$129 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Apr 5, 2015 Check-out: Apr 8, 2015

The Opal San Francisco

3 stars
View map of 1050 Van Ness Avenue, San Francisco, CA 94109

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Opal San Francisco

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
656 out of 656
Amenities:
3.3
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
3.7
Value:
3.8

81% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
SecondHoneymoon20
Louisiana
Feb 4, 2014

Great room for price

Nice hotel. About 6 easy walking blocks from the BART. Good free breakfast. Great Staff. 6 Blocks from Union Square.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Scba
Business
Cambridge
Feb 4, 2015

Value Hotel

It is the least expensive hotel in the nearby areas. The location is convinient, close to downtown, has a nearby cinema.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Riley L.
Business
Edmond
Feb 4, 2015

The only good thing is the location

We got there in the middle of night. And the room is cold, the A/C didn't work very well. The room is pretty small. I was glad we only spent one night there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sean
Business
Warren
Jan 22, 2015

Nice

Was pleased with cleanliness and friendly staff. I'd stay here again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tnltn
Business
Westlake
Jan 12, 2015

Business Trip

The hotel is in a short walking distance from Union square, restaurants& bars. The staff was helpful and nice. It is a historic building however the design was old. If they want to attract more tourists it needs some renovation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

It was fun to hang out in Union square, to look around shops. There was a handmade perfume shop which got my attention while walking around. I had dinner in Cheesecake factory with an amazing Sf view. Of course the cable cars are the most interesting thing in the city.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Frank Nestaval
Business
BRADENTON
Jan 12, 2015

Family trip

this hotel is just by the airport and suitable max. for 2 nights.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Maria R.
Business
N/A
Jan 12, 2015

Weekend business

Excellent staff. Good breakfast . Diner next door also excellent work connecting door to the hotel

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Shameram K.
Business
modesto
Jan 5, 2015

Froze All Night

Our heater was broken and the temperature in our room was 58 all night! This was the worst hotel experience we have ever had. First the heater would not come on we called down for someone to come turn it on for us. We also noticed there was a portable heater in the closet, obvious bad sign. Then we woke up in the middle of the night and the temperature was on 58 and the unit was blowing cold air on our heads. We ended up leaving the hotel at 6am, some vacation!!! The bathroom had hair on the floor and we also found hair in our bed. When i told the receptionist during our checkout, she said she would discount the parking fee, which is crazy, and never once apologized for the inconvenience we experienced. I would not recommend this place to anyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Vini
Business
Brasilia
Dec 31, 2014

Two nights stay

The hotel turned out to be farther from Union Square than I expected (20min walk), and the neighborhood around the Civic Center is quite odd. The hotel is more old-fashioned, but the staff was nice and let us use their storage room for later pick-up, which is very handy. Their complimentary continental breakfast is good, with a nice variety of fruits, breads, and juices, however I wish they had a bigger room to accommodate the big amount of guests. If you try to eat there after 9am you will have a hard time getting around the crowd to use the toaster or reach for a juice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Brett
Business
Bloomington
Dec 30, 2014

Trip to SF

We stayed for three nights, and I think this hotel was a good choice. The location is convenient. The bus stop is right outside, and you can save some more money if you are will to walk since a lot of places are walkable from here. Room condition is fair. Wifi connection is not good though.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Karen R.
Business
Bakersfield
Dec 29, 2014

Our standard location

The Opal is an older hotel like most in the city. The location is central. Walking distance to some great restaurants. Mel's Diner is attached to the hotel and serves good food at a good price point. The hotel does offer a breakfast. Only drawback is the size of the bathroom, especially the shower. I don't think they could have made it any smaller! Overall a good experience every visit and the added bonus of secure parking for an additional fee with no extra charge for in and out service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Mel's Diner. Convenient, good food at moderate prices

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top