$139 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: May 31, 2015 Check-out: Jun 1, 2015

The Opal San Francisco

3 stars
View map of 1050 Van Ness Avenue, San Francisco, CA 94109

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Opal San Francisco

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
711 out of 711
Amenities:
3.3
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
3.7
Value:
3.8

81% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Peach & Honey
Business
Thailand
Jun 12, 2011

Walk in may be better than reservation

Untrained staffs didn't trusted guests who made a reservation via [...] although we showed the printed confirmation so we had to hang around waiting for the Manager more than one hour in addition to be asked to deposit $50 in cash after checking in. Outside the Opal look common contrary to luxurious lobby and room. Only bread provided for free breakfast with coffee, tea, chocolate & fruits juice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Peach & Honey
Business
Thailand
Jun 12, 2011

Walk in may be better than reservation

Untrained staffs didn't trusted guests who made a reservation via [...] although we showed the printed confirmation so we had to hang around waiting for the Manager more than one hour in addition to be asked to deposit $50 in cash after checking in. Outside the Opal look common contrary to luxurious lobby and room. Only bread provided for free breakfast with coffee, tea, chocolate & fruits juice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Marilee the gourmet
Business
Grass Valley, CA
Jun 10, 2011

Don't park on the street

Very busy hotel/mini UN. Guests were from all over the globe. Pleasant decor from another age. Room was small but very clean and pleasant (upgrade available for + $20). Bathroom probably wouldn't accommodate an obese guest. One small cramped mirror in bathroom. One small sliver of soap for shower and sink. Bed was good. Great central location for everything a tourist might want take in. Car was vandalized while we ate dinner; window smashed, but nothing missing from inside the car. Hotel has secure parking available, but $27/night. Some delay in check-in as heavy concierge advice took staff time. I would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Tommy's Joint is the real deal. In same location for almost 100 years. Hof Brau food, quick, good. Lots of unique atmosphere. It's just across the street from The Opal Hotel. House of Prime Rib is "old SF", excellent food, not cheap, needs reservations.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Raleigh, NC
Jun 8, 2011

Good time at the Opal

Our stay started off on a bad note, we received a room with a handicapped shower that had a very old hand-held showerhead. The metal hose was worn out looking and sprayed water all over the bathroom when we tried to use it. We called the front desk and requested repair, which had not been done by time we returned to our room the next day. We were worn out from a day of touristing, but their maintenance staff had gone home so they moved us to a different room. The new room was MUCH nicer in just about every way. There was a little traffic noise with two windows overlooking busy streets, but the windows were double-pane and we were able to ignore it. We enjoyed the rest of our 4-day stay. Regarding the breakfast: It's pretty basic, just breads, yogurt, boiled eggs, fruit, and pastries. Higher quality than usual though. There's annoying TVs in the dining area, but they kept the volume level low enough that we could converse.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Long walk from hotel

Don't bother driving. Go up the street to the gift shop at the Omni and buy a Muni 3 or 7-day pass. Everything you need to get to is easy to reach by bus or cable car. Watch out for the crowds on weekends though! I wish we had public transportation half this good in NC.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Honolulu
Jun 8, 2011

More than wonderful.

clean, friendly, prfessional.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jbird05
Business
Sacramento, CA
Jun 6, 2011

The Opal

Was in SF for a friend's bday. Opal seemed central to the downtown area so taking a taxi would be cheaper. Nice hotel. Had trouble finding the actual hotel and parking structure.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lisa Shop Girl
Business
Sherman Oaks, CA
Jun 6, 2011

The Opal is a hotel in the heart of SF

I was working the two days I stayed at the Opal Hotel. I was able to walk to The House of Prime for dinner which was a nice and relaxing after a hard day at work. The hotel was clean, quiet, and always accommodating. Thank you.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The House of Prime is a short 9 block walk from the Opal Hotel. The restaurant has charm in every room. The menu is simple but the food is fantastic and the service is impeccable.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Vancouver, BC
Jun 6, 2011

Excellent stay

Went to San Francisco for the weekend, The Opal is an excellent downtown choice. Very clean rooms, comfortable bed, TV with lots of channels. Good staff and service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

If you plan on seeing Alcatraz, book in advance, as the likelihood of it being sold out for days increases as you get further into tourist season. Don't expect to just walk to the pier and expect to get on a tour boat.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Dallas,TX
Jun 6, 2011

friendly and helpful stsff

hotel is old but quite well kept. very friendly staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
NYC
Jun 5, 2011

Wasn't the worst but not the best either

Not recommended if you're a single female traveling back to the hotel late at night as the hotel is located near the tenderloin area... There will be suspicious people hanging outside the hotel in the evening. I was given a room near the manager's office which is annoying because it's busy along that corridoor... expect to be woken up by all the commotion at 8AM. Otherwise, the room is pretty comfortable. It's old but still feels special in certain ways

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top