$149 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 7, 2015 Check-out: Sep 8, 2015

The Opal San Francisco

3 stars
View map of 1050 Van Ness Avenue, San Francisco, CA 94109

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Opal San Francisco

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
629 out of 629
Amenities:
3.3
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
3.7
Value:
3.8

81% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
chris b.
Couples
N/A
Jun 1, 2015

Hotel has seen better days and surrounding streets are a bit scary

Hotel is great value for SF. It has seen better days, fixtures and fittings are old and the breakfast is poor. But it more than does the job as a fairly centrally located hotel for people that want to see SF rather than hang around the hotel. The only real downsides that the surrounding streets (Geary in particular) are full of tramps and people sleeping rough. We just took uber back to the hotel and had no problems. I wouldn't have been happy walking late at night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
KARAMLEA
Couples
CHICAGO
May 14, 2015

fun trip with my husband

Hotel was convenient located, 30 minutes walk to fisherman wharf, accross the street from restaurant and close to Union center

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Wendy s.
Business
N/A
Apr 26, 2015

Nice Clean Hotel

This is a nice establishment and the price is right. The rooms are clean, showers nothing special but everything in working order. Its easy to get cabs from here, the internet is free and a continental breakfast is included. The only downside is its in a questionable neighborhood as part of the Tenderloin I suspect if not on its corner. Not great for walking after dark but I never had a problem as a single woman during the day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Yesi G.
Friends
Wheat Ridge
Apr 18, 2015

Awesome Weekend Getaway

perfect location in center of San Francisco heart and right off a bus line, easy check in and the staff was very pleasant, complimentary breakfast was standard, room was clean and bed was comfy. Walls were pretty thin could hear conversation happening next door but they were pretty loud. Located in the Tenderloin neighborhood which I read was pretty predominant to the homeless community but the entire surrounding area I noticed of San Francisco had homeless individuals and I didn’t feel threatened. I would recommend staying here! and I would stay here again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Missing Boots
Couples
Philadelphia
Apr 18, 2015

Want to have you things stolen?

My boots were stolen from my room! I just couldn't believe it. Never staying here again!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Roberto S.
Business
San Francisco
Apr 8, 2015

one of the best hotel's in SF

i always love this hotel one of the best in downtown SF Affordable

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
LoriJ
Family
Los Angeles
Apr 6, 2015

San Francisco getaway

We were in town for a 3 day trip for business/pleasure. The Opal got the job done and then some. Based on what I paid I wasn't expecting the best stay but was pleasantly surprised. Very nice staff willing to go out of their way to help. Comfortable beds, pretty good continental breakfast. Overall satisfied.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Joy M.
Family
N/A
Apr 6, 2015

perfect intro to San Franciso. the opal exceededt exceeded our exoectations

The opal exceeded our expectations. It served as a home base and was a comfortable and cheerful start for each day with unexceptional healthy breakfast Darius

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Evan Z.
Couples
San Diego
Mar 17, 2015

San Fran Trip

Pretty good hotel for the price. The hotel finishes are ok, but the location and price were very good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
RDRss
Family
Tamarac
Mar 9, 2015

Great Trip

The room was somewhat damp, the beds need to be changed out used, not enough outlets, no microwave or refrig.in rooms or on the floor. Besides, the staff was great friendly and informative. Great location, awesome fresh meat bar/ deli across the stree.t

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Back to menu Return to top