$109 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: May 10, 2015 Check-out: May 11, 2015

The Opal San Francisco

3 stars
View map of 1050 Van Ness Avenue, San Francisco, CA 94109

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Opal San Francisco

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
661 out of 661
Amenities:
3.3
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
3.7
Value:
3.8

81% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
THE SOUTHERN GENTELMAN
BATON ROUGE, LOUISIANA
Jul 6, 2012

WOW

The only complant that we had was that they had 3 pillows instead of 4 and no microwave.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

ON THE CORNER OF POST & LARKIN IS THE BEST LITTLE PLACE "LITTLE HENRY" ITALIAN FOOD. THE FISHERMAN WAS OUR FAVORITE DISH, ASK FOR EXTRA BREAD YOU DON'T WANT TO LEAVE ANY SAUCE ON THE PLATE. JUST TELL HENRY THOSE CRAZY PEOPLE FROM LOUISIANA SENT YOU.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Tracy the explorer
Business
Carrollton, Georgia
Jun 6, 2013

Comfortable, convenient, great value

The perfect location for exploring the City. Van Ness, O'farrel and Geary will take you most of the way to anywhere. Very comfortable, clean, and secure. Not much to do if you plan to hang out in the hotel, but awesome base for exploring on foot and public trans. Parking is expensive, but this IS San Francisco, after all!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Get the 511.org trip planner mobile app (free) and a Clipper card ($3 , plus fare balance). The buses go everywhere, all the time. Pay attention to the schedule transfers, of you might take an unexpected sightseeing trip!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Calibuckeye
Business
San Diego, CA
Nov 11, 2013

Fantastic stay!

The Opal has a wonderful and helpful staff and a very old school French feel to the hotel. They even sent me a complimentary bottle of wine to our room for my birthday. Would definitely stay here again on our next trip to San Fran!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
AAsian
Business
Chico,ca!
Oct 6, 2009

Loves

I went to love fest and the location was amazing! great hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Wolcottville
Dec 18, 2008

great business amenities, close to all transit

The Opal was a very quaint hotel. Beautiful decor and very clean. Room was somewhat small, but a great value. Hotel check-in was quick and easy. Very friendly staff. Had a nice continental breakfast bar with plenty of seating space. The breakfast bar could have had more fuit or yogert instead of only apples. Noticed lots of business people staying here. Had a nice internet business center for hotel guest, and a nice workout facility. Great location, near all transit lines made getting around San Francisco easy. Mel's Diner next door was very convenient, and Tommys restaurant across the street was excellent. Both restaurants had great service and reasonable prices. Would definitely recommend The Opal and would stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Everything close by, within a short drive.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Jun 18, 2007

Great Location Hotel

This was a nice hotel to stay at for the money. Location could not have been better. Staff was very friendly and hospitable upon check-in and out. Rooms were a bit small, however, since we only stayed overnight, it wasn't too uncomfortable. Cozy and clean, my family and I would definitely stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Restaurant is next door, and is so close, you can walk from the hotel into the eating establishment via a connecting door! Great all American food with friendly staff

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Ottawa
Dec 29, 2008

very friendly

The room is small but very comfortable. The staff in front desk is so friendly and very helpful. Free internet and local phone is useful for froeigner.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

next door is a theater, there are several restaurant within 5mins walk. The other side of the road are some luxury car sellers, there has some really good and amazing cars!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Honolulu
Dec 9, 2008

Great Location

The Opal Hotel's location was perfect for my daughter and I. We were in walking distance or on main bus lines to really enjoy our first visit to San Francisco. The Fifties Diner right off the main lobby was great. The room was comfortable and clean,the elevator was very quick and the staff was very helpful. The 20 screen movie theater in a historic building next door and everything you would ever need within a few blocks walking.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Tommy's across the street had the best dinner plates we had ever had.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
moorpark, ca
Nov 30, 2009

Wonderful visit

The room/suite was fabulous. The staff was very friendly. Great location, 4 blocks from the Cable Car stop.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Omaha, NE
Jun 30, 2007

Reasonably priced

The Opal hotel was comfortable and the price was exceptional. I read other reviews prior to going so I was aware that the hotel is older and the bathrooms were rather small. While I found this to be true, it was not much of an inconvenience. We did not travel with children so the fact that the bathroom was small was of little significance. Since our plans were to experience San Francisco, we really didn't plan to use many hotel amenities such as pool, etc so I cannot comment on those. The staff was very pleasant and accommodating. I was already aware of the hotel parking fee of $25.00/day. The free internet access was a pleasant surprise. Overall, I found this hotel to be a wonderful find at a great price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
sonora
May 20, 2008

Great Hotel for Anniversary weekend

Within easy walking distance to Union Square. Bus stop outside of hotel also made other city ventures very convenient. We would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top