$169 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 25, 2015 Check-out: Aug 28, 2015

The Opal San Francisco

3 stars
View map of 1050 Van Ness Avenue, San Francisco, CA 94109

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Opal San Francisco

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
621 out of 621
Amenities:
3.3
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
3.7
Value:
3.8

81% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Pete Zahut
Washington DC
Jun 12, 2013

Opal in early June

Excellent value, excellent location, excellent staff...room was clean and spacious (king-size bed, non-smoking, facing south on 4th floor)...staff was highly professional, courteous, and answered all our questions...breakfast was filling and simple (hard-boiled eggs, toast, bagels, cream cheese) and allowed us to save money for a nicer lunch...close to public transportation (including Muni buses and California/Van Ness cable car terminus a few blocks away)...EXTREMELY EASY ACCESS to FIsherman's Wharf, Civic Center/Union Square, and other locations. We were able to go to the wine hour on Wednesdays 5-6 where there were tons of cheese, crackers, and red and white wines (only a handful of people were there and the staff gave us the already opened bottles after the hour ended). As for location, it is indeed on the edge of the Tenderloin, but unlike other guests, we did not see or experience any 'unsavory characters' either during the day or at night (we stayed at Opal mid-week in early June). Absolutely plan to stay there again for our next trip to SF.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Plenty of cheap and filling ethnic (Thai, Indian) restaurants a few blocks east in Tenderloin (if you're willing to tolerate the sight of a few homeless people).

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Peter M.
Business
Kosice
Jun 15, 2015

Trip

The staff was very helpfull. Hotel is nice but little bit old fashioned.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Jacqui B
Business
N/A
Jun 5, 2015

Good for purpose

Decent stay, good continental bfast. Did tours, not in hotel much. Not far walk. Def go to Napa valley, marketplace , bourbon n Branch, and the cable cars!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
chris b.
Business
N/A
Jun 1, 2015

Hotel has seen better days and surrounding streets are a bit scary

Hotel is great value for SF. It has seen better days, fixtures and fittings are old and the breakfast is poor. But it more than does the job as a fairly centrally located hotel for people that want to see SF rather than hang around the hotel. The only real downsides that the surrounding streets (Geary in particular) are full of tramps and people sleeping rough. We just took uber back to the hotel and had no problems. I wouldn't have been happy walking late at night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
KARAMLEA
Business
CHICAGO
May 14, 2015

fun trip with my husband

Hotel was convenient located, 30 minutes walk to fisherman wharf, accross the street from restaurant and close to Union center

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Wendy s.
Business
N/A
Apr 26, 2015

Nice Clean Hotel

This is a nice establishment and the price is right. The rooms are clean, showers nothing special but everything in working order. Its easy to get cabs from here, the internet is free and a continental breakfast is included. The only downside is its in a questionable neighborhood as part of the Tenderloin I suspect if not on its corner. Not great for walking after dark but I never had a problem as a single woman during the day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Yesi G.
Business
Wheat Ridge
Apr 18, 2015

Awesome Weekend Getaway

perfect location in center of San Francisco heart and right off a bus line, easy check in and the staff was very pleasant, complimentary breakfast was standard, room was clean and bed was comfy. Walls were pretty thin could hear conversation happening next door but they were pretty loud. Located in the Tenderloin neighborhood which I read was pretty predominant to the homeless community but the entire surrounding area I noticed of San Francisco had homeless individuals and I didn’t feel threatened. I would recommend staying here! and I would stay here again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Missing Boots
Business
Philadelphia
Apr 18, 2015

Want to have you things stolen?

My boots were stolen from my room! I just couldn't believe it. Never staying here again!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Roberto S.
Business
San Francisco
Apr 8, 2015

one of the best hotel's in SF

i always love this hotel one of the best in downtown SF Affordable

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
LoriJ
Business
Los Angeles
Apr 6, 2015

San Francisco getaway

We were in town for a 3 day trip for business/pleasure. The Opal got the job done and then some. Based on what I paid I wasn't expecting the best stay but was pleasantly surprised. Very nice staff willing to go out of their way to help. Comfortable beds, pretty good continental breakfast. Overall satisfied.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Joy M.
Business
N/A
Apr 6, 2015

perfect intro to San Franciso. the opal exceededt exceeded our exoectations

The opal exceeded our expectations. It served as a home base and was a comfortable and cheerful start for each day with unexceptional healthy breakfast Darius

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top