$129 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Mar 30, 2015 Check-out: Apr 1, 2015

The Opal San Francisco

3 stars
View map of 1050 Van Ness Avenue, San Francisco, CA 94109

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Opal San Francisco

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
656 out of 656
Amenities:
3.3
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
3.7
Value:
3.8

81% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sandie B and Jinty
Business
Glasgow, Scotland
Apr 21, 2013

Excellent 3* hotel.

We had a very nice big room with 2 queen sized beds and sofa . Very accessible especially if you check out the local bus services. Nice and clean and lovely continental breakfast, also cheese and wine on the Wednesday night. Staff were very friendly and helpful, Would go back like a shot !

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: In Hotel

Take the bus tour to get your bearings thn can hire bicycles or take locla buses

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
john the Bicycle man
Business
jacksonville, fl
Apr 23, 2013

Opal san fran

Peasant surprise for price in San Francisco. Hotel is well maintained with great staff

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

tommy's and Mel's are close and reasonably pricedBicycle man

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Eva A.
Business
Nicholasville, KY
Apr 27, 2013

Short (stay) but sweet

I thoroughly enjoyed my 2 night stay at the Opal. It was most helpful to me that the staff arranged transportation to the airport for me at a very reasonable price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
cha chino
Business
fort worth, texas
May 13, 2013

nice price for nuce spot

every thing was nice except the breakfast! if u like fruit yogart and hard boiled eggs its ok but I need some waffels r omilets r some form of meat besides hrad boiled eggs but it did buy me some time while I decided ware to eat a real breakfast!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

use public trans the hole time! save hundreds on cab fair!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Psyclops
Business
San Francisco
May 30, 2013

We found our Heart in San Francisco

Right from the get go, we were greeted and welcomed to the Opal. Friendly, courteous, gracious are just some of the praises for this wonderful, elderly hotel. Not that everyone who stays there is long in the tooth but it is one of the quaint, structures that make San Francisco such a geeat place to be. One of the things I notices most about the Opal was how clean the employees kept it. There was always someone dusting or polishing or whatever throughout the day. Like almost everywhere in the city, the Opal is very GREEN conscious, a big plus in my book. Breakfast was not elaberant but sufficient for four of the five days we were there. The breakfast room was also neat because of all the foreign people who were also guest. This imparted a feeling of being in an exotic local which made our vacation even more interesting. If and when I'm able to return to San Francisco I'll not hesitate to book my stay at the Opal. Oh, one more thing. It's location is on a major artery which makes getting around the city and back fairly easy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
David your travel planner
Business
Texas
Jun 3, 2013

Grand old hotel

Hotel was excellent with many places to eat within walking distance. Movie theater next door & Accademy of Art car collection a block away. Free bread and bagel breakfast or Mel's drive in cafe attached. Only ad thing was the AC kept cutting off.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to Mels

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Marathoner from LA
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Jun 19, 2013

Short Stay

I took a trip up to San Francisco to do the marathon. I procrastinated booking a hotel and most hotels were filled up for that weekend. Whatever rooms that was left were way over my budget. The Opal was the only moderately priced answer. What I liked: Checking in and out was a breeze. The staff was extremely helpful and friendly. The free breakfast was great. Even though the selection of food items were small (bagels, toast, muffins, hard boiled eggs, juice, tea, coffee, yogurts.) To me its just what you needed to get the day started to go get real food out in the city. The room were clean albeit small. I guess the room was comfy. I'm use to camping outdoors so my comfort level of any room with a bed is skewed. The hotel is within walking distance to a lot of the sites and sounds that SF has to offer. Parking is located in a gated courtyard within the hotel. It was priced competitively enough with AAA discount that it's worth just leaving the car there for peace of mind. The only thing I really didn't like: The location of the hotel is close to an iffier part of town. There were no homeless pan handling right outside the door but if you walk down the block on O'Farrell you hit some of the sketchier parts of town, especially at night. If you know what you're doing it shouldn't be too bad. Overall the hotel is not bad.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
cobra9254
Business
Indianapolis, Indiana
Jul 3, 2013

Great value, great accommodations

My first visit to San Francisco was very pleasant. I was really surprised that the hotel was as nice as it was for the price I paid. Ended up with 2 queen beds and a sofa bed. The staff was helpful. The parking garage was close by at $24 a day. Continental breakfast was good. Walking distance to drug store, fast food, public transportation. If I go back to San Francisco I will stay again at the Opal.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Take one or more guided tours. I took the deluxe tour of Muir Woods, Golden Gate, etc. If I had more time I would have done Alcatraz.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Viki Anderson
Business
Omaha, Ne
Jul 13, 2013

Very comfortable

If you are looking for luxury, don't come. But if you are looking for a clean, comfortable room with a great helpful staff that is centrally located for excellent Muni transportation...THIS IS YOUR PLACE. I will come back here next time. I loved the old hotel charm. I loved that the staff was so incredibly helpful and sincerely nice. The continental breakfast was good. The connected Mel's Diner was a great for quick meals when you did not want to travel to a restaurant. And Tommy's Joynt is right across the street (bring cash only) well worth it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Get a CityPass! Get on any Muni Bus, Trolly, Cable Car, Underground. Ride as many times as you want. They are good for 10 days. I talked with a guy who rented a car and after 2 days turned it back in because the Muni system was way faster and cheaper (no gas or parking fees). And they include tickets to attractions you will want to use (bay cruise, museums, aquariums etc.)

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
absolutislove
Business
Singapore
Jul 17, 2013

Clean rooms for cheap!

Rooms were clean and the size was adequate for the four of us. Breakfast was also good. A direct bus ride to the AT&T Park for all you Baseball fans out there!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top