$129 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jul 1, 2015 Check-out: Jul 2, 2015

The Opal San Francisco

3 stars
View map of 1050 Van Ness Avenue, San Francisco, CA 94109

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Opal San Francisco

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
719 out of 719
Amenities:
3.3
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
3.7
Value:
3.8

81% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
SecondHoneymoon20
Louisiana
Feb 4, 2014

Great room for price

Nice hotel. About 6 easy walking blocks from the BART. Good free breakfast. Great Staff. 6 Blocks from Union Square.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Yesi G.
Business
Wheat Ridge
Apr 18, 2015

Awesome Weekend Getaway

perfect location in center of San Francisco heart and right off a bus line, easy check in and the staff was very pleasant, complimentary breakfast was standard, room was clean and bed was comfy. Walls were pretty thin could hear conversation happening next door but they were pretty loud. Located in the Tenderloin neighborhood which I read was pretty predominant to the homeless community but the entire surrounding area I noticed of San Francisco had homeless individuals and I didn’t feel threatened. I would recommend staying here! and I would stay here again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Missing Boots
Business
Philadelphia
Apr 18, 2015

Want to have you things stolen?

My boots were stolen from my room! I just couldn't believe it. Never staying here again!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
brenda g.
Business
N/A
Apr 13, 2015

the best

Is was wonderful. I'm loving every thing, the best hotels .breakfast is wonderful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Roberto S.
Business
San Francisco
Apr 8, 2015

one of the best hotel's in SF

i always love this hotel one of the best in downtown SF Affordable

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
LoriJ
Business
Los Angeles
Apr 6, 2015

San Francisco getaway

We were in town for a 3 day trip for business/pleasure. The Opal got the job done and then some. Based on what I paid I wasn't expecting the best stay but was pleasantly surprised. Very nice staff willing to go out of their way to help. Comfortable beds, pretty good continental breakfast. Overall satisfied.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Joy M.
Business
N/A
Apr 6, 2015

perfect intro to San Franciso. the opal exceededt exceeded our exoectations

The opal exceeded our expectations. It served as a home base and was a comfortable and cheerful start for each day with unexceptional healthy breakfast Darius

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Vu D.
Business
Las Vegas
Apr 6, 2015

Solo trip

It's super convenience! The restaurant, bars, and bus stops are walking distance. It's really cheap for a expensive fun town. They have continental breakfast, the staffs are very helpful. The room are just simple but who will stay in their rooms, when there is a beautiful city to see! Unfortunately there are no refrigerators but its can be easily over look. There are no shuttle to the hotel but there is for the airport for $16.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Evan Z.
Business
San Diego
Mar 17, 2015

San Fran Trip

Pretty good hotel for the price. The hotel finishes are ok, but the location and price were very good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
RDRss
Business
Tamarac
Mar 9, 2015

Great Trip

The room was somewhat damp, the beds need to be changed out used, not enough outlets, no microwave or refrig.in rooms or on the floor. Besides, the staff was great friendly and informative. Great location, awesome fresh meat bar/ deli across the stree.t

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
R2D2Arthur
Business
Naucalpan
Mar 4, 2015

Good Trip

Its what you pay for. SF is a expensive city. So this is a good hotel it fits your budget just perfect.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top