4 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 0.5 mi
  • Japantown: 0.5 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 0.5 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 0.5 mi
  • Japan Center: 0.5 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 0.6 mi
  • Nob Hill: 0.6 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 0.6 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.6 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.7 mi
  • Union Square: 0.8 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.8 mi
  • SoMa: 0.8 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.9 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.9 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 1 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 1 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 1.1 mi
  • Moscone Center: 1.1 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 1.1 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 1.1 mi
  • Chinatown: 1.1 mi
  • Lombard Street: 1.1 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 1.2 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 1.2 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 1.4 mi
  • Coit Tower: 1.4 mi
  • Walter Adams Gallery: 1.4 mi
  • Mission Dolores: 1.5 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 1.5 mi
  • Mission Delores: 1.6 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 1.6 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 1.6 mi
  • Ferry Building: 1.6 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 1.7 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 1.7 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 1.7 mi
  • Underwater World: 1.7 mi
  • ATT Park: 1.7 mi
  • Haight Ashbury: 1.7 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 1.7 mi
  • Pier 39: 1.7 mi

Dining

Mels Drive In Diner
Classic American Food - 1950 Diner

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (880)

Ratings and reviews for The Opal San Francisco

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
880 out of 880
Amenities:
3.3
Room cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3.7
Location:
3.7
Value:
3.9

82% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Romas
Singapore
Jan 2, 2013

Eventful Family Holiday

The hotel provides complimentary breakfast of continental bakery, something which is not common for tourist hotels in America I would say. Hotel location is within walking distance to downtown Union Square and City Hall, which is very convenient for shopping and typical tourist leisure walking.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Takeitfromme
San Jose, CA
Apr 12, 2011

Though classy, kinda outdated.

My friend and I stayed at the Opal for one night so we could run in the US Half Marathon. While the price was reasonable, it did have some drawbacks. 1) You must pay $31 for parking/night and it's in an underground garage that's only accessible by stairs. You need to drive down a "bum" alley to get there too. 2) Hallways are very narrow and if you're claustrophobic, that may bother you. 3) Amenities are few and far between, no pool but they do offer free Internet, fitness room, and breakfast. 4) No shuttle services to anywhere in town; thus, my friend and I had to walk all the way to Ghiradelli Park.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Lots of clubs on Broadway, a short walk away.

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Takeitfromme
San Jose, CA
Apr 12, 2011

Though classy, kinda outdated.

My friend and I stayed at the Opal for one night so we could run in the US Half Marathon. While the price was reasonable, it did have some drawbacks. 1) You must pay $31 for parking/night and it's in an underground garage that's only accessible by stairs. You need to drive down a "bum" alley to get there too. 2) Hallways are very narrow and if you're claustrophobic, that may bother you. 3) Amenities are few and far between, no pool but they do offer free Internet, fitness room, and breakfast. 4) No shuttle services to anywhere in town; thus, my friend and I had to walk all the way to Ghiradelli Park.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Lots of clubs on Broadway, a short walk away.

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Slidell, La.
Apr 9, 2011

A good experience for the money

The room was clean but the a/c would not work correctly. We changed rooms and still could not get the a/c to work. We had to open a window to cool off the room. The staff was very friendly and helpful. I just think it was a fluke about the a/c. They offered us another room, but we did not feel like moving again. I would stay at this hotel again if I go back to San Francisco.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

I would recommend the Catamaran sunset cruise on the bay.

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Slidell, La.
Apr 9, 2011

A good experience for the money

The room was clean but the a/c would not work correctly. We changed rooms and still could not get the a/c to work. We had to open a window to cool off the room. The staff was very friendly and helpful. I just think it was a fluke about the a/c. They offered us another room, but we did not feel like moving again. I would stay at this hotel again if I go back to San Francisco.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

I would recommend the Catamaran sunset cruise on the bay.

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Australia
Apr 7, 2011

Fabulous old world charm

We had a great stay at the Opal. Beautiful old world charm, helps to get the feel of an old San Francisco. Helpful friendly staff,good breakfast, good location, though stick to Geary St when walking home from Union Square. O'Farell a bit dodgy with some seedy characters hanging about. On the edge of the tenderloin. Booked bus tour package through hotel, good value, great to get your bearings in the city. No fridge in room, a bit inconvenient. All round A+.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Take advantage of the sight seeing hop on hop off buses. You can see a lot of the city with a guide, and then go back on your own. Good value for money. They also let you upgrade to add other areas, and also, don't miss out on Alcatraz.The metro bus and street cars all work together and give you about 2 hours to use your ticket on all of them. Very easy to work out and get around the city to dine, shop and so on for $2.

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Australia
Apr 7, 2011

Fabulous old world charm

We had a great stay at the Opal. Beautiful old world charm, helps to get the feel of an old San Francisco. Helpful friendly staff,good breakfast, good location, though stick to Geary St when walking home from Union Square. O'Farell a bit dodgy with some seedy characters hanging about. On the edge of the tenderloin. Booked bus tour package through hotel, good value, great to get your bearings in the city. No fridge in room, a bit inconvenient. All round A+.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Take advantage of the sight seeing hop on hop off buses. You can see a lot of the city with a guide, and then go back on your own. Good value for money. They also let you upgrade to add other areas, and also, don't miss out on Alcatraz.The metro bus and street cars all work together and give you about 2 hours to use your ticket on all of them. Very easy to work out and get around the city to dine, shop and so on for $2.

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Winnipeg, Manitoba
Apr 5, 2011

Great value!

This was a very nice, comfortable hotel at a very reasonable price with nice staff. The only issue is that it's in a sketchy part of town...but walking 10-15 minutes will get you to nicer areas. We got the CityPass and several buses stopped near the hotel which was convenient. If you're willing to do a little walking and you're a smart traveler, this is the place for you.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Burmese Kitchen and Napoli Pizza

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Winnipeg, Manitoba
Apr 5, 2011

Great value!

This was a very nice, comfortable hotel at a very reasonable price with nice staff. The only issue is that it's in a sketchy part of town...but walking 10-15 minutes will get you to nicer areas. We got the CityPass and several buses stopped near the hotel which was convenient. If you're willing to do a little walking and you're a smart traveler, this is the place for you.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Burmese Kitchen and Napoli Pizza

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Minneapolis, MN
Mar 30, 2011

good visit to san francisco

overall it was nice quite clean and the complementary breakfast was great the internet didn't go much beyond browsing most games were laggy so not much hope in that but the stay was above average compared to some hotels I've been to. i did rate the staff lower because on arrival i did have the staff at the front desk was kind of rude to me didn't seem very interested in helping anyone at the time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

I personally think its best to stay in the area of the hotel maybe go down vaness ave a bit but stick to the less tourist area's and you'll be pleased with what you find and not so crowded

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Minneapolis, MN
Mar 30, 2011

good visit to san francisco

overall it was nice quite clean and the complementary breakfast was great the internet didn't go much beyond browsing most games were laggy so not much hope in that but the stay was above average compared to some hotels I've been to. i did rate the staff lower because on arrival i did have the staff at the front desk was kind of rude to me didn't seem very interested in helping anyone at the time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

I personally think its best to stay in the area of the hotel maybe go down vaness ave a bit but stick to the less tourist area's and you'll be pleased with what you find and not so crowded

Back to menu Return to top