$159 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 2, 2015 Check-out: Aug 3, 2015

The Opal San Francisco

3 stars
View map of 1050 Van Ness Avenue, San Francisco, CA 94109

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Opal San Francisco

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
621 out of 621
Amenities:
3.3
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
3.7
Value:
3.8

81% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tugjohnson
Business
Dallas, tx
May 1, 2011

Not bad, you get what you pay for

Hotel was in the middle of everything in the cities. No problems with hotel or staff

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Fun!
Business
Mountain View, CA
Apr 29, 2011

Great deal!

The location was very convenient, around restaurants and near the place I needed to be. Very friendly atmoshpere and staff. Room was the average size for SF, but it was clean and comfortable. Definitely a good deal for the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Charlotte, North Carolina
Apr 28, 2011

Not the best experience

We enjoyed the sightseeing and the food during our recent trip to San Francisco. The hotel was by far the worst part of the trip. The workout room was in terrible shape(it was small and cramp, TV needed to be replaced and the weight eqiupment) needed to be updated bad! The rooms were very small, the bathroom fan was exteremly noisy, and the A/C for the most part fell short. I would not recommend to family to stay out there. Sad part was.. hotel was surrouned by homeless people...not a good neighborhood.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Virginia
Apr 26, 2011

VISIT TO CISCO

Clean but little bit worn hotel. Very polite and helpfull staff. Good value for money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Sihghtseeing bus - hop in hop out. Very fast way to see the city!

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
L.M.
Business
Detroit, MI
Apr 22, 2011

wonderful stay

we visit most of san francisco and had a great time. the muni bus stop was on every other block and arrived on time every time. really didn't have a reason for a car rental not unless you want to leave the city. the staff at the hotel was helpful and friendly every time i spoke with them, they even took pics of my partner and i. one thing that was kinda over played was the breakfast at the hotel it really wasn't a buffet, more like a continental breakfast and it ended a hour to early (9:30am). over all great stay. Also if your looking for a big room this may not be the place for you. P.S. Mels drive in below the hotel not the best and kinda over price and may close earlier than posted.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

take a short sub way or cable car ride to orphan andy's on castro street. Great staff, great food, great area.

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Butta Beans
Business
Minneapolis, MN
Apr 21, 2011

San Francisco

My stay at the Opal was fine. Rooms were clean. Staff was VERY helpful and friendly. I never made it to the continental breakfast but Mel's diner next door was excellent. I ate there 3 times. Also, the sandwich joint, Tommy Johns across the street was excellent too. Parking in the hotel's lot was VERY easy and also convenient. Union square was about a 10 block walk down Geary. Fisherman's wharf was also a short bus ride away. At night go out in the North Beach area. Overall I would definitely stay at the opal again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
women
Business
syracuse
Apr 19, 2011

Good Location

Hotel was located centrally to everything. Neighborhood not the best, would not reccomend children.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

short walk to chinatown

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Washington DC
Apr 18, 2011

Good price for what you get

Ameneties and location justify very well the price. The front desk personnel was not friendly at all. For the price I would recommend to a friend. The architecture is interesting and old.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

To metro and the Square.

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Takeitfromme
Business
San Jose, CA
Apr 12, 2011

Though classy, kinda outdated.

My friend and I stayed at the Opal for one night so we could run in the US Half Marathon. While the price was reasonable, it did have some drawbacks. 1) You must pay $31 for parking/night and it's in an underground garage that's only accessible by stairs. You need to drive down a "bum" alley to get there too. 2) Hallways are very narrow and if you're claustrophobic, that may bother you. 3) Amenities are few and far between, no pool but they do offer free Internet, fitness room, and breakfast. 4) No shuttle services to anywhere in town; thus, my friend and I had to walk all the way to Ghiradelli Park.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Lots of clubs on Broadway, a short walk away.

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Slidell, La.
Apr 9, 2011

A good experience for the money

The room was clean but the a/c would not work correctly. We changed rooms and still could not get the a/c to work. We had to open a window to cool off the room. The staff was very friendly and helpful. I just think it was a fluke about the a/c. They offered us another room, but we did not feel like moving again. I would stay at this hotel again if I go back to San Francisco.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

I would recommend the Catamaran sunset cruise on the bay.

Back to menu Return to top