$109 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 30, 2014 Check-out: Sep 1, 2014

The Opal San Francisco

3 stars
1050 Van Ness Avenue, San Francisco, CA 94109
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
600 reviews
Good price for location

Friendly and helpful staff. Large comfortable room. See full review

  • MarianaMC
  • Apr 27, 2014
The Opal Stay

We found The Opal very helpful and welcoming to all our request. Staff was very efficient and... See full review

  • Jan Combs
  • Apr 12, 2014
Historic hotel and spacious suites -- walking distance to Union Square

Dating back to 1908, this five-story Union Square hotel still boasts the stained glass windows, period antiques and other decorative touches that hearken back to a simpler time. Rooms are clean and efficient; spacious work desks are popular among business travelers. Other amenities include a complimentary on-site fitness center and 24-hour coffee and tea service, as well as a complimentary breakfast buffet.

Highlights
  • Walking distance to shopping in Union Square
  • Historic architecture, decorative touches
  • 24-hour coffee and tea service
  • Complimentary breakfast buffet
Rooms

Each of The Opal's 164 guest rooms features central air and heat, cable television and complimentary high-speed Internet. (There's also free Wi-Fi in the hotel lobby.) Suites include small sitting areas with plush sofas. A handful of rooms have windows that look out onto the bustling Union

Features
The hotel has received a three-diamond rating from AAA and was selected as the Crescent Hotel and Resorts "Hotel of the Year" in 2008. A baby grand piano welcomes visitors to the lobby of The Opal -- a public area decorated to invoke the way it looked when the hotel debuted in 1908.

Elsewhere on the property is a 24-hour laundry facility (fees apply) and car rental desk (fees apply; rentals also can be facilitated by the concierge). Overnight parking is also available (fees apply).

All guests have complimentary access to a state-of-the-art on-site fitness center. Guests also are entitled to a complimentary breakfast buffet every morning.

After a long day exploring the city, grab a milkshake and a tuna melt at the on-site outpost of Mel's Drive-In, a 1950s-style diner that has become a San Francisco institution. The restaurant is open 24 hours on weekends.
Transportation
  • San Francisco International Airport (45 minutes)
  • Oakland International Airport (40 minutes)
  • MUNI bus (5 minutes walking)
  • Cable car stops (15 minutes walking)
  • BART (18 minutes walking)
Attractions
  • Union Square
  • Theater District
  • Embarcadero
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art
  • AT&T Park
Policies and fees

Debit cards are not acceptable at check-in. Overnight Parking is available (FEES APPLY).

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

37.7855 -122.4209
Nearby airports
San Francisco International Airport, (SFO), 25.00, MI, W; Oakland International Airport, (OAK), 22.10, MI, NW;
Area description
City Center

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Opal San Francisco also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

The Opal San Francisco Rooms

Superior Junior Suite
Superior Jr Suite-Free Continential Breakfast Free Internet
Executive Suite
King bed w-Living room Free Cont Brkfst-Wireless Internet Access
KING JUNIOR SUITE
ONE KING BED - SITTING AREA FREE CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST BUFFET FREE WIRELESS INTERNET ACCESS
Deluxe King
Deluxe King - Free Continential Breakfast Free Internet access
Deluxe Double Double
Deluxe Double Room Free Continential Breakfast Buffet
Deluxe Queen
Deluxe Queen-Free Continential Breakfast Free Internet access

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
General
Air conditioned
Free local telephone calls
Elevators
Dining
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
Coffee shop
Meal plan - continental
Family plan
Services
24 hour front desk
Maid service
Guest laundromat
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
Security
In-Room Safe
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Room
Temperature control
Electronic door locks
International direct dial
Sprinklers in rooms

Nearby points of interest

  • Civic Centre: 0.2 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.2 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.4 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 0.5 mi
  • Japantown: 0.5 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 0.5 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 0.5 mi
  • Japan Center: 0.5 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 0.6 mi
  • Nob Hill: 0.6 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 0.6 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.6 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.7 mi
  • Union Square: 0.8 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.2 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.2 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.4 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 0.5 mi
  • Japantown: 0.5 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 0.5 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 0.5 mi
  • Japan Center: 0.5 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 0.6 mi
  • Nob Hill: 0.6 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 0.6 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.6 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.7 mi
  • Union Square: 0.8 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.8 mi
  • SoMa: 0.8 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.9 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.9 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 1 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 1 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 1.1 mi
  • Moscone Center: 1.1 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 1.1 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 1.1 mi
  • Chinatown: 1.1 mi
  • Lombard Street: 1.1 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 1.2 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 1.2 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 1.4 mi
  • Coit Tower: 1.4 mi
  • Walter Adams Gallery: 1.4 mi
  • Mission Dolores: 1.5 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 1.5 mi
  • Mission Delores: 1.6 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 1.6 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 1.6 mi
  • Ferry Building: 1.6 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 1.7 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 1.7 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 1.7 mi
  • Underwater World: 1.7 mi
  • ATT Park: 1.7 mi
  • Haight Ashbury: 1.7 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 1.7 mi
  • Pier 39: 1.7 mi

Dining

Mels Drive In Diner
Classic American Food - 1950 Diner

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (600)

Ratings and reviews for The Opal San Francisco

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
600 out of 600
Amenities:
3.3
Room cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3.6
Location:
3.7
Value:
3.8

81% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
LA CA
Los Angeles
Dec 21, 2012

good choice for staying economically

very classic and clean. Also, very convenient location to travel around by buses.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
the babusos in Europe
Arcata,CA
Jan 18, 2011

All you need to sleep and go

I went on a 6 day SFO vacation, the hotel room had an average size, it was clean, the rooms are heated and the carpet was fairly clean, the staff is friendly, the breakfast is only bread, like bagels and cream cheese but it gets you started, and they always have fresh coffee at the lobby. The only downside is that the hotel is about 10 blocks from union square and there are too may homeless people near, so it made it a little bit uncomfortable to go out alone at night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Dining tip: In Hotel

Attached to the hotel there is a Mels restaurant with a steak and eggs all day serve breakfast for 6.99.

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Akascarlett
Templeton, CA
Jan 17, 2011

Pleasantly Suprised

I was in the bay area for my Uncle's funeral. It was an emotionally draining day and I was exhausted. I worried that I'd be in a rough neighborhood and that I'd fight for parking. Neither happened. The neighborhood was fine and I found parking easily. The lobby was pretty and inviting and checking in was a breeze. The Opal was ready for me. I had brought a nice bottle of wine with me and I was able to borrow a bottle opener for my stay. My room was small and modest, but it was very clean and the bed was comfortable. My room was really quiet too. The first thing I did was open that bottle of wine and take a hot bath. Later that night I took a cab the 2 miles to SOMA to my favorite place called Heaven's Dog. It's on Mission. I highly recommend it. The braised pork belly in clam buns is outrageously delicious. The bartenders are true mixologists. Have them custom make a drink for you. Back to the hotel, it's location was awesome. The next day at check out I was able to store my luggage. I walked to the SFMOMA for a wine exhibit and stopped in China town for Dim Sum. It was very convenient. All of that was within 2 miles one way. Usually I stay with a friend who lives in San Francisco. If I am in need of a hotel again I will go back to The Opal. It's no frills place and I was happy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
san diego,c a
Jan 14, 2011

ok for the price

The room was a little small, has the weirdest odor in the room and hallway. The stairs make so much noise. The front desk people were really nice and helpful. They also have a breakfast buffet which includes; boiled eggs, oranges, apples, orange juice, apple juice, coffee, bagels, and toast. The shower is horrible, it could not stay the right temperature and the shower head was spraying everywhere. Overall, it was ok for the price but bad location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Harris was amazing, we took the muni that was right next to our hotel all way down and it was right there.

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
GB Packer fan
Business
Madison, WI
Jan 13, 2011

Dated, but fine.

My stay at the Opal was fine. The cost was very reasonable and the hotel is in a great location. That said, the room I had was very small, the TV did not work, and the decor of the room and the rest of the hotel is dated. That said, internet and a good contential breakfast are included in the price, so overall I would consider the value to be exceptional!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Sonoma County, CA
Jan 13, 2011

High Class at affordable rates

Wonderful Customer Service in a very nice and comfortable hotel with rates I could not believe were affordable. They love pets so if you do too, this is your place!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Haight Ashbury

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Cincinnati, OH
Jan 13, 2011

Pleasantly Surprised

I had read the other reviews, so it was not without some hesitation that I booked a room at the Opal. We stayed for 5 nights and I will say that it was a very pleasant experience. The bathroom and bed were clean and the room was a good size and came with free LAN internet (wifi is available in the lobby). Our shower had the regular, non-water saving shower-heads, which I prefer. Contrary to earlier reviews there was an iron in the room, and I found the staff to be friendly and helpful, although I only really spoke with them at check-in for sightseeing tips. In general the hotel reminded me of staying at a friend's house, comfortable and clean but not immaculate. So if you need all the wallpaper seams perfect, don't stay here. If you want a centrally located hotel (roughly equidistant to the Mission, Fisherman's wharf and Golden gate park) at a good price, this is it. It's about a 15 min walk from the nearest BART station. I will conclude by saying I have stayed at several highly rated hotels in San Francisco (the W twice and the Renaissance) and in terms of the comfort/cost ratio, I will stay at the Opal in the future.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Japantown has some good restaurants and is close by. But don't eat at Seoul Garden, the worst Korean food I've ever had

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
zunyu
Claremont, CA
Jan 10, 2011

good for the budget

the condition in Opal hotel can just satisfy your needs. but the restroom has no van, and you need to open window slightly. but for the hotel's location is safe and convient,(has a bus station nearby).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MANDY LOVE <3
LOS ANGELES, CA
Jan 4, 2011

Great for the Price!!!

THE FIRST THING THAT ATTRACTED MY BOYFRIEND AND I TO THE OPAL WAS THE GREAT AND REASONABLE PRICE. THIS WAS NOT OUR FIRST TIME IN S.F. WE HAD STOOD IN HIGHER PRICED HOTEL ON OUR PREVIOUS VISIT AND WE WERE NOT COMPLETELY SATISFIED. SO THIS TIME OUR STAY TOOK PLACE DURING THE NEW YEAR HOLIDAY WEEKEND AND WE WANTED TO LOOK FOR SOMETHING MORE AFFORDABLE. THE OPAL WAS THE RIGHT PRICE AND THE REVIEWS HELP SUPPORT OUR DECISION. DESPITE THE NEIGHBORHOOD BEING A LITTLE SKETCHY EVERYTHING WAS WONDERFUL. THE HOTEL LOCATION IS NOT THE BEST, BUT WE DID NOT HAVE ONE COMPLAINT. THE HOTEL LOBBY HAS A CLASSIC FEEL THAT MAKES YOU FEEL COMFORTABLE. THE ROOM WAS DECENT SIZE AND VERY CLEAN. THE RESTROOM WAS HUGE BUT A LITTLE PLAIN. THE HOTEL OFFERED FREE CABLE TV AND INTERNET. ALSO, THE OPAL HAS FREE CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST EVERYDAY OF THE WEEK.BREAKFAST INCLUDED:TOAST, BAGELS, HARD BOILED EGGS, FRUIT, COFFEE, TEA, AND JUICE (IT'S ENOUGH TO HOLD YOU OVER UNTIL LUNCH.) OVERALL OUR STAY WAS GREAT AND WE WILL DEFINETLY BE STAYING HERE AGAIN!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
black barbie
Washington, DC
Jan 4, 2011

Best deal ever

Nice room, amazing price, and awesome location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
yelinannan
Davis, CA
Dec 31, 2010

It's OK for the price and location

wait too long for check in, room is good, bathroom is large.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

there is a bus stop beside the building

Back to menu Return to top

Change search