$169 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 1, 2014 Check-out: Aug 2, 2014

The Opal San Francisco

3 stars
1050 Van Ness Avenue, San Francisco, CA 94109
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
885 reviews
Good price for location

Friendly and helpful staff. Large comfortable room. See full review

  • MarianaMC
  • Apr 27, 2014
The Opal Stay

We found The Opal very helpful and welcoming to all our request. Staff was very efficient and... See full review

  • Jan Combs
  • Apr 12, 2014
Historic hotel and spacious suites -- walking distance to Union Square

Dating back to 1908, this five-story Union Square hotel still boasts the stained glass windows, period antiques and other decorative touches that hearken back to a simpler time. Rooms are clean and efficient; spacious work desks are popular among business travelers. Other amenities include a complimentary on-site fitness center and 24-hour coffee and tea service, as well as a complimentary breakfast buffet.

Highlights
  • Walking distance to shopping in Union Square
  • Historic architecture, decorative touches
  • 24-hour coffee and tea service
  • Complimentary breakfast buffet
Rooms

Each of The Opal's 164 guest rooms features central air and heat, cable television and complimentary high-speed Internet. (There's also free Wi-Fi in the hotel lobby.) Suites include small sitting areas with plush sofas. A handful of rooms have windows that look out onto the bustling Union

Features
The hotel has received a three-diamond rating from AAA and was selected as the Crescent Hotel and Resorts "Hotel of the Year" in 2008. A baby grand piano welcomes visitors to the lobby of The Opal -- a public area decorated to invoke the way it looked when the hotel debuted in 1908.

Elsewhere on the property is a 24-hour laundry facility (fees apply) and car rental desk (fees apply; rentals also can be facilitated by the concierge). Overnight parking is also available (fees apply).

All guests have complimentary access to a state-of-the-art on-site fitness center. Guests also are entitled to a complimentary breakfast buffet every morning.

After a long day exploring the city, grab a milkshake and a tuna melt at the on-site outpost of Mel's Drive-In, a 1950s-style diner that has become a San Francisco institution. The restaurant is open 24 hours on weekends.
Transportation
  • San Francisco International Airport (45 minutes)
  • Oakland International Airport (40 minutes)
  • MUNI bus (5 minutes walking)
  • Cable car stops (15 minutes walking)
  • BART (18 minutes walking)
Attractions
  • Union Square
  • Theater District
  • Embarcadero
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art
  • AT&T Park
Policies and fees

Debit cards are not acceptable at check-in. Overnight Parking is available (FEES APPLY).

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

37.7855 -122.4209
Nearby airports
San Francisco International Airport, (SFO), 25.00, MI, W; Oakland International Airport, (OAK), 22.10, MI, NW;
Area description
City Center

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Opal San Francisco also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

The Opal San Francisco Rooms

Superior Junior Suite
Superior Jr Suite-Free Continential Breakfast Free Internet
Executive Suite
King bed w-Living room Free Cont Brkfst-Wireless Internet Access
KING JUNIOR SUITE
ONE KING BED - SITTING AREA FREE CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST BUFFET FREE WIRELESS INTERNET ACCESS
Deluxe King
Deluxe King - Free Continential Breakfast Free Internet access
Deluxe Double Double
Deluxe Double Room Free Continential Breakfast Buffet
Deluxe Queen
Deluxe Queen-Free Continential Breakfast Free Internet access

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
General
Air conditioned
Free local telephone calls
Elevators
Dining
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
Coffee shop
Meal plan - continental
Family plan
Services
24 hour front desk
Maid service
Guest laundromat
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
Security
In-Room Safe
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Room
Temperature control
Electronic door locks
International direct dial
Sprinklers in rooms

Nearby points of interest

  • Civic Centre: 0.2 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.2 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.4 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 0.5 mi
  • Japantown: 0.5 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 0.5 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 0.5 mi
  • Japan Center: 0.5 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 0.6 mi
  • Nob Hill: 0.6 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 0.6 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.6 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.7 mi
  • Union Square: 0.8 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.2 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.2 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.4 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 0.5 mi
  • Japantown: 0.5 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 0.5 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 0.5 mi
  • Japan Center: 0.5 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 0.6 mi
  • Nob Hill: 0.6 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 0.6 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.6 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.7 mi
  • Union Square: 0.8 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.8 mi
  • SoMa: 0.8 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.9 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.9 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 1 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 1 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 1.1 mi
  • Moscone Center: 1.1 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 1.1 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 1.1 mi
  • Chinatown: 1.1 mi
  • Lombard Street: 1.1 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 1.2 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 1.2 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 1.4 mi
  • Coit Tower: 1.4 mi
  • Walter Adams Gallery: 1.4 mi
  • Mission Dolores: 1.5 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 1.5 mi
  • Mission Delores: 1.6 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 1.6 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 1.6 mi
  • Ferry Building: 1.6 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 1.7 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 1.7 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 1.7 mi
  • Underwater World: 1.7 mi
  • ATT Park: 1.7 mi
  • Haight Ashbury: 1.7 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 1.7 mi
  • Pier 39: 1.7 mi

Dining

Mels Drive In Diner
Classic American Food - 1950 Diner

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (885)

Ratings and reviews for The Opal San Francisco

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
885 out of 885
Amenities:
3.3
Room cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3.7
Location:
3.7
Value:
3.9

82% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Reina216
Ridgecrest, CA, USA
Apr 30, 2012

Good Price, A Little Sacrifice

San Francisco being the city that it is, I could not expect to get a decent price on a hotel room without a little sacrifice. The hotel was old and out-dated. Carpets were stained throughout the hallways and room. Our room was a little muggy with a slight odor, but was tolerable with the window open. Besides, most of our time was spent out and about and the room just a place to sleep. Therefore it was a clean enough place even though I typically would prefer a nicer environment. In addition, the room had no fridge which is a major negative for our family. We paid the additional price to have parking every evening. Well worth the money. The staff was very friendly and quick to respond to any requests. Being that I had two children with me (ages 2 and 4) it is nice when you do not have to wait very long when you need something. Location was great. Not very far from anything we had planned to do or see.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
PB Duluth
Dallas, TX, USA
Apr 24, 2012

Grand daugthers birthday trip

Great location. Continental breakfast adequate; no microwave or cereals in breakfast room. Ask for an interior room to avoid night noise from Van Ness Ave.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Mel's Diner with access through hotel

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
california man
king city, CA
Apr 19, 2012

Weekend in the City

Very quaint old hotel without all the frills, but a great value and location. I will stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Linnaeus
Australia
Apr 17, 2012

Excellent full service Hotel

Well positioned with good links to bus lines etc. Rooms were nicely sized and staff could not have been more helpful. Compimentary continental breakfast was excellent.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Mel's diner next door and accessible from hotel provides excellent food at reasonable prices.

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DSO Fan
Mendocino, CA, USA
Apr 15, 2012

Perfect location in proximity to Great American Music

Stayed 3 nights here in comfort and security. Beautiful lobby area with self-serve coffee and tea available 24/7. Front desk staff is wonderfully enthusiastic, informative and always seem to be actually enjoying their roles in ensuring a positive experience for guests. Though even for two the rooms have a bit of a cramped feel, the beds are great quality, and maids were very observant as whenever we left the room (usually not until early afternoon), the rooms were always made up by our return a short while later. Also enjoyed the quiet and general lack of noise of the room. Our room was rather dark with only one widow, conducive to rest but not for anything requiring good light. Never made it downstairs in time for 10:30 free breakfast so can't speak to the quality of that fare. Certainly not deal breakers, but it would have been nice to have a small coffee pot in the room and small fridges are not available at all.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Phil's Coffee is just down Van Ness and is a wonderful spot to enjoy superb coffee and WiFi.

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
m.c. gov'na
Lompoc, California
Apr 10, 2012

Great weekend stay

The staff was very nice to me even though i checked in late, its in a pretty good location, its right next to a great diner, the room is much better than the pictures, will definitely stay again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
rural NYer
Donnattsburg Rd, Glenfield, NY 13343, USA
Apr 9, 2012

Loved the "European-like" ambience

I booked the Opal because it seemed to be a good deal. I was not disappointed! If you like a hotel in a great location (close to tons of restaurants, cable cars etc) with the ambience of a European hotel, then the Opal is for you. Our room was roomy and clean, the staff was very helpful and friendly and the common rooms were furnished with beautiful antiques and lovely what I would assume to be original fixtures. Apparently the word is out abroad, we heard many different languages spoken at breakfast (which by the way was very adequate). If you like a hotel which is not a predictable American franchise the Opal is for you.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

A short walk from the Opal is the California cable line. Take it to its end and it brings you to the Ferry Building. Wonderful boutique shopping there. It is where the natives spend their Sunday mornings.

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
mbm15
Sacramento, CA, USA
Mar 27, 2012

couple getaway

It was a good experience all in all the hotel is located within minutes from all the diferent attractions so that was really helpfull.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
talk a lot
stockton
Mar 22, 2012

bueaty and the beast

when we arived they printed a voucher for our tour which was great. the beasty thing was they gave away one of our 3 rooms . they gave us another room thank fully . my sons 2 rooms were good but our room had a bleach spot on the carpet. we did not have a microwave but we could use mels diner the room also had a mold smell like a musty smell and the sheets made me itch i have algeries i figure maybe their laundry soap the contental breakfast was not so good we ate at mel julie

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
birk
Eagle River, WI
Mar 20, 2012

Nice hotel

We enjoyed our evening at The Opal. Nice older motel. Disappointed there was an extra charge for high speed internet. We have had better continental breakfasts.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Back to menu Return to top