$129 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 29, 2014 Check-out: Sep 1, 2014

The Opal San Francisco

3 stars
1050 Van Ness Avenue, San Francisco, CA 94109
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
630 reviews
Good price for location

Friendly and helpful staff. Large comfortable room. See full review

  • MarianaMC
  • Apr 27, 2014
The Opal Stay

We found The Opal very helpful and welcoming to all our request. Staff was very efficient and... See full review

  • Jan Combs
  • Apr 12, 2014
Historic hotel and spacious suites -- walking distance to Union Square

Dating back to 1908, this five-story Union Square hotel still boasts the stained glass windows, period antiques and other decorative touches that hearken back to a simpler time. Rooms are clean and efficient; spacious work desks are popular among business travelers. Other amenities include a complimentary on-site fitness center and 24-hour coffee and tea service, as well as a complimentary breakfast buffet.

Highlights
  • Walking distance to shopping in Union Square
  • Historic architecture, decorative touches
  • 24-hour coffee and tea service
  • Complimentary breakfast buffet
Rooms

Each of The Opal's 164 guest rooms features central air and heat, cable television and complimentary high-speed Internet. (There's also free Wi-Fi in the hotel lobby.) Suites include small sitting areas with plush sofas. A handful of rooms have windows that look out onto the bustling Union

Features
The hotel has received a three-diamond rating from AAA and was selected as the Crescent Hotel and Resorts "Hotel of the Year" in 2008. A baby grand piano welcomes visitors to the lobby of The Opal -- a public area decorated to invoke the way it looked when the hotel debuted in 1908.

Elsewhere on the property is a 24-hour laundry facility (fees apply) and car rental desk (fees apply; rentals also can be facilitated by the concierge). Overnight parking is also available (fees apply).

All guests have complimentary access to a state-of-the-art on-site fitness center. Guests also are entitled to a complimentary breakfast buffet every morning.

After a long day exploring the city, grab a milkshake and a tuna melt at the on-site outpost of Mel's Drive-In, a 1950s-style diner that has become a San Francisco institution. The restaurant is open 24 hours on weekends.
Transportation
  • San Francisco International Airport (45 minutes)
  • Oakland International Airport (40 minutes)
  • MUNI bus (5 minutes walking)
  • Cable car stops (15 minutes walking)
  • BART (18 minutes walking)
Attractions
  • Union Square
  • Theater District
  • Embarcadero
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art
  • AT&T Park
Policies and fees

Debit cards are not acceptable at check-in. Overnight Parking is available (FEES APPLY).

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

37.7855 -122.4209
Nearby airports
San Francisco International Airport, (SFO), 25.00, MI, W; Oakland International Airport, (OAK), 22.10, MI, NW;
Area description
City Center

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Opal San Francisco also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

The Opal San Francisco Rooms

Superior Junior Suite
Superior Jr Suite-Free Continential Breakfast Free Internet
Executive Suite
King bed w-Living room Free Cont Brkfst-Wireless Internet Access
KING JUNIOR SUITE
ONE KING BED - SITTING AREA FREE CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST BUFFET FREE WIRELESS INTERNET ACCESS
Deluxe King
Deluxe King - Free Continential Breakfast Free Internet access
Deluxe Double Double
Deluxe Double Room Free Continential Breakfast Buffet
Deluxe Queen
Deluxe Queen-Free Continential Breakfast Free Internet access

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
General
Air conditioned
Free local telephone calls
Elevators
Dining
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
Coffee shop
Meal plan - continental
Family plan
Services
24 hour front desk
Maid service
Guest laundromat
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
Security
In-Room Safe
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Room
Temperature control
Electronic door locks
International direct dial
Sprinklers in rooms

Nearby points of interest

  • Civic Centre: 0.2 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.2 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.4 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 0.5 mi
  • Japantown: 0.5 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 0.5 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 0.5 mi
  • Japan Center: 0.5 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 0.6 mi
  • Nob Hill: 0.6 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 0.6 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.6 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.7 mi
  • Union Square: 0.8 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.2 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.2 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.4 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 0.5 mi
  • Japantown: 0.5 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 0.5 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 0.5 mi
  • Japan Center: 0.5 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 0.6 mi
  • Nob Hill: 0.6 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 0.6 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.6 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.7 mi
  • Union Square: 0.8 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.8 mi
  • SoMa: 0.8 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.9 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.9 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 1 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 1 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 1.1 mi
  • Moscone Center: 1.1 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 1.1 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 1.1 mi
  • Chinatown: 1.1 mi
  • Lombard Street: 1.1 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 1.2 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 1.2 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 1.4 mi
  • Coit Tower: 1.4 mi
  • Walter Adams Gallery: 1.4 mi
  • Mission Dolores: 1.5 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 1.5 mi
  • Mission Delores: 1.6 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 1.6 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 1.6 mi
  • Ferry Building: 1.6 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 1.7 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 1.7 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 1.7 mi
  • Underwater World: 1.7 mi
  • ATT Park: 1.7 mi
  • Haight Ashbury: 1.7 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 1.7 mi
  • Pier 39: 1.7 mi

Dining

Mels Drive In Diner
Classic American Food - 1950 Diner

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (630)

Ratings and reviews for The Opal San Francisco

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
630 out of 630
Amenities:
3.3
Room cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3.6
Location:
3.7
Value:
3.8

82% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
THE SOUTHERN GENTELMAN
BATON ROUGE, LOUISIANA
Jul 6, 2012

WOW

The only complant that we had was that they had 3 pillows instead of 4 and no microwave.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

ON THE CORNER OF POST & LARKIN IS THE BEST LITTLE PLACE "LITTLE HENRY" ITALIAN FOOD. THE FISHERMAN WAS OUR FAVORITE DISH, ASK FOR EXTRA BREAD YOU DON'T WANT TO LEAVE ANY SAUCE ON THE PLATE. JUST TELL HENRY THOSE CRAZY PEOPLE FROM LOUISIANA SENT YOU.

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Concert Gurl
San Jose
Jun 22, 2014

Good for the price

My "go to" hotel for a reasonable price and relatively quiet stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
wife and mother woman
Fresno, Ca
Jun 18, 2014

overnight stay

Good location. Can use updating...New carpet etc..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: In Hotel

Breakfast served at hotel and Mel's diner connected to property.

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
travelmommo
Business
Honolulu, HI
Jun 8, 2014

very nice hotel...in the tenderloin

I was a little concerned once I realized the location of this hotel (buzzer to get in the front door), but the front desk staff was very pleasant and helpful, the amenities of the hotel like 24 hour coffee and tea in the lobby and continental breakfast was just what I needed for a short stay. Bed was comfy and clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
CitycoutureGirl
San Diego
Jun 5, 2014

City exploring

Staff was very friendly and helpful. We had two rooms in the outside area. Yes there is inside rooms and outside rooms. Hotel/motel? Free continental breakfast was simple but better than others I've had. Great location for us to walk the city. Coffee and tea in the lobby available at all times, we loved that.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Not Applicable

San Francisco is not very good for bigger parties to dine out. 5 or more, you have to do some searching to find a place that has enough room for everyone to sit together. It is manageable..

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Rozzielee
Norfolk, VA
Jun 2, 2014

Two star hotel for Four star price

Put us in the wrong room from the start. As I tried to unsuccessfully to open the room door with my card key it was opened by a gentleman in a towel who obviously just got out of the shower, and explained I had the wrong room. When I showed him my hand written room number, he showed me his and of course it was the same room. They apologized at the front desk and then as is often the case when you book through travel sites and not through them directly, proceeded to put us in the noisiest room in the hotel. When I asked to change rooms they said they were booked and could not accommodate us. I know this was not the case. Breakfast was sub-par at best. The second night there we hit the hay early as we had a crack of dawn flight out of San Francisco International, we were awakened at 12:30 a.m. by a angry man screaming at his female roommate as well as obviously hitting her, it was that loud and that obvious, I called to the front desk and reported the scenario. They said they would take care of it. After another hour of the same, I physically got out of bed and went to the front desk and threatened to call 911 if they did not take care of the situation. After about 20 minutes the yelling stopped. Needless to say I got no sleep. I would not recommend this hotel to anybody staying in the San Francisco area. On a side note, we were one of the few Americans in the hotel. Mostly European occupied.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
1
Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

This hotel is too far away from Union Square and in a seedy side of town with many vagrants all around.

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MDisciple87
New York, NY
Jun 2, 2014

Clean & Staff was friendly

Has a certain vintage look to it, but the staff was extremely friendly and the place was clean and comfortable. Great value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
kelly 5
santa cruz
Jun 1, 2014

San Francisco Mini Vaca

The hotel was in the most ideal area of San Francisco for our trip!! Awesome staff and clean comfortable rooms! The parking is well worth the extra dollars they require. I will go back there on my next trip to the bay area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Great location!

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Retired Mtn Folk
Auberry, CA
May 29, 2014

Giants game day getaway

Location was near where we were arriving via Amtrak bus and easily used MUNI buses to stadium. Older hotel with friendly staff with clean rooms. The bathroom was a little small and only one chair in the room, but the room was very clean and the bed was very comfortable. Quiet and a very good value close to shopping in San Francisco. Enjoyed Mel's Diner located first floor.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Staffan
Sweden
May 28, 2014

Charming old hotel

Nothing exceptional except that there was a complimentary breakfast for all hotel guests, simple, down to earth but good. So, good value - saves some bucks, no need to chase around for a café or diner in the morning. The location was a little bit 'off' - but for city walkers like us it was no problem. There are surprisingly many beggars and other destitute people in San Francisco, which is a bit of a surprise, but they are all over the place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
ClaynKenzie
Charlotte, North Carolina
May 27, 2014

Good location, old hotel

Overall, the hotel was too expensive for what we got out of it. We really just paid $250 a night for a good location and an old hotel. If it was renovated, it would be a better value, but the hotel is past its prime. Also another important note, parking at the hotel costs $30 a day which I found excessive. I wish we would have stayed across the bay in a hotel half the price and much nicer and we still would have paid the same for parking in the city when we came to visit. So really if you stay here you're just paying for a good location but I would recommend somewhere else.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Back to menu Return to top

Change search