$159 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 10, 2015 Check-out: Sep 11, 2015

The Opal San Francisco

3 stars
View map of 1050 Van Ness Avenue, San Francisco, CA 94109

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Opal San Francisco

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
631 out of 631
Amenities:
3.3
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
3.7
Value:
3.8

81% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Calibuckeye
Family
San Diego, CA
Nov 11, 2013

Fantastic stay!

The Opal has a wonderful and helpful staff and a very old school French feel to the hotel. They even sent me a complimentary bottle of wine to our room for my birthday. Would definitely stay here again on our next trip to San Fran!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Celia M.
Couples
Denver
Jul 17, 2015

great deal in sanfrancisco

Hotel on the edge of the tenderloin (only beginning to be gentrified) but therefore better than some in this area. Free breakfast has a very adequate breakfast if you are not an omelet and bacon person. Room was small but fine. Carpet could use a shampoo. Other than the carpet the room was clean. Staff was friendly and helpful. Guests are a very international clientele. Clearly the least expensive hotel I could find in San Francisco and the free cancellation allowed me to cancel and rebook if the price came down. Never saw the fitness room but impressed they had one.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Collin B.
Couples
N/A
Jul 13, 2015

Fun few days

Great little trip, the staff at the opal was fantastic and it's in a central location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Brock
Single
Corvallis
Jul 4, 2015

awesome

This hotel is perfect location since I was doing something in Chinese Consulate.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Brock
Single
Corvallis
Jul 4, 2015

awesome trip

This hotel is perfect location since I was doing something in Chinese Consulate.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Ilovenature
Single
N/A
Jul 2, 2015

Ok for short stay

Hotel decor is a little dated. Rate at the time was high for what you get. Location is quite convenient, bus stop just a few steps away.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jonfree
Couples
Central
Jun 28, 2015

Good hotel

Good location, close to Union Square. There´s a bus stop next to the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Karl R.
Couples
N/A
Jun 26, 2015

Stay in San Francisco

The location was a good one for us. The staff were helpful and courteous. The room was clean. The mattress was a little stiff but we slept well. There is no hotel parking so parked in a garage around the corner. All in all it was a good stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Thabita
Business
N/A
Jun 23, 2015

Quaint Hotel

Cute rooms with some of the amenities nice enough staff. It is very secure and not that noisy, even though it is located closed to downtown SF.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mini Vacationer Cathi
Family
Chandler
Jun 21, 2015

Great Room great price

I would absolutely stay here again. The staff was great!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Peter M.
Couples
Kosice
Jun 15, 2015

Trip

The staff was very helpfull. Hotel is nice but little bit old fashioned.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Back to menu Return to top