$109 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: May 11, 2015 Check-out: May 12, 2015

The Opal San Francisco

3 stars
View map of 1050 Van Ness Avenue, San Francisco, CA 94109

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Opal San Francisco

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
709 out of 709
Amenities:
3.3
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
3.7
Value:
3.8

81% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
NYC
Jun 5, 2011

Wasn't the worst but not the best either

Not recommended if you're a single female traveling back to the hotel late at night as the hotel is located near the tenderloin area... There will be suspicious people hanging outside the hotel in the evening. I was given a room near the manager's office which is annoying because it's busy along that corridoor... expect to be woken up by all the commotion at 8AM. Otherwise, the room is pretty comfortable. It's old but still feels special in certain ways

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Medford, OR
Jun 5, 2011

Giants game getaway

We went to a Giants Baseball game and Fisherman's Wharf. Everything was great. Better than average trip to the SF Bay Area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Take the #49 Bus to the Giants game, AT&T Park. It was $2.00 each way.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, IL
May 25, 2011

Amazing value & service

A gem of an hotel when it comes to price and service; our room was not fully ready when we checked in so we were upgraded to a larger room without even asking for it. The keys to the new room did not work at first so we had to return to the front desk to get them "recoded". Within 5 minutes of being settled in, a staff member showed up with an excellent bottle of Cabernet (from Napa), two glasses, a bottle opener, and a small note of apologies from the concierge...! Granted the location is a bit noisy (but the hotel has done a fine job at sound-proofing the windows and traffic from Van Ness Avenue was not an issue. There are a three very good Sushi restaurants within three blocks as well as an excellent Indian restaurant. Last (but bot least) is the fact that the hotel is attached to Mel's, a 50's/60's style restaurant that is open very late. Breakfast is OK if one enjoys 1) toast, 2) cream cheese/jelly, 3) apples/oranges, and 4) boiled eggs, as these are the only supplies available (besides coffee/tea/juice). Those who need more can go to Mel's... The workout room is very basic (OK, below basic) but maybe that's because SF is a walking city? Who needs a treadmill when one has California Street?! Guest laundry is fine; one load of wash + dry + soap is under $5.00. Free internet is cable inside the rooms but Wi-Fi works downstairs.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Breakfast lines can be quite long... they got 5 toasters, each with 4 slots, and it's still a wait. Go to Mel's next door

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Stoclton , CA
May 23, 2011

Nice place, good service, but........

The opal is a fine hotel. The immediate area gives you a lot of what you need to have fun without even traveling more than 5 blocks. There is night clubs, dance clubs, crepe lounge, good food and some shopping behind it on Polk. Feel secure, and parking is good. Having said that, our stay was terrible. Not to the fault of The opal, but 20+ 18 year old check in and cause nothing short of chaos for the entire night. I called down 3 times, and was informed the cops were coming. It took 4 hours to get control of this, including me threatening to handle it myself. They comped our room for that night and the general manager was very accommodating to make this right. None the less, we were a wreck the entire next day because we didn't get any sleep. I would stay there again but not in the back courtyard area around the parking, that is a joke out there. I gave the staff 2 stars because they were not in any way prepared or capable of handling the chaos that night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

On Polk St. behind the hotel

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Pahoa, Hawaii
May 23, 2011

Opal Hotel review

We explored San Fransisco and Berkeley. The BART station was within a mile walking range and good restaurants were nearby.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Tommy's Joint across the street had good food and atmosphere at good prices.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago
May 20, 2011

Good value, nice people

Decent location, friendly and helpful staff, okay breakfast and comfortable lobby. Rooms are small and the neighborhood is not beautiful, but the value is great, which is a real challenge in SFO.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Wyoming
May 19, 2011

Just fine

Worked on the computer in my room and slept. Hot water was a little slow in coming. Everything else was fine. The help was friendly, courteous and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Diego, CA
May 17, 2011

Good deal

I paid $79 per night and stayed for two nights, quite a steal. My room was clean and large. It seems like it's typically easy to find very low prices for the Opal. I will say that if you spend anything over say $120 a night, you won't get your monies worth. I'd fork out the extra money and stay somewhere nicer. I'm a 5'2" 112 pound female that was in town alone and I felt perfectly safe walking around the neighborhood. The hotel is within an easy walk over to Japan Town and Fillmore st. You can also jump on the #38 bus on O' Farrell st. and be in Union Square in about three minutes for $2.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Red Door Cafe had a good breakfast a few blocks away. Walk down Van Ness to Philz Coffee, it's amazing!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
JACKSONVILLE FLORIDA
May 16, 2011

NOT AS IT SEEMS

THE PICTURES ON THE SITE ARE BEAUTIFUL BUT THE INSIDE WAS LESS THAN TO BE DESIRED. THE LOBBY IS NICE BUT THE ROOMS SMELLED FOR THEY HAD SPRAYED THE ROOM THAT MORNING FOR PEST AND TRIED TO COVER THE SMELL WITH A CARPET DEODARANT ALSO THE ROOM HAD NO ACTUAL SPACE FOR OUR CLOTHES ; THE ROOM THAT WE HAD WAS SET UP FOR OLD PEOPLE THE MATTRESS WAS OF LOW QUALITY AND THE BATHROOM HAD DUCT TAPE ON THE PIPES UNDERNEATH ; THE SHOWER HAD HARDLY NO PRESSURE AND THE SHOWER HEAD ITSELF CAME TO MY CHIN AND IM 5.7..THE ALSO CHARGE YOU 33.00 A DAY TO PARK.UNLESS YOU WANT YOUR CAR ON THE STREETS OUTSIDE[...].

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

PLAN YOUR TRIP SO THAT YOU STAY IN THE ROOM AS LITTLE AS POSSIBLE. OR ELSE FIND SOME WHERE ELSE TO STAY TO ENJOY YOUR TRIP BETTER.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Itstu
Business
atlanta,ga
May 14, 2011

San Franisco hotel

Seen a lot of San Fransico in three days, convent location easy secured hotel. Staff was plensant and very helpful .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top