$129 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: May 25, 2015 Check-out: May 26, 2015

The Opal San Francisco

3 stars
View map of 1050 Van Ness Avenue, San Francisco, CA 94109

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Opal San Francisco

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
711 out of 711
Amenities:
3.3
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
3.7
Value:
3.8

81% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
cha chino
Business
fort worth, texas
May 13, 2013

nice price for nuce spot

every thing was nice except the breakfast! if u like fruit yogart and hard boiled eggs its ok but I need some waffels r omilets r some form of meat besides hrad boiled eggs but it did buy me some time while I decided ware to eat a real breakfast!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

use public trans the hole time! save hundreds on cab fair!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
ugkale
Business
Morgantown, WV
May 1, 2013

Good deal

Had a conference in downtown, which was 8-9 blocks away. Could walk in 20 min, but when in rush, took the bus. Good deal and friendly staff members. Small room, big bed, clean bathroom.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Eva A.
Business
Nicholasville, KY
Apr 27, 2013

Short (stay) but sweet

I thoroughly enjoyed my 2 night stay at the Opal. It was most helpful to me that the staff arranged transportation to the airport for me at a very reasonable price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
john the Bicycle man
Business
jacksonville, fl
Apr 23, 2013

Opal san fran

Peasant surprise for price in San Francisco. Hotel is well maintained with great staff

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

tommy's and Mel's are close and reasonably pricedBicycle man

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
skulley
Business
hamilton ontario
Apr 21, 2013

feelin special

I only stayed one night because i was meeting my sister and family and had a condo booked.I had a whole day to kill before i met them,i left my suitcase at hotel and when i got back to get it they invited me to a free buffet and complimentary wine and i have already checked out.great job opal The place is clean and great value,i will be back

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

china town few blocks away lots of good food

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sandie B and Jinty
Business
Glasgow, Scotland
Apr 21, 2013

Excellent 3* hotel.

We had a very nice big room with 2 queen sized beds and sofa . Very accessible especially if you check out the local bus services. Nice and clean and lovely continental breakfast, also cheese and wine on the Wednesday night. Staff were very friendly and helpful, Would go back like a shot !

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: In Hotel

Take the bus tour to get your bearings thn can hire bicycles or take locla buses

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Family in vacation
Business
Los Angeles, California
Apr 15, 2013

Not great

It was one of the cheapest hotels we could find, but it was worse than we expected for the price. It is close to many nice destinations, but the area right next to the hotel is bad and considered dangerous by night. The entire hotel is non-smoking but the room we got smelled cigarette. We asked to change and they only had one other room available. The breakfast space is small so finding a place to sit is not easy and the food options are limited.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
westbounddown
Business
San Francisco
Apr 13, 2013

never again

Knowledgeable and friendly staff. The building was old and outdated. The complementary breakfast wasn't worth eating. I would not recommend this hotel to a friend

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Do not rent a car. Use public transit or taxis

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
dvbar
Business
Germany
Apr 9, 2013

Not really worth the price

I was there on my own and the first thing I noticed is that walking around the area wasn't safe... so if you're traveling alone and without a car this is not an ideal area to stay: a lot of homeless people, drug addicts, gangs in the area. Don't walk thorough the Geary st. not a safe area. The room was also not worth the price I paid $140. Wouldn't recommend

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
KJ the cool kid
Business
Tacoma, Wa
Apr 8, 2013

Spring Break

Great stay. The staff were excellent and very helpful. I would stay here again. The only problem I would say is the location of the hotel was not the best.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top