$149 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jun 4, 2015 Check-out: Jun 5, 2015

The Opal San Francisco

3 stars
View map of 1050 Van Ness Avenue, San Francisco, CA 94109

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Opal San Francisco

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
711 out of 711
Amenities:
3.3
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
3.7
Value:
3.8

81% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Super Chomak
Santa Rosa
Nov 13, 2012

Great Place and not expensive either!

We stayed in the Junior Suite which was perfect for our family of 4. It had two queen beds (which is hard to find in SF) and a queen sofa sleeper in a small sitting area and a large walk in closet!. Lots of room!!!!! As others have said, it is an older hotel so don't expect modern furniture or TV, but TV reception was great. Reason I left a 4 star for cleanliness was because the pillows were sub-par on comfort and they appeared old. The pillow cases were clean though so not to worry! And the blanket in the sofa sleeper was a bit gross, so we didn't use it. The continental breakfast was great! Yogurt, bagels, toast, fruit, mufifins, hot chocolate and good coffee!.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

If you are staying with a car, the meters are free on Sundays. You can also park for free in a yellow zone after 6PM.

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Evan Z.
Business
San Diego
Mar 17, 2015

San Fran Trip

Pretty good hotel for the price. The hotel finishes are ok, but the location and price were very good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
RDRss
Business
Tamarac
Mar 9, 2015

Great Trip

The room was somewhat damp, the beds need to be changed out used, not enough outlets, no microwave or refrig.in rooms or on the floor. Besides, the staff was great friendly and informative. Great location, awesome fresh meat bar/ deli across the stree.t

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
R2D2Arthur
Business
Naucalpan
Mar 4, 2015

Good Trip

Its what you pay for. SF is a expensive city. So this is a good hotel it fits your budget just perfect.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
donna s.
Business
Oak Park
Feb 28, 2015

opal is a jewel

spent 5 nights at this charming, vintage hotel. We really loved the staff, decor, cleanliness, and location. Quick walk to San Francisco Playhouse and American Conservatory Theatre. Great value!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MomAnn
Business
Mount Shasta
Feb 28, 2015

SF family trip

We are so happy with our stay at the Opal. Very comfortable bed, nice bathroom, all very clean and well maintained. Loved the late night milkshake from Mel's too. We'll be back

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sean
Business
Warren
Feb 24, 2015

good

was pleased overall. was able to find something for a good price and not too far from downtown

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
moma roper
Business
Thousand oaks
Feb 18, 2015

Moma Roper San Fran trip

Hidden charge! We had read that we were going to have to pay to park our car. We had read reviews that said u[ to $25. We were ok with $25 THAT WAS NOT TRUE. We got to the hotel and it was $38 plus tax to park our car. For a GRAND TOTAL OF $42. Completely ridiculous! This was not valet. It was self park at the hotel. The bed was like sleeping on a board. I am not even kidding we felt like we had bruises in the morning with what little sleep we did get. We will NEVER stay here again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JJ
Business
Vacaville
Feb 18, 2015

V-Day trip

Room and experience was ok, the only really negative part was trying to find parking.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Rain
Business
San Francisco
Feb 17, 2015

Good

It is easy check in, and the room is comfortable. There is a AMC next to the hotel, and a restaurant for food at night downstairs.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Tina Travels
Business
Las Vegas
Feb 4, 2015

great weekend getaway

My friends and I stayed at the Opal for the weekend. It was perfectly close to a lot of the things we wanted to do. The room in the picture was definitely not the room we got, but whatever. We deal with the small room. The staff was friendly. At night we would encounter a lot of shady characters, but nothing pepper spray wouldnt fend off. Overall a good place to rest your tired achey bodies. Lol

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top