$129 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Apr 5, 2015 Check-out: Apr 6, 2015

The Opal San Francisco

3 stars
View map of 1050 Van Ness Avenue, San Francisco, CA 94109

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Opal San Francisco

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
656 out of 656
Amenities:
3.3
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
3.7
Value:
3.8

81% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
LA CA
Los Angeles
Dec 21, 2012

good choice for staying economically

very classic and clean. Also, very convenient location to travel around by buses.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
CarTraveler
Business
Houston TX
May 4, 2011

never again

This was a one star hotel and I wonder how is it categorized as a three star one! It took more than half an hour to check in, as their internet connection was faulty and the receptionist couldn't look up my reservation info, nor could run my credit card. Almost everywhere, including inside rooms, the carpet was stained. The bathroom sink was very old and partly broken. They did not change bedsheets in four nights of our stay. We asked them twice to do so, and again in the evening we would return to our room and find that the bed is made without changing the bedsheets. We had to ask everyday to get some shampoo! And don't get me started on "continental breakfast"! Beside the fact that they offered nothing more than cheap bagel and bread, they stopped serving breakfast at 9:30. The only nice thing was the historic building! But overall, I think no one should go there expecting anything more than a cheap one star hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Jul 5, 2008

Dirty Rooms

Front desk was not very friendly. Did not offer or asked if we wanted a second room key. The room was very dark. The carpet was old and very dirty. The sheets and blankets had mendings done once too many. They should have been replaced. After the first night, my 3 yr old son's pillow was missing. We had it placed in our bags to ensure it would not be misplaced. It was gone that evening. We had called front desk to inquire if they had found a child's pillow and neither housekeeping nor front desk was helpful. We had explained it to the manager that it was placed in our bags and it had disappeared. The pillows were hand made for my little ones and one was missing from our bags. They did nothing about it. It was nice to have the continental breakfast. Dining area was too small to accommodate all the guests (both inside and outside near front desk). We came home with hives from dirty bed sheets and blankets.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Japantown is 5 blocks away. Good walk. Chinatown is easy access to by bus or 14 blocks by foot. Short cab ride to the Pier and Wharf. Mel's dinner is next door and has entrance access in hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Honolulu, Hawaii
Jun 18, 2011

The bad and the ugly

We went to San Francisco to attend my cousin's graduation.We stayed in the The Opal hotel its so frustating when we got to the room because the room is so small the carpet is so dirty. The toilet is not even functioning, so I called the front desk if we can move us to a bigger room, so they did moved us to a different room which is a bigger room I guess, on our second day I can't really stand the carpet is so dirty I called [...]if we can checkout earlier because we are not happy with the hotel, they called the hotel if it's possible for us to checkout earlier. Unfortunately, we cannot because of the hotel policy, they cannot refund us our money. So they advised me to go the front desk and talk to the manager instead if we can checkout earlier. I called the front desk many times to ask for the manager, the manager's office always on a voice mail so I left messages for him to call me back regarding our situation in the hotel. The manager did not call me at all. I'm so frustated. So I will not recommend this hotel to any of my relatives and friends. This hotel is so disgusting. We always travel but this is the worse dirtiest hotel ever.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Draper, UT
Apr 28, 2010

Opal

When we arrived at the hotel the front desk informed us that there is a $50 deposit per night, up to $200. This is not mentioned on [...] or the Opal's website. The staff was completely unwilling to take anything but credit for the deposit and was also unwilling to hold my card number for two hours while we made arrangements to move money around. There was also a $25 +tax charge per night for parking. The front desk staff was snooty and rude to us our entire stay. Stay away from this hotel. After all the charges we could have stayed somewhere nicer and had a much better time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Buy a city pass, it's about $60 for adults and around $35 for kids. It gets you into about 6 attractions including the aquarium and the science museum plus lets you ride any muni bus or trolly for 9 days for free. We didn't have to drive our car at all. The public trans runs for about 18 hours every day and can take you anywhere in San Francisco.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Ann Arbor, MI
Jan 18, 2010

By Antiques they just mean old.

There were quite a few homeless people in the area. Very sad. I did not feel safe. The fitness room is small but the machines were fine. That and the breakfast were pleasant surprises. I do not think I would stay there again but it was inexpensive. Everything was old and run down in the room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Cross the street to go to the best little bar/deli style resturaunt I have ever been to. Can not remember the name but there was a good crowd and everyone only had great things to say about it. Food was awesome.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Opal Hater
Business
Oakhurst Ca
Jan 12, 2010

***Beware Additional Parking Costs****

Arrived at 9 pm and tried to check in...Hotel Clerk was nice but informed me that I needed to pay another 50 dollar deposit and would only accept a credit card, only brought cash so had to go to the nearest WF ATM to deposit money into account. Finally got checked in around 11 pm. Hotel clerk asked if I would like parking and indicated that it would be another 25 DOLLARS PER NIGHT. I asked where else we could park and she indicated on the street (which is not safe and has many homeless people sleeping on the sidewalk). So I paid the 25 bucks and brought my full size truck around the block to the parking garage, upper parking lot was full so I tried the lower parking lot...which only had a 6 foot clearance...so I called the clerk again and she indicated that I should park in the only spot availble a HC parking spot at the top parking lot...luckily I had the assistance of a local bum to guide to the right location (he was more help than the hotel clerk). Finally got to room and found the elevator would go up but would not go down to the garage. 2 bed room was small with no view... got bit by something during the night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Charlotte, North Carolina
Apr 28, 2011

Not the best experience

We enjoyed the sightseeing and the food during our recent trip to San Francisco. The hotel was by far the worst part of the trip. The workout room was in terrible shape(it was small and cramp, TV needed to be replaced and the weight eqiupment) needed to be updated bad! The rooms were very small, the bathroom fan was exteremly noisy, and the A/C for the most part fell short. I would not recommend to family to stay out there. Sad part was.. hotel was surrouned by homeless people...not a good neighborhood.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Unhappy Kris
Business
Central Valley, Ca
Aug 28, 2010

Cheap and it Shows

My boyfriend and I went to the city for the day and last minute decided to stay the night. The opal seemed cheap and convienant, never again will I go for cheap. This hotel was disgusting, we didn't even end up staying the night, we counted our losess and check out early and drove home in the middle of the night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
NYC
Aug 3, 2009

Terrible

We had to ask twice before housekeeping emptied our trash baskets. I had to ask twice for a new ethernet cable because the one in the room was frayed. Front desk waS very rude. Told me to call the AT&T helpdesk. The desk chair in our room did not slide in under the desk, so we kept bumping into it to get to the bathroom. Terrible setup. Terrible overall.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Tommy's Joynt accross the street had the best brisket we ever had! Delicious

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Run to a nice hotel
Business
San Francisco, CA
Jul 25, 2009

Not a good stay

I was expecting a four star hotel and this one is maybe a two. It's old with a room that did not provide a view. Everything in the room was old. They offered no return on our funds. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone. They are plenty of nice hotel within blocks of this location. I ended up going to the Hilton up the street on my own dime. I would not stay at the Opal.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Stay at a nice hotel in this area. There are plenty of them including the Hilton.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top