$129 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Apr 5, 2015 Check-out: Apr 6, 2015

The Opal San Francisco

3 stars
View map of 1050 Van Ness Avenue, San Francisco, CA 94109

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Opal San Francisco

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
656 out of 656
Amenities:
3.3
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
3.7
Value:
3.8

81% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Single 27 year old
Business
Santa Barbara, California
Jul 3, 2012

Best hotel for the price

I paid about $105/night. Location is excellent - 15 minute walk to Union Square with no hills in between. Trolley on California street is a just a couple of blicks away. Polk street right next to the hotel is packed with nightlife - about 10+ bars, from dance clubs, to dive bars and everything in between. We randomly walked into a hole in the wall bar because it had no line, and we were pleasantly surprised to find a concert in a hidden back room. Exactly what you expect San Francisco to be. And the hotel is nice, for the price. Very comfortable. Will definitely try to stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Polk Street

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dookey21
Business
San Diego CA
Jun 26, 2012

Good stay

only one night there but was a good location and clean with nice/helpfull staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
H20Color
Business
Sacramento
Jul 7, 2012

Opal Hotel

Nice and secure facility. Great room, decent bed, clean. Parking onsite and secured, easy to come and go yourself with automatic parking gate opener-a big plus. In an OK area. Closer to the Orpheum and Civic center than Union Square hotels. Good restaurants nearby. Street people abound as in the Union Square area. Generally safe as many places have security personal out front.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Booted Cowboy
Business
Baltimore, Maryland
Jun 30, 2012

Biz in San Fran

Hotel was clean and very roomy, not cramped. Larg bath as well, but who decided to put the paper on the opposite wall from the john? LOL Talk about a stretch! Service was great. Loved the free breakfast and the continuous coffee and tea service and used it frequently. This was a very nice place to stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Hotel is near "Little Saigon." Some great local Thai restaurants. Cash only but I had a great meal of a beef noodle bown and fresh spring rolls at one of them for less than $12!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Drangel
Business
London UK
Jul 17, 2012

Perfect for needs

Was attending a conference. 20 min walk from Conference centre, free and stable wifi. Rooms were clean and comfortable. The hotel is on the edge of the tenderloin so ask hotel staff for best ways to walk or catch cabs. Would use again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Great cinema next door

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Big Mike 05
Business
Houston, Texas
Jul 31, 2012

Great Location for a great price

This hotel is located right on the bus line so if you are going to take public transportation, this hotel is in the perfect location. The only negative was the continental breakfast. They have a FREE breakfast but it only includes toast, muffins, fruit and yogurt. It would have been nice if they had a waffle maker or scrambled eggs. Overall I would definitely recommend this hotel for its location and price. The rooms are not the nicest but for the price you pay of around $120/night for a queen size bed can not be beaten.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
mgsekar
Business
nashville
Jun 20, 2012

Nice stay

enjoyed the stay. Hotel is in a convenient location to attend the conference. Will recommend to the other people.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Papa Mac
Business
Fairfax, VA
Jun 12, 2012

Price was right

This is a fine old hotel, centrally located with convenient parking. Ask ahead about the cost for parking. It was pretty expensive, but I guess for central city that's to be expected. Transfer of luggage between the lower garage and the room was awkward and confusing, but the staff was ready to assist. Staff at the front desk was very knowledgable and assisted me with shopping, dining choices nearby. Stayed for a family reunion in the area on my way from SFO to a longer visit in Sacramento. I'd certainly stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Matt from Seattle
Business
Seattle, WA
Jun 18, 2012

Good Deal in San Francisco

I enjoyed my stay at The Opal. The rooms were simply furnished but large and clean, it was relatively quiet, and the staff was nice and helpful. The included continental breakfast wasn't the best I have seen, but for this price, it was great: Two different kinds of bread, muffins, hard-boiled eggs, coffee, juice, yogurt. I'd definitely stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
catof9tails27
Business
Las Vegas, NV
Aug 6, 2012

Will stay again

the hotel was close to what we needed and they have a resturant attached which is Mels Drive-in, love this place!!. Thr room was good the people were really nice, i would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

next to hotel

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top