$103 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jul 13, 2014 Check-out: Jul 14, 2014

The Opal San Francisco

3 stars
1050 Van Ness Avenue, San Francisco, CA 94109
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
880 reviews
Good price for location

Friendly and helpful staff. Large comfortable room. See full review

  • MarianaMC
  • Apr 27, 2014
The Opal Stay

We found The Opal very helpful and welcoming to all our request. Staff was very efficient and... See full review

  • Jan Combs
  • Apr 12, 2014
Historic hotel and spacious suites -- walking distance to Union Square

Dating back to 1908, this five-story Union Square hotel still boasts the stained glass windows, period antiques and other decorative touches that hearken back to a simpler time. Rooms are clean and efficient; spacious work desks are popular among business travelers. Other amenities include a complimentary on-site fitness center and 24-hour coffee and tea service, as well as a complimentary breakfast buffet.

Highlights
  • Walking distance to shopping in Union Square
  • Historic architecture, decorative touches
  • 24-hour coffee and tea service
  • Complimentary breakfast buffet
Rooms

Each of The Opal's 164 guest rooms features central air and heat, cable television and complimentary high-speed Internet. (There's also free Wi-Fi in the hotel lobby.) Suites include small sitting areas with plush sofas. A handful of rooms have windows that look out onto the bustling Union

Features
The hotel has received a three-diamond rating from AAA and was selected as the Crescent Hotel and Resorts "Hotel of the Year" in 2008. A baby grand piano welcomes visitors to the lobby of The Opal -- a public area decorated to invoke the way it looked when the hotel debuted in 1908.

Elsewhere on the property is a 24-hour laundry facility (fees apply) and car rental desk (fees apply; rentals also can be facilitated by the concierge). Overnight parking is also available (fees apply).

All guests have complimentary access to a state-of-the-art on-site fitness center. Guests also are entitled to a complimentary breakfast buffet every morning.

After a long day exploring the city, grab a milkshake and a tuna melt at the on-site outpost of Mel's Drive-In, a 1950s-style diner that has become a San Francisco institution. The restaurant is open 24 hours on weekends.
Transportation
  • San Francisco International Airport (45 minutes)
  • Oakland International Airport (40 minutes)
  • MUNI bus (5 minutes walking)
  • Cable car stops (15 minutes walking)
  • BART (18 minutes walking)
Attractions
  • Union Square
  • Theater District
  • Embarcadero
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art
  • AT&T Park
Policies and fees

Debit cards are not acceptable at check-in. Overnight Parking is available (FEES APPLY).

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

The Opal San Francisco Rooms

Superior Junior Suite
Superior Jr Suite-Free Continential Breakfast Free Internet
Executive Suite
King bed w-Living room Free Cont Brkfst-Wireless Internet Access
KING JUNIOR SUITE
ONE KING BED - SITTING AREA FREE CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST BUFFET FREE WIRELESS INTERNET ACCESS
Deluxe King
Deluxe King - Free Continential Breakfast Free Internet access
Deluxe Double Double
Deluxe Double Room Free Continential Breakfast Buffet
Deluxe Queen
Deluxe Queen-Free Continential Breakfast Free Internet access

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
General
Air conditioned
Free local telephone calls
Elevators
Dining
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
Coffee shop
Meal plan - continental
Family plan
Services
24 hour front desk
Maid service
Guest laundromat
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
Security
In-Room Safe
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Room
Temperature control
Electronic door locks
International direct dial
Sprinklers in rooms

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Opal San Francisco also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

Hotel Map

37.7855 -122.4209
Nearby airports
San Francisco International Airport, (SFO), 25.00, MI, W; Oakland International Airport, (OAK), 22.10, MI, NW;
Area description
City Center

Nearby points of interest

  • Civic Centre: 0.2 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.2 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.4 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 0.5 mi
  • Japantown: 0.5 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 0.5 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 0.5 mi
  • Japan Center: 0.5 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 0.6 mi
  • Nob Hill: 0.6 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 0.6 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.6 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.7 mi
  • Union Square: 0.8 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.2 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.2 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.4 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 0.5 mi
  • Japantown: 0.5 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 0.5 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 0.5 mi
  • Japan Center: 0.5 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 0.6 mi
  • Nob Hill: 0.6 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 0.6 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.6 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.7 mi
  • Union Square: 0.8 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.8 mi
  • SoMa: 0.8 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.9 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.9 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 1 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 1 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 1.1 mi
  • Moscone Center: 1.1 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 1.1 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 1.1 mi
  • Chinatown: 1.1 mi
  • Lombard Street: 1.1 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 1.2 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 1.2 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 1.4 mi
  • Coit Tower: 1.4 mi
  • Walter Adams Gallery: 1.4 mi
  • Mission Dolores: 1.5 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 1.5 mi
  • Mission Delores: 1.6 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 1.6 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 1.6 mi
  • Ferry Building: 1.6 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 1.7 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 1.7 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 1.7 mi
  • Underwater World: 1.7 mi
  • ATT Park: 1.7 mi
  • Haight Ashbury: 1.7 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 1.7 mi
  • Pier 39: 1.7 mi

Dining

Mels Drive In Diner
Classic American Food - 1950 Diner

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (880)

Ratings and reviews for The Opal San Francisco

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
880 out of 880
Amenities:
3.3
Room cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3.7
Location:
3.7
Value:
3.9

82% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
DebGal
Lancaster, Pa
Jun 23, 2013

great place

Nice old building, great location, and Brad was so helpful with things to see and do!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Golden Gate national Park

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Alternating Current
Texas
Jun 26, 2012

Good deal for the price

The staff was great. We couldn't have asked for better. Continental breakfast was good also. Its an old hotel that has been rennovated. Old CRT televisions. Beds are comfortable but the room isn't glamorous but it does the job. Its the city and the sites that we were after and Opal gave us a nice place to lay our heads and take baths. Lobby looks nice. Its located next door to an AMC theater. We also rode the bus. The #47 stops right outside for $2 takes you to fisherman's wharf. Also the #18 take you a block away from the BART, trolley, and tons of shopping. Oh yeah and its connected to a Mells dinner with great food and awesome malt/shakes.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

connect to Mels diner

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dookey21
San Diego CA
Jun 26, 2012

Good stay

only one night there but was a good location and clean with nice/helpfull staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
mgsekar
Business
nashville
Jun 20, 2012

Nice stay

enjoyed the stay. Hotel is in a convenient location to attend the conference. Will recommend to the other people.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
DG 2012 x1
Portland OR
Jun 19, 2012

Recent Opal visit

I enjoyed the central location. Could walk to trains and easy public transport right out front. Overall enjoyed my stay there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Matt from Seattle
Seattle, WA
Jun 18, 2012

Good Deal in San Francisco

I enjoyed my stay at The Opal. The rooms were simply furnished but large and clean, it was relatively quiet, and the staff was nice and helpful. The included continental breakfast wasn't the best I have seen, but for this price, it was great: Two different kinds of bread, muffins, hard-boiled eggs, coffee, juice, yogurt. I'd definitely stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Papa Mac
Fairfax, VA
Jun 12, 2012

Price was right

This is a fine old hotel, centrally located with convenient parking. Ask ahead about the cost for parking. It was pretty expensive, but I guess for central city that's to be expected. Transfer of luggage between the lower garage and the room was awkward and confusing, but the staff was ready to assist. Staff at the front desk was very knowledgable and assisted me with shopping, dining choices nearby. Stayed for a family reunion in the area on my way from SFO to a longer visit in Sacramento. I'd certainly stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Alabama
Jun 10, 2012

Not bad, not great, just good.

This is a classic 3 star hotel. Clean, nice staff, old, elevator makes noises and you are on the edge of the Tenderloin district. I actually liked the shady neighborhood characters and enjoyed watching them from a great diner next door - Mel's. Walk a few blocks and you can get on a trolley going anywhere. Would stay again, wife would prefer closer to Union Square.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Mel's Diner is next door and a great place for breakfast. I got up really early one morning (still dark) and while enjoying my eggs and hot coffee, watched a hooker beat down her pimp on Van Ness Blvd. Stuff I don't get to see in my home town.

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
FBGordon
Destin, FL, USA
Jun 2, 2012

Great place in San Francisco.

Although a little dated, I really enjoyed my stay at the Opal. It was in a great location, the room was spotless and comfortable, and the value was well worth it. The next time I'm in San Francisco, I'll be looking to the Opal again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Five blocks away is Bourbon & Branch, a speakeasy. If you like classic cocktails, you have to go here. High-end whiskey and cocktails with complex but delicious palettes are their thing. You'll need a reservation, so email or call them!

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
First Time in San Fran
NJ
Jun 1, 2012

Average Stay

The hotel was average, very clean and very friendly staff. The room was small but comfortable for two people. The continental breakfast was average - fruit, bread, hard boiled eggs, yogurt, and variety of hot/cold beverages. It's far from Fisherman's Wharf. If you can find a decent hotel in Fisherman's Wharf, then I would recommend that. Overall, the hotel was average, but the staff made it worth while.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Fisherman's Wharf

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Dani the scholar
Business
New York, NY
May 27, 2012

Okay hotel, nothing special

The hotel is a typical 3-star hotel, in a so-so area. The staff is very friendly though. Breakfast is pretty bad.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top