$109 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: May 12, 2015 Check-out: May 13, 2015

The Opal San Francisco

3 stars
View map of 1050 Van Ness Avenue, San Francisco, CA 94109

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Opal San Francisco

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
661 out of 661
Amenities:
3.3
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
3.7
Value:
3.8

81% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
SFOtraveller
Business
toronto
Aug 3, 2013

nice but kind of expensive

location is good, staff is friendly, breakfast buffet is nice, but parking is not included and kind of expensive($25/day) , the toilet is often blocked.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
CDSTG
Business
NYC
Jul 27, 2013

Not Good

I read the reviews, I looked at the pictures and when I arrived, nothing was as it seemed online. I stayed the first night and checked out having already paid for the next two evenings. It was that bad. You would not want to put anything on the hotel room carpet, ie, luggage for fear of who knows what.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
byakuren
Business
san francisco, ca
Jul 22, 2013

great location!

My husband and I just stayed at the Opal for 4 nights and had a wonderful stay. The beds were comfortable and the location was central to everything! There was also a free continental breakfast and the staff was very helpfull and attentive. We informed them that we were celebrating our honeymoon and they gave us a free complimentary bottle of wine. I will definitely come back and recommend the Opal to friends and family!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
absolutislove
Business
Singapore
Jul 17, 2013

Clean rooms for cheap!

Rooms were clean and the size was adequate for the four of us. Breakfast was also good. A direct bus ride to the AT&T Park for all you Baseball fans out there!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Nick southern traveler
Business
South Georgia
Jul 14, 2013

Stay away from this hotel

The hotel is not located in a beautiful setting like described on their website. There is no valet parking or staff to help with your bags. Our room had dirty socks beside the bed and the power went out a couple of times through out the night. Very, very disappointed with our booking.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Do not walk anywhere from this hotel. It's not very far from Chinatown, but you must walk through some bad parts if town to get there.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Viki Anderson
Business
Omaha, Ne
Jul 13, 2013

Very comfortable

If you are looking for luxury, don't come. But if you are looking for a clean, comfortable room with a great helpful staff that is centrally located for excellent Muni transportation...THIS IS YOUR PLACE. I will come back here next time. I loved the old hotel charm. I loved that the staff was so incredibly helpful and sincerely nice. The continental breakfast was good. The connected Mel's Diner was a great for quick meals when you did not want to travel to a restaurant. And Tommy's Joynt is right across the street (bring cash only) well worth it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Get a CityPass! Get on any Muni Bus, Trolly, Cable Car, Underground. Ride as many times as you want. They are good for 10 days. I talked with a guy who rented a car and after 2 days turned it back in because the Muni system was way faster and cheaper (no gas or parking fees). And they include tickets to attractions you will want to use (bay cruise, museums, aquariums etc.)

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
geauxtigers
Business
Baton Rouge, LA, USA
Jul 10, 2013

4th Getaway

Not a bad place to stay for one night but not a place to stay for a week vacation. Location seemed far from Union Square.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Tommaso’s for Italian!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
cobra9254
Business
Indianapolis, Indiana
Jul 3, 2013

Great value, great accommodations

My first visit to San Francisco was very pleasant. I was really surprised that the hotel was as nice as it was for the price I paid. Ended up with 2 queen beds and a sofa bed. The staff was helpful. The parking garage was close by at $24 a day. Continental breakfast was good. Walking distance to drug store, fast food, public transportation. If I go back to San Francisco I will stay again at the Opal.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Take one or more guided tours. I took the deluxe tour of Muir Woods, Golden Gate, etc. If I had more time I would have done Alcatraz.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
DebGal
Business
Lancaster, Pa
Jun 23, 2013

great place

Nice old building, great location, and Brad was so helpful with things to see and do!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Golden Gate national Park

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Maggie3333
Business
Chicago
Jun 20, 2013

Good time

The hotel has a good location. The staff was very nice and very very helpful. The breakfast was great - everyone could find something for yourself. Our room was clean but very small and old.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top