$169 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 19, 2014 Check-out: Aug 20, 2014

The Opal San Francisco

3 stars
1050 Van Ness Avenue, San Francisco, CA 94109
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
885 reviews
Good price for location

Friendly and helpful staff. Large comfortable room. See full review

  • MarianaMC
  • Apr 27, 2014
The Opal Stay

We found The Opal very helpful and welcoming to all our request. Staff was very efficient and... See full review

  • Jan Combs
  • Apr 12, 2014
Historic hotel and spacious suites -- walking distance to Union Square

Dating back to 1908, this five-story Union Square hotel still boasts the stained glass windows, period antiques and other decorative touches that hearken back to a simpler time. Rooms are clean and efficient; spacious work desks are popular among business travelers. Other amenities include a complimentary on-site fitness center and 24-hour coffee and tea service, as well as a complimentary breakfast buffet.

Highlights
  • Walking distance to shopping in Union Square
  • Historic architecture, decorative touches
  • 24-hour coffee and tea service
  • Complimentary breakfast buffet
Rooms

Each of The Opal's 164 guest rooms features central air and heat, cable television and complimentary high-speed Internet. (There's also free Wi-Fi in the hotel lobby.) Suites include small sitting areas with plush sofas. A handful of rooms have windows that look out onto the bustling Union

Features
The hotel has received a three-diamond rating from AAA and was selected as the Crescent Hotel and Resorts "Hotel of the Year" in 2008. A baby grand piano welcomes visitors to the lobby of The Opal -- a public area decorated to invoke the way it looked when the hotel debuted in 1908.

Elsewhere on the property is a 24-hour laundry facility (fees apply) and car rental desk (fees apply; rentals also can be facilitated by the concierge). Overnight parking is also available (fees apply).

All guests have complimentary access to a state-of-the-art on-site fitness center. Guests also are entitled to a complimentary breakfast buffet every morning.

After a long day exploring the city, grab a milkshake and a tuna melt at the on-site outpost of Mel's Drive-In, a 1950s-style diner that has become a San Francisco institution. The restaurant is open 24 hours on weekends.
Transportation
  • San Francisco International Airport (45 minutes)
  • Oakland International Airport (40 minutes)
  • MUNI bus (5 minutes walking)
  • Cable car stops (15 minutes walking)
  • BART (18 minutes walking)
Attractions
  • Union Square
  • Theater District
  • Embarcadero
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art
  • AT&T Park
Policies and fees

Debit cards are not acceptable at check-in. Overnight Parking is available (FEES APPLY).

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

37.7855 -122.4209
Nearby airports
San Francisco International Airport, (SFO), 25.00, MI, W; Oakland International Airport, (OAK), 22.10, MI, NW;
Area description
City Center

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Opal San Francisco also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

The Opal San Francisco Rooms

Superior Junior Suite
Superior Jr Suite-Free Continential Breakfast Free Internet
Executive Suite
King bed w-Living room Free Cont Brkfst-Wireless Internet Access
KING JUNIOR SUITE
ONE KING BED - SITTING AREA FREE CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST BUFFET FREE WIRELESS INTERNET ACCESS
Deluxe King
Deluxe King - Free Continential Breakfast Free Internet access
Deluxe Double Double
Deluxe Double Room Free Continential Breakfast Buffet
Deluxe Queen
Deluxe Queen-Free Continential Breakfast Free Internet access

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
General
Air conditioned
Free local telephone calls
Elevators
Dining
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
Coffee shop
Meal plan - continental
Family plan
Services
24 hour front desk
Maid service
Guest laundromat
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
Security
In-Room Safe
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Room
Temperature control
Electronic door locks
International direct dial
Sprinklers in rooms

Nearby points of interest

  • Civic Centre: 0.2 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.2 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.4 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 0.5 mi
  • Japantown: 0.5 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 0.5 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 0.5 mi
  • Japan Center: 0.5 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 0.6 mi
  • Nob Hill: 0.6 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 0.6 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.6 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.7 mi
  • Union Square: 0.8 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.2 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.2 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.4 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 0.5 mi
  • Japantown: 0.5 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 0.5 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 0.5 mi
  • Japan Center: 0.5 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 0.6 mi
  • Nob Hill: 0.6 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 0.6 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.6 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.7 mi
  • Union Square: 0.8 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.8 mi
  • SoMa: 0.8 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.9 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.9 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 1 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 1 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 1.1 mi
  • Moscone Center: 1.1 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 1.1 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 1.1 mi
  • Chinatown: 1.1 mi
  • Lombard Street: 1.1 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 1.2 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 1.2 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 1.4 mi
  • Coit Tower: 1.4 mi
  • Walter Adams Gallery: 1.4 mi
  • Mission Dolores: 1.5 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 1.5 mi
  • Mission Delores: 1.6 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 1.6 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 1.6 mi
  • Ferry Building: 1.6 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 1.7 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 1.7 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 1.7 mi
  • Underwater World: 1.7 mi
  • ATT Park: 1.7 mi
  • Haight Ashbury: 1.7 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 1.7 mi
  • Pier 39: 1.7 mi

Dining

Mels Drive In Diner
Classic American Food - 1950 Diner

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (885)

Ratings and reviews for The Opal San Francisco

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
885 out of 885
Amenities:
3.3
Room cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3.7
Location:
3.7
Value:
3.9

82% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jenna tell ya
San Francisco, California
Jun 16, 2011

Great location

This location was great for walking to SoMa, little Italy, chinatown. The hotel had technical difficulties, we called to alert them amd when it couldnt be quickly remedied we were generously compensated. Highly recommended.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jenna tell ya
San Francisco, California
Jun 16, 2011

Great location

This location was great for walking to SoMa, little Italy, chinatown. The hotel had technical difficulties, we called to alert them amd when it couldnt be quickly remedied we were generously compensated. Highly recommended.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Peach & Honey
Thailand
Jun 12, 2011

Walk in may be better than reservation

Untrained staffs didn't trusted guests who made a reservation via [...] although we showed the printed confirmation so we had to hang around waiting for the Manager more than one hour in addition to be asked to deposit $50 in cash after checking in. Outside the Opal look common contrary to luxurious lobby and room. Only bread provided for free breakfast with coffee, tea, chocolate & fruits juice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Marilee the gourmet
Grass Valley, CA
Jun 10, 2011

Don't park on the street

Very busy hotel/mini UN. Guests were from all over the globe. Pleasant decor from another age. Room was small but very clean and pleasant (upgrade available for + $20). Bathroom probably wouldn't accommodate an obese guest. One small cramped mirror in bathroom. One small sliver of soap for shower and sink. Bed was good. Great central location for everything a tourist might want take in. Car was vandalized while we ate dinner; window smashed, but nothing missing from inside the car. Hotel has secure parking available, but $27/night. Some delay in check-in as heavy concierge advice took staff time. I would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Tommy's Joint is the real deal. In same location for almost 100 years. Hof Brau food, quick, good. Lots of unique atmosphere. It's just across the street from The Opal Hotel. House of Prime Rib is "old SF", excellent food, not cheap, needs reservations.

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Marilee the gourmet
Grass Valley, CA
Jun 10, 2011

Don't park on the street

Very busy hotel/mini UN. Guests were from all over the globe. Pleasant decor from another age. Room was small but very clean and pleasant (upgrade available for + $20). Bathroom probably wouldn't accommodate an obese guest. One small cramped mirror in bathroom. One small sliver of soap for shower and sink. Bed was good. Great central location for everything a tourist might want take in. Car was vandalized while we ate dinner; window smashed, but nothing missing from inside the car. Hotel has secure parking available, but $27/night. Some delay in check-in as heavy concierge advice took staff time. I would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Tommy's Joint is the real deal. In same location for almost 100 years. Hof Brau food, quick, good. Lots of unique atmosphere. It's just across the street from The Opal Hotel. House of Prime Rib is "old SF", excellent food, not cheap, needs reservations.

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Raleigh, NC
Jun 8, 2011

Good time at the Opal

Our stay started off on a bad note, we received a room with a handicapped shower that had a very old hand-held showerhead. The metal hose was worn out looking and sprayed water all over the bathroom when we tried to use it. We called the front desk and requested repair, which had not been done by time we returned to our room the next day. We were worn out from a day of touristing, but their maintenance staff had gone home so they moved us to a different room. The new room was MUCH nicer in just about every way. There was a little traffic noise with two windows overlooking busy streets, but the windows were double-pane and we were able to ignore it. We enjoyed the rest of our 4-day stay. Regarding the breakfast: It's pretty basic, just breads, yogurt, boiled eggs, fruit, and pastries. Higher quality than usual though. There's annoying TVs in the dining area, but they kept the volume level low enough that we could converse.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Time-saving tip: Long walk from hotel

Don't bother driving. Go up the street to the gift shop at the Omni and buy a Muni 3 or 7-day pass. Everything you need to get to is easy to reach by bus or cable car. Watch out for the crowds on weekends though! I wish we had public transportation half this good in NC.

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Honolulu
Jun 8, 2011

More than wonderful.

clean, friendly, prfessional.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Honolulu
Jun 8, 2011

More than wonderful.

clean, friendly, prfessional.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Raleigh, NC
Jun 8, 2011

Good time at the Opal

Our stay started off on a bad note, we received a room with a handicapped shower that had a very old hand-held showerhead. The metal hose was worn out looking and sprayed water all over the bathroom when we tried to use it. We called the front desk and requested repair, which had not been done by time we returned to our room the next day. We were worn out from a day of touristing, but their maintenance staff had gone home so they moved us to a different room. The new room was MUCH nicer in just about every way. There was a little traffic noise with two windows overlooking busy streets, but the windows were double-pane and we were able to ignore it. We enjoyed the rest of our 4-day stay. Regarding the breakfast: It's pretty basic, just breads, yogurt, boiled eggs, fruit, and pastries. Higher quality than usual though. There's annoying TVs in the dining area, but they kept the volume level low enough that we could converse.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Time-saving tip: Long walk from hotel

Don't bother driving. Go up the street to the gift shop at the Omni and buy a Muni 3 or 7-day pass. Everything you need to get to is easy to reach by bus or cable car. Watch out for the crowds on weekends though! I wish we had public transportation half this good in NC.

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jbird05
Sacramento, CA
Jun 6, 2011

The Opal

Was in SF for a friend's bday. Opal seemed central to the downtown area so taking a taxi would be cheaper. Nice hotel. Had trouble finding the actual hotel and parking structure.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top