$172 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 26, 2015 Check-out: Aug 29, 2015

The Opal San Francisco

3 stars
View map of 1050 Van Ness Avenue, San Francisco, CA 94109

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Opal San Francisco

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
621 out of 621
Amenities:
3.3
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
3.7
Value:
3.8

81% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Magic Mike
Business
Washington, DC, USA
Oct 20, 2013

Nice

Really nice staff, fine breakfast, close to cable cars so you can get around well. Some of the carpets are dated, but otherwise fine.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Mel's diner is a California Classic. Try the expresso milkshake.

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Texannyc
Business
New York, ny
Oct 8, 2013

Decent place for a little too much **

I believe that the hotel was overpriced for what it offered but the fact that there were two large medical conferences in town that weekend I'll give it a break. Compared to other places that weekend it probably was a good deal. The continental breakfast was a little light on pastry choices, bread or bagel or muffin but was adequate. Good location and easily accessible to public transit, and not too far (10-15 min walk) to Market Street. Overall I'd say it's a decent place in a good location, and if rates aren't jacked due to an extra busy convention weekend, probably a decent deal.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
sharpdart
Business
Williamsburg/Brooklyn, NY
Sep 30, 2013

OK for two nights

We booked at the Opal through a travel website, which had a 20% off special on hotels. It worked out to $200 a night, and we stayed for two nights. Overall, it's not a bad place. It's a relatively clean, old hotel that is in a not so convenient (and somewhat sketchy) location. We had a basic room with a king size bed, which was adequately comfortable, but the pillows (all four) were flat and useless. We stayed on the fourth floor and didn't hear the traffic on the street, so that was a big plus. The water pressure was decent, and the bathroom was spotless. The tv was an old box - a reminder that the hotel hasn't seen an update in the last ten or more years. The continental breakfast was nothing more than the basic bread, basic pastries, basic yogurt, coffee and tea. It will give you enough energy until you reach a place for breakfast or lunch, but you may have to stock up - if you loved hosteling in your youth, you might appreciate the nostalgia of a sugar and caffeine laden high. Would I return? Probably not.. But for what it was, I can't say it was bad. I'm sure there are plenty of people who are more than happy with their experience. They don't do anything wrong (maybe the pillows), but they do a good, basic job of providing a place to crash in a city that is sooo expensive. For the price, however, I would probably have stayed in a neighborhood that had more to offer. Since it's not close to the BART or Muni, the cab rides tacked on another expense that would have justified an upgrade.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
hovo
Business
toluca lake, ca.
Sep 16, 2013

eeehhhh

dirty/bad carpeting. Not good room layout. Bad TV location. Bathroom had nice tiles, shower, sink.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
cyclopscycle
Business
lax
Sep 16, 2013

place to sleep

continental breakfeast was good. Mel's diner also next door. considering the price it was OK. You may want to look around pay a little more for a hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Long walk from hotel

many homeless people all around area of hotel. be aware if walking streets late at night.

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
A New Chico Mom
Business
Santa Maria, California
Sep 13, 2013

Couples getaway

The parking lot was full, so we parked in another lot around the corner which was $25/day. The rooms building is very old and rooms were average, nothing special. The restaurants on Polk street were in walking distance and the thai food restaurant "chai yo" was great. It seemed this hotel was the most reasonable for the area in august 2013.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Polk street is great for restaurants

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Maka2
Business
Sierra Madre
Sep 10, 2013

Very nice older hotel

We loved that the windows opened to allow in the fresh air of San Franciso. During our stay, the temperature in the City was above average. The hotel is close to Chinatown, Union Square, and the Tenderloin District.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Brenda' s for breakfast. French soul food. Try to get there at 8am when it opens, otherwise be prepared to wait!!oh my, the homemade peach jam was delicious !

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
gypsygirl9
Business
fair oaks ca
Sep 4, 2013

Fun in San Francisco.

Nothing fancy but it was clean and quiet and well situated in the city. Just a cab ride away from everything cool. I'd stay there again. Just FYI they do charge 30$ for parking and a 50$ deposit on the garage opener. It made the over all price higher, so keep that in mind when budgeting.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
quicktrip75
Business
Petaluma, California
Sep 3, 2013

A little pricey for what you get.

The Opal was clean and the staff was friendly and helpful, but that alone did not justify the price. I had to book last minute so that did not help my bottom line but I feel I over paid for what I got. The room was spacious enough but their was not much in the way of amenities.It does, however, have a decent location in its favor. I would recommend this hotel IF you can book well in advance and get a good deal.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Zyebith
Business
Bay Area, Ca.
Sep 2, 2013

Soccer Tournament

I asked for a double room like the pic showed and they have no such room :( BEWARE!!!!!! What they don't tell you is that there is a $35.00 parking expense for the garage :( This hotel is old and you can not reach the bathroom paper as it is across the bathroom :(

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top