$89 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jan 28, 2015 Check-out: Jan 29, 2015

The Opal San Francisco

3 stars
1050 Van Ness Avenue, San Francisco, CA 94109
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
644 reviews
Weekend business

Excellent staff. Good breakfast . Diner next door also excellent work connecting door to the hotel See full review

  • Maria R.
  • Jan 12, 2015
Old SF charm

very nice hotel with old fashioned charm. conveniently located for city transportation..but be... See full review

  • zimeroooni
  • Dec 29, 2014
Historic hotel and spacious suites -- walking distance to Union Square

Dating back to 1908, this five-story Union Square hotel still boasts the stained glass windows, period antiques and other decorative touches that hearken back to a simpler time. Rooms are clean and efficient; spacious work desks are popular among business travelers. Other amenities include a complimentary on-site fitness center and 24-hour coffee and tea service, as well as a complimentary breakfast buffet.

Highlights
  • Walking distance to shopping in Union Square
  • Historic architecture, decorative touches
  • 24-hour coffee and tea service
  • Complimentary breakfast buffet
Rooms

Each of The Opal's 164 guest rooms features central air and heat, cable television and complimentary high-speed Internet. (There's also free Wi-Fi in the hotel lobby.) Suites include small sitting areas with plush sofas. A handful of rooms have windows that look out onto the bustling Union

Features
The hotel has received a three-diamond rating from AAA and was selected as the Crescent Hotel and Resorts "Hotel of the Year" in 2008. A baby grand piano welcomes visitors to the lobby of The Opal -- a public area decorated to invoke the way it looked when the hotel debuted in 1908.

Elsewhere on the property is a 24-hour laundry facility (fees apply) and car rental desk (fees apply; rentals also can be facilitated by the concierge). Overnight parking is also available (fees apply).

All guests have complimentary access to a state-of-the-art on-site fitness center. Guests also are entitled to a complimentary breakfast buffet every morning.

After a long day exploring the city, grab a milkshake and a tuna melt at the on-site outpost of Mel's Drive-In, a 1950s-style diner that has become a San Francisco institution. The restaurant is open 24 hours on weekends.
Transportation
  • San Francisco International Airport (45 minutes)
  • Oakland International Airport (40 minutes)
  • MUNI bus (5 minutes walking)
  • Cable car stops (15 minutes walking)
  • BART (18 minutes walking)
Attractions
  • Union Square
  • Theater District
  • Embarcadero
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art
  • AT&T Park
Policies and fees

Debit cards are not acceptable at check-in. Overnight Parking is available (FEES APPLY).

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Opal San Francisco also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

The Opal San Francisco Rooms

Superior Junior Suite
Superior Jr Suite-Free Continential Breakfast Free Internet
Executive Suite
King bed w-Living room Free Cont Brkfst-Wireless Internet Access
KING JUNIOR SUITE
ONE KING BED - SITTING AREA FREE CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST BUFFET FREE WIRELESS INTERNET ACCESS
Deluxe King
Deluxe King - Free Continential Breakfast Free Internet access
Deluxe Double Double
Deluxe Double Room Free Continential Breakfast Buffet
Deluxe Queen
Deluxe Queen-Free Continential Breakfast Free Internet access

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
General
Air conditioned
Free local telephone calls
Elevators
Dining
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
Coffee shop
Meal plan - continental
Family plan
Services
24 hour front desk
Maid service
Guest laundromat
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
Security
In-Room Safe
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Room
Temperature control
Electronic door locks
International direct dial
Sprinklers in rooms

Nearby points of interest

  • Civic Centre: 0.2 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.2 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.4 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 0.5 mi
  • Japantown: 0.5 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 0.5 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 0.5 mi
  • Japan Center: 0.5 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 0.6 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 0.6 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.6 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.7 mi
  • Union Square: 0.8 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.8 mi
  • SoMa: 0.8 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.2 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.2 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.4 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 0.5 mi
  • Japantown: 0.5 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 0.5 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 0.5 mi
  • Japan Center: 0.5 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 0.6 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 0.6 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.6 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.7 mi
  • Union Square: 0.8 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.8 mi
  • SoMa: 0.8 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.9 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.9 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 1 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 1 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 1.1 mi
  • Moscone Center: 1.1 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 1.1 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 1.1 mi
  • Chinatown: 1.1 mi
  • Lombard Street: 1.1 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 1.2 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 1.2 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 1.4 mi
  • Coit Tower: 1.4 mi
  • Walter Adams Gallery: 1.4 mi
  • Mission Dolores: 1.5 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 1.5 mi
  • Mission Delores: 1.6 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 1.6 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 1.6 mi
  • Ferry Building: 1.6 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 1.7 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 1.7 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 1.7 mi
  • Underwater World: 1.7 mi
  • ATT Park: 1.7 mi
  • Haight Ashbury: 1.7 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 1.7 mi
  • Pier 39: 1.7 mi
  • Wyland Gallery: 1.8 mi

Dining

Mels Drive In Diner
Classic American Food - 1950 Diner

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (644)

Ratings and reviews for The Opal San Francisco

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
644 out of 644
Amenities:
3.3
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
3.7
Value:
3.8

81% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
westbounddown
Business
San Francisco
Apr 13, 2013

never again

Knowledgeable and friendly staff. The building was old and outdated. The complementary breakfast wasn't worth eating. I would not recommend this hotel to a friend

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Do not rent a car. Use public transit or taxis

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Family in vacation
Business
Los Angeles, California
Apr 15, 2013

Not great

It was one of the cheapest hotels we could find, but it was worse than we expected for the price. It is close to many nice destinations, but the area right next to the hotel is bad and considered dangerous by night. The entire hotel is non-smoking but the room we got smelled cigarette. We asked to change and they only had one other room available. The breakfast space is small so finding a place to sit is not easy and the food options are limited.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Nick southern traveler
Business
South Georgia
Jul 14, 2013

Stay away from this hotel

The hotel is not located in a beautiful setting like described on their website. There is no valet parking or staff to help with your bags. Our room had dirty socks beside the bed and the power went out a couple of times through out the night. Very, very disappointed with our booking.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Do not walk anywhere from this hotel. It's not very far from Chinatown, but you must walk through some bad parts if town to get there.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
CDSTG
Business
NYC
Jul 27, 2013

Not Good

I read the reviews, I looked at the pictures and when I arrived, nothing was as it seemed online. I stayed the first night and checked out having already paid for the next two evenings. It was that bad. You would not want to put anything on the hotel room carpet, ie, luggage for fear of who knows what.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Aleenza
Business
portland, or
Aug 25, 2013

Worst Hotel Ever

I cried when we pulled up to this hotel - it was old and tired. Carpet and lobby filthy. The only saving grace was the teeny tiny room was clean. Thank goodness we didn't spend much time there. Not a good value at all and beyond disappointing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Dave's World
Business
Lake Tahoe, NV
Nov 7, 2013

Who Thinks this Hotel is Three Stars?

Over the years, I have stayed at this hotel and its service and quality grow worse with each stay. This stay lasted about 30 minutes before I checked out and found a decent hotel. This is the problem with the booking website is pre-pay because it doesn't give you the ability to demand a refund when the hotel is profoundly inferior compared to how it is represented on the site. Keep that in mind. Issues -- room smelled like a latrine. Television in the room was small, CRT, had to be at least 20 years old. The hotel locks the entry doors so arrival at 700p required being buzzed in. The front desk person, Maria, saw me at the door and didn't open it until I yelled to get her attention. She then chastised me for yelling. Great hospitality attitude by her and others. Parking is a disaster -- hard to find, you need a clicker provided by the desk. Be sure not to ask Maria where parking can be found or how to get there. English as a second language spoken very fast makes her incomprehensible, and when asked to speak slower, she actually did the opposite. If you'd like to enjoy San Francisco as if camping in an outhouse, this is the place for you. Otherwise, pay a few dollars more and select a branded hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Maxi's at the Opera House plaza is a great, reasonably priced restaurant.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Rozzielee
Business
Norfolk, VA
Jun 2, 2014

Two star hotel for Four star price

Put us in the wrong room from the start. As I tried to unsuccessfully to open the room door with my card key it was opened by a gentleman in a towel who obviously just got out of the shower, and explained I had the wrong room. When I showed him my hand written room number, he showed me his and of course it was the same room. They apologized at the front desk and then as is often the case when you book through travel sites and not through them directly, proceeded to put us in the noisiest room in the hotel. When I asked to change rooms they said they were booked and could not accommodate us. I know this was not the case. Breakfast was sub-par at best. The second night there we hit the hay early as we had a crack of dawn flight out of San Francisco International, we were awakened at 12:30 a.m. by a angry man screaming at his female roommate as well as obviously hitting her, it was that loud and that obvious, I called to the front desk and reported the scenario. They said they would take care of it. After another hour of the same, I physically got out of bed and went to the front desk and threatened to call 911 if they did not take care of the situation. After about 20 minutes the yelling stopped. Needless to say I got no sleep. I would not recommend this hotel to anybody staying in the San Francisco area. On a side note, we were one of the few Americans in the hotel. Mostly European occupied.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

This hotel is too far away from Union Square and in a seedy side of town with many vagrants all around.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
LA
Sep 15, 2009

wish to cancel

scary neighborhood, street people everywhere, terrible parking even for registration with nortorious SF one-way small alcatraz cell-like room with suffocating no vent.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Francisco, CA
Aug 19, 2009

Creepy

bed bugs. we got the hell outta dodge.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Jacob P.
Business
Omaha, NE
Jul 16, 2010

Terrible, stay at your own risk

Pros: Nice lobby, quick elevator, good shower pressure and warm water Cons: It is very telling that there are more photos of san fran sites than of the hotel. The room we got (two double) was incredibly small, with the beds almost touching each other and spanning from wall to wall. There was one thin window (more like a slit) which was mostly blocked by the shade of the building itself. Everything in the hotel looked like it was from the 1950s, and hadn't been updated in as long. The floors creaked. The complimentary toiletries were a small pouch of shampoo and conditioner so that once you open it, it can't really be used again. Housekeeping almost broke our door down to clean the room the morning ON THE DAY WE WERE CHECKING OUT, whereas every other hotel in the world crosschecks so as to not needlessly clean a room that will be vacated in a couple hours. The staff downstairs was terrible, unhelpful and often rude with snarky comments about how we're lucky to even have a room at all, even though we had had a reservation. The hotel isn't really close to anything and is a good 15-20 minute walk to the nearest train station (civic center). The diner right by is ridiculously overpriced and fantastically slow. There are two waitresses for the whole place, and they have cashier duties too. It takes forever to order, receive, and pay for even a simple meal. The area is not nice, lots of homeless people and beggars, especially at night. STAY FAR FAR AWAY!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Walk to civic center train, take it up to powell street stop, where you find the classic cable cars which will take you to fisherman's wharf.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top