$170 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 23, 2015 Check-out: Aug 26, 2015

The Opal San Francisco

3 stars
View map of 1050 Van Ness Avenue, San Francisco, CA 94109

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Opal San Francisco

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
621 out of 621
Amenities:
3.3
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
3.7
Value:
3.8

81% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Dec 23, 2008

great for the price

the walls were quite thin and you could hear everything but its a well kept hotel and i enjoyed my night there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

union square,

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Suseldor
Business
Germany
Nov 19, 2009

good hotel for sightseeing

We were just there for 4 nights to do some sightseeing in SF. Therefore the location was awesome. You could walk to mostly every place. The hotel was good for the price and the stuff were very helpful and friendly. The breakefast wasn't special and everyday the same but still okay. The good thing was the free coffee the whole day. All in all it was really good for our trip and we would go back anytimes!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Long Beach, CA
Jul 10, 2010

Very good location on a major street

We got a free upgrade from a deluxe double bed to a suite because they ran out of the deluxe double bed room. We thought wow that's great. In a way we were really glad, because we weren't too impressed with the suite and were wondering what the deluxe room would have been like. In the suite, there's no fridge or microwave like what you normally would expect. The restroom door didn't have a lock on. The hotel is old and in need of renovation, I think. Parking is an additional $20 a night. The best thing is the location. It's on Van Ness which is like the main street that runs through the city.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

AMC Theatre is right next door. Lots of restaurants and shops on the same street. Great location.

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
midwest trveler
Business
WI and MI
Nov 20, 2009

good value

When we requested more towels and coffee for our room, the staff could not have responded faster. They advertised 2 queen rooms but we got 2 doubles. Clean, helpful staff, smallish rooms, internet does not work in room due to weak signel but did work in lobby, continental breakfast adequate. Staff VERY busy at check in, but did well under great stress. Only one person at desk doing it all. Walking distance to many good inexpensive resturants.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
bluskier
Business
Calgary, Alta
Nov 20, 2009

Opal Hotel

Clean,bright rooms, front desk staff were friendly and accomodating, all in all a very pleasant surprise. Would recommend earplugs as the traffic noise is a little ditracting. Mel's Diner great stick to your ribs food!!!! Just what you need after walking up and down hills all day!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MANDY LOVE <3
Business
LOS ANGELES, CA
Jan 4, 2011

Great for the Price!!!

THE FIRST THING THAT ATTRACTED MY BOYFRIEND AND I TO THE OPAL WAS THE GREAT AND REASONABLE PRICE. THIS WAS NOT OUR FIRST TIME IN S.F. WE HAD STOOD IN HIGHER PRICED HOTEL ON OUR PREVIOUS VISIT AND WE WERE NOT COMPLETELY SATISFIED. SO THIS TIME OUR STAY TOOK PLACE DURING THE NEW YEAR HOLIDAY WEEKEND AND WE WANTED TO LOOK FOR SOMETHING MORE AFFORDABLE. THE OPAL WAS THE RIGHT PRICE AND THE REVIEWS HELP SUPPORT OUR DECISION. DESPITE THE NEIGHBORHOOD BEING A LITTLE SKETCHY EVERYTHING WAS WONDERFUL. THE HOTEL LOCATION IS NOT THE BEST, BUT WE DID NOT HAVE ONE COMPLAINT. THE HOTEL LOBBY HAS A CLASSIC FEEL THAT MAKES YOU FEEL COMFORTABLE. THE ROOM WAS DECENT SIZE AND VERY CLEAN. THE RESTROOM WAS HUGE BUT A LITTLE PLAIN. THE HOTEL OFFERED FREE CABLE TV AND INTERNET. ALSO, THE OPAL HAS FREE CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST EVERYDAY OF THE WEEK.BREAKFAST INCLUDED:TOAST, BAGELS, HARD BOILED EGGS, FRUIT, COFFEE, TEA, AND JUICE (IT'S ENOUGH TO HOLD YOU OVER UNTIL LUNCH.) OVERALL OUR STAY WAS GREAT AND WE WILL DEFINETLY BE STAYING HERE AGAIN!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
SarieKay
Business
Hesperia, CA
Jan 12, 2010

Teeny Tiny Room

These rooms are teeny tiny, but really, who stays in the room while in San Francisco? We certainly did not. I was expecting a small room when I booked the hotel, so it was no big deal. The room was clean. The staff was efficient, I can't say she was friendly, but in her defense, she was very busy. Parking is an additional charge, and the spots are small. ***The Opal is walking distance to the cable car start at California, and China Town. It is around the corner from restaurants on Polk. This is a very good location for the money. ***I skipped the diner attached to the hotel due to lukewarm reviews, and instead we ate at Tommys Joynt across the street, it's a MUST for hot open faced sandwiches, very good, we ate there twice. ***Overall? I was satisfied with my stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Guest from Germany
Business
Germany
May 16, 2010

good American standard

I recommed the hotel to everyone, who wants to visit San Francisco. It is next to the center.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Loris Diner is a really good burger restaurant. It is in the hotel.

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
St. Louis, MO
Jun 11, 2010

San Francisco Value

Repeat visit. Still the same. Rooms and service similar to Hampton but with aura of vintage hotel. Reserved two suites but one not available upon arrival. Staff quickly upgraded second room and comped parking. Location is OK (Car, Bus or Taxi) but a few seedy joints a few blocks over. We don't stay there to stay in that neighborhood. We use it as a hub to get to Fishermans Warf or the Haight or to down town. Over all Good Value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Raleigh, NC
Jun 8, 2011

Good time at the Opal

Our stay started off on a bad note, we received a room with a handicapped shower that had a very old hand-held showerhead. The metal hose was worn out looking and sprayed water all over the bathroom when we tried to use it. We called the front desk and requested repair, which had not been done by time we returned to our room the next day. We were worn out from a day of touristing, but their maintenance staff had gone home so they moved us to a different room. The new room was MUCH nicer in just about every way. There was a little traffic noise with two windows overlooking busy streets, but the windows were double-pane and we were able to ignore it. We enjoyed the rest of our 4-day stay. Regarding the breakfast: It's pretty basic, just breads, yogurt, boiled eggs, fruit, and pastries. Higher quality than usual though. There's annoying TVs in the dining area, but they kept the volume level low enough that we could converse.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Long walk from hotel

Don't bother driving. Go up the street to the gift shop at the Omni and buy a Muni 3 or 7-day pass. Everything you need to get to is easy to reach by bus or cable car. Watch out for the crowds on weekends though! I wish we had public transportation half this good in NC.

Back to menu Return to top