$163 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 26, 2015 Check-out: Aug 29, 2015

The Opal San Francisco

3 stars
View map of 1050 Van Ness Avenue, San Francisco, CA 94109

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Opal San Francisco

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
621 out of 621
Amenities:
3.3
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
3.7
Value:
3.8

81% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
infrequent travelers
Business
boston
Mar 26, 2013

simple option for

good stay, nice front staff, decent breakfast. the room was clean and bathroom functional for the space.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
sssh
Business
newport beach ca
Mar 19, 2013

great locale

Ive stayed here several times and like it Best feature is covered self parking Old hotel but well kept with nice staff

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Stilly
Business
Boston, MA
Mar 14, 2013

A great value!

The Opal is a great find for a cost-conscious visitor. It's located on the edge of the seedy and nice parts of town. One block in the wrong direction and you're in ghetto. One block in opposite direction and you're in a pleasant neighborhood. The building is dated but the staff are very friendly. The rooms are small but clean. The good news is you are on a major bus route to take you anywhere you want to go quickly. Best of all, the price is 1/3 of other hotels in the area. If I was looking for a place to stay "on the cheap" in San Francisco, I'd definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
ZTCD
Business
Fresno, California
Feb 11, 2013

Great location for the price

Hotel is located on Van Ness and Geary...not a great place in the city, but easy to get to everything else by cab. Reasonable parking located just next door on O'Farrell Street. Staff very friendly. Room was very clean, but very small, although they do have larger rooms. For the price this hotel is hard to beat. I will stay there again in the future.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
blueyedcole
Business
Fairfield, California
Feb 10, 2013

Perfect night out!!

The Opal is a gorgeous hotel w/the added bonus of a Mel's Diner downstairs. The room was just what I needed for my one night stay in the city. The cute key shaped cards made an impression too. The staff were so helpful and cheerful with every request. I will always stay here when I need a place in SF!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kutter
Business
Chicago, IL
Feb 10, 2013

Great location with old world charm

Helpful staff, check in was quick and easy and very helpful. The room was as welcoming as aunt Helen's guest bedroom.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
AllanY
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Jan 28, 2013

For overnight stays

not bad. Its an old hotel, so temper your expectations.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Carlos Ruben Traveller
Business
Montevideo, Uruguay
Jan 15, 2013

Wonderfull.

I enjoyed this hotel. I recomende it. Its a good hotel and is very cheap.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

It is close to the Union Square where you can buy everything.

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
CB Business traveler
Business
Marblehead, MA
Jan 14, 2013

Tired, needs updating

I stayed four nights at the Opal recently. I found the hotel decor in need of updating. My room was generally clean with the decor (carpet, furniture, bed) in need of updating. It also had an unpleasant odor, similar to one after your house is fumigated. Given all this, I was disappointed in the accommodations and will not stay again at the Opal.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
c4117
Business
Toledo, Oh.
Jan 14, 2013

Nice place.

I would stay again, Decent. Nice staff. Restaurant across the street on the corner is good if you like meat.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Restaurant across the street on the corner is good if you like meat.

Back to menu Return to top