$122 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Apr 5, 2015 Check-out: Apr 8, 2015

The Opal San Francisco

3 stars
View map of 1050 Van Ness Avenue, San Francisco, CA 94109

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Opal San Francisco

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
656 out of 656
Amenities:
3.3
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
3.7
Value:
3.8

81% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
blueyedcole
Business
Fairfield, California
Feb 10, 2013

Perfect night out!!

The Opal is a gorgeous hotel w/the added bonus of a Mel's Diner downstairs. The room was just what I needed for my one night stay in the city. The cute key shaped cards made an impression too. The staff were so helpful and cheerful with every request. I will always stay here when I need a place in SF!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kutter
Business
Chicago, IL
Feb 10, 2013

Great location with old world charm

Helpful staff, check in was quick and easy and very helpful. The room was as welcoming as aunt Helen's guest bedroom.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
AllanY
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Jan 28, 2013

For overnight stays

not bad. Its an old hotel, so temper your expectations.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Carlos Ruben Traveller
Business
Montevideo, Uruguay
Jan 15, 2013

Wonderfull.

I enjoyed this hotel. I recomende it. Its a good hotel and is very cheap.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

It is close to the Union Square where you can buy everything.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
CB Business traveler
Business
Marblehead, MA
Jan 14, 2013

Tired, needs updating

I stayed four nights at the Opal recently. I found the hotel decor in need of updating. My room was generally clean with the decor (carpet, furniture, bed) in need of updating. It also had an unpleasant odor, similar to one after your house is fumigated. Given all this, I was disappointed in the accommodations and will not stay again at the Opal.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
c4117
Business
Toledo, Oh.
Jan 14, 2013

Nice place.

I would stay again, Decent. Nice staff. Restaurant across the street on the corner is good if you like meat.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Restaurant across the street on the corner is good if you like meat.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kat8na
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Jan 11, 2013

Great hotel - clean and convinient

We were looking for a comfortable (and clean!) hotel with convenient location. Opal is 15 min walking distance from the Union square which make is almost perfect. There are also multiple bus stations to travel anywhere in town. The rooms are on the smaller side but very clean and quiet. For the 3 nights that we spent there did not hear any noises from neighbors or outside. Great security - you have to use your room key to get in and there is always somebody in the hall. Also GREAT breakfast and 24 hour tea/coffee in the lobby. The only downfall is pricey parking (it was $35, while in the AMC next door the parking is $24/day), but it was expected in San Fran. Definitely coming back next time I am in town!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Romas
Business
Singapore
Jan 2, 2013

Eventful Family Holiday

The hotel provides complimentary breakfast of continental bakery, something which is not common for tourist hotels in America I would say. Hotel location is within walking distance to downtown Union Square and City Hall, which is very convenient for shopping and typical tourist leisure walking.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Tawnster
Business
San Francisco, CA
Jan 2, 2013

New Year's

Hotel was nice, clean, quiet. Located just two miles from Pier 39, parking averaged around 30$ though. But AMC theater was next door, along with some diners and cafes. :) overall a nice stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Sledgehammer
Business
Buffalo
Jan 2, 2013

Not Great!!!

Except the location nothing else was good. The queen size bed was really small. The rooms are small. Dont bother about the continental breakfast.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top