$129 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jul 3, 2015 Check-out: Jul 4, 2015

The Opal San Francisco

3 stars
View map of 1050 Van Ness Avenue, San Francisco, CA 94109

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Opal San Francisco

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
719 out of 719
Amenities:
3.3
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
3.7
Value:
3.8

81% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
001Traveler001
Business
new york
Jan 19, 2014

OK for a short stay

The staff was friendly and checking in/out was quick and easy. The hotel itself was alright for a short stay. The place is a bit outdated and dingy, but the room was a decent size and had all the necessities for a night. There were some stains on the carpeting and chair in the room, but the bed linen seemed clean. It wasn't my favorite hotel but it was decent for the price. I didn't have breakfast in the morning so I'm not sure how that was.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
KonnieKatt
Business
Mtn. View, CA
Jan 18, 2014

Excellent location

I like to walk, take Muni, and visit museums and theaters when I'm in SF. The very central location (corner of Van Ness & Geary) was perfect for that. On Wednesday evening, complimentary wine and cheese was served in the lobby.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
ResidentMocker
Business
San Francisco
Jan 15, 2014

Friendly staff, but clumsy hotel

My room was cold - like 53ºF cold. Beds were so cold, it felt wet. Heater didn't work. Radiators didn't help.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Merdi H
Business
Kansas City
Jan 14, 2014

Helpful Staff

I thought the staff was all very helpful. They had good suggestions for food and entertainment in the area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Merdi H
Business
Kansas City
Jan 14, 2014

Great Staff

I especially liked the staff at the Opal. They had several recommendations when asked, about food and entertainment choices around the area. They were all pleasant and friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
A Boyfriend
Business
NYC
Jan 5, 2014

Convenient and Economical Stay

All in all the hotel is reasonable for its value. The location has its pluses and minuses. The hotel is conveniently located within 10-15 mins walk to the station (civic center/un plaza), the walk might take you thru diversifying characters and landscape which to me speaks of San Frans current urban devlopment. The hotels staff is accommodating and pleasant. Hotel is also located across Tommy's joynt (carved meats buffet style bar)...A local stomping ground for meat eaters. Mel's diner is located at its coner and seemingingly packed all day. Hotel room itself is small and tight. Kept as clean as it could be...but dated and as equivalent to any NYC 'hells kitchen' cheap price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

The mission district !

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Italygirl
Business
Los Angeles,CA
Dec 24, 2013

Opal Hotel

for an old hotel this place was very well preserved. Nothing over the top fancy, but comfortable beds and quiet room, sufficient breakfast offered as well. Hotel staff were very efficient as I reported a "broken" toilet, it was attended to immediately.. Neighborhood a little fringy but overall good bang for the buck.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Friendly Traveler Joan
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Dec 11, 2013

Good location at a good price

It is located a few blocks away from Union Square where we were able to access the Big Bus (which was a great buy) to go around the city. The room is pretty decent, but don't expect a flat screen TV.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
KHerna9895
Business
Sacramento, CA
Dec 4, 2013

Nice hotel, needs updating

Overall for San Francisco this hotel is a pretty good value. The bathrooms are a bit dingy, as is the rest of the room décor. However, the beds are comfortable and the location is right next to a movie theater. I would recommend it if you can get a good price (under $100 per night).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Right next door to a nice movie theater.

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Lou Christine
Business
New York, NY
Nov 24, 2013

Romantic age hotel

Lobby is beautiful. Hotel is reminiscent of Victorian age opulence. Unfortunately, the carpets in our rooms seemed like they were installed during Victorian age. Breakfast is excellent. The staff are not friendly. They are very aloof and dismissive. The only exception is the young lady in the breakfast room. She has warm smile and greets guests.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top