$129 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jul 1, 2015 Check-out: Jul 2, 2015

The Opal San Francisco

3 stars
View map of 1050 Van Ness Avenue, San Francisco, CA 94109

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Opal San Francisco

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
718 out of 718
Amenities:
3.3
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
3.7
Value:
3.8

81% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
boston ma
Jul 13, 2011

the opal

It was pretty average stay . The bed was a lil hard and the staff wernt that friendly .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

It's down stairs in the lobby . Mels drive in open 24 hrs.

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
coral springs, florida
Jul 10, 2011

great staff, but terrible area

The hotel staff was very helpful, but the room was shabby and the neighborhood felt unsafe. We were approached twice by drunk men, and at breakfast one morning there were two obviously homeless people eating, in spite of the fact that the door is kept locked and a hotel key is needed to enter. This was our second stay in two weeks {we were in Reno in between} and our room the first time had badly stained carpet and no counter in the bathroom. Between the shabbiness and the neighborhood, I would not recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Jul 10, 2011

Alright value for it's price

This hotel is okay for it's age, you can tell that the building it old, so don't expect nice smell or shiny furniture. But the location is great, customer service was also great. The bathroom is renovated and clean which is a plus. This is a downtown location so parking is a pain. They offer hotel parking for a couple of tens of dollars a day :( For the most part this hotel provides very decent value for the cost.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Angeles, Ca
Jul 10, 2011

The Opal

The room is avarage however is very clean. it has everything you need. What I love about it is the location! Great Location everything you need is right out the door! its also near all the must see's in San Francisco! would Def stay tehre again! best room for the Price!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
orlando,fl
Jul 9, 2011

nostalgic place

i like the homey appearance. The place is clean and the staffs are friendly

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

The place is accessible to all attractions During july 4th celebration by the bay the buses were scarce but we were able to walk back to the hotel.

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
GaGaRoo
Business
Tempe, AZ.
Jul 6, 2011

The Opal Hotel

The staff was friendly efficient & courteous. The room (#207) was satisfactory. The bathroom & bed were clean. Could use new/clean carpet and, the bed & desk should be switched to make use of the room the most convenient/efficient. Also, it would have been nice to have a small, cheap microwave & refrigerator near the wall next to the door. But, the secure parking was most appreciated. And, Mel's Diner (adjoining the lobby) was GOOD & VERY convenient !

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

I enjoyed breakfast, lunch & dinner at Mel's Diner. Something for everyone on the menu. I recommend the chicken pot-pie ;-)

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
new york
Jul 6, 2011

Good hotel for a short stay

Its pretty close to union square - 10mins walk. Bus stops right across from the hotel to get anywhere. The hotel by itself is well maintained. Had eggs and cinnamon bread for breakfast (630-930). Staff is helpful and good value for money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jaeun87
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Jul 5, 2011

Average hotel. pricey because of holiday

The hotel check-in was a breeze, the people at the front desk were all very nice and did their jobs right. They gave us our room, no problems during our stay. However, you do get what you pay for. You can't expect a luxury hotel in SF during holiday season for cheap. The hotel itself is a old, and you can tell by the interior and the rooms. But all in all, it was clean, no bugs, no dust, no noise, free breakfast, so I'd say it was a decent place and value for what we paid.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

I don't know why people complained so much about Mel's diner and the food around it. It's pretty decent food, can't expect $$$$ quality food, when you pay $7 for a burger people. Also, Tommy's across the street has killer pastrami sandwiches, opens until late.

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Sacramento, CA
Jul 4, 2011

Great deal

Arrived early and room was ready so they checked us in. Staff very friendly and accommodating. Were using public transportation and it was very convenient from the hotel. Room itself was very clean and comfortable. Had a door slammer across the hall, but was otherwise reasonably quiet.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Mel's Drive In right next door. Within a mile are some upscale dining options such as Ruth's Chris and Harris Steakhouse.

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
indianapolis indiana
Jul 4, 2011

good location and good hotel

It was in a great location in town and very freindly personal. Loved the wine and cheese party with intertainment. Rooms were clean and nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top