$109 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: May 12, 2015 Check-out: May 13, 2015

The Opal San Francisco

3 stars
View map of 1050 Van Ness Avenue, San Francisco, CA 94109

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Opal San Francisco

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
661 out of 661
Amenities:
3.3
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
3.7
Value:
3.8

81% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Super Chomak
Santa Rosa
Nov 13, 2012

Great Place and not expensive either!

We stayed in the Junior Suite which was perfect for our family of 4. It had two queen beds (which is hard to find in SF) and a queen sofa sleeper in a small sitting area and a large walk in closet!. Lots of room!!!!! As others have said, it is an older hotel so don't expect modern furniture or TV, but TV reception was great. Reason I left a 4 star for cleanliness was because the pillows were sub-par on comfort and they appeared old. The pillow cases were clean though so not to worry! And the blanket in the sofa sleeper was a bit gross, so we didn't use it. The continental breakfast was great! Yogurt, bagels, toast, fruit, mufifins, hot chocolate and good coffee!.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

If you are staying with a car, the meters are free on Sundays. You can also park for free in a yellow zone after 6PM.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Lou Christine
Business
New York, NY
Nov 24, 2013

Romantic age hotel

Lobby is beautiful. Hotel is reminiscent of Victorian age opulence. Unfortunately, the carpets in our rooms seemed like they were installed during Victorian age. Breakfast is excellent. The staff are not friendly. They are very aloof and dismissive. The only exception is the young lady in the breakfast room. She has warm smile and greets guests.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Calibuckeye
Business
San Diego, CA
Nov 11, 2013

Fantastic stay!

The Opal has a wonderful and helpful staff and a very old school French feel to the hotel. They even sent me a complimentary bottle of wine to our room for my birthday. Would definitely stay here again on our next trip to San Fran!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
MissMarni
Business
South of San Jose
Nov 10, 2013

very acceptable

Quaint old place in need of an update. Surprisingly high quality continental breakfast.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Dave's World
Business
Lake Tahoe, NV
Nov 7, 2013

Who Thinks this Hotel is Three Stars?

Over the years, I have stayed at this hotel and its service and quality grow worse with each stay. This stay lasted about 30 minutes before I checked out and found a decent hotel. This is the problem with the booking website is pre-pay because it doesn't give you the ability to demand a refund when the hotel is profoundly inferior compared to how it is represented on the site. Keep that in mind. Issues -- room smelled like a latrine. Television in the room was small, CRT, had to be at least 20 years old. The hotel locks the entry doors so arrival at 700p required being buzzed in. The front desk person, Maria, saw me at the door and didn't open it until I yelled to get her attention. She then chastised me for yelling. Great hospitality attitude by her and others. Parking is a disaster -- hard to find, you need a clicker provided by the desk. Be sure not to ask Maria where parking can be found or how to get there. English as a second language spoken very fast makes her incomprehensible, and when asked to speak slower, she actually did the opposite. If you'd like to enjoy San Francisco as if camping in an outhouse, this is the place for you. Otherwise, pay a few dollars more and select a branded hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Maxi's at the Opera House plaza is a great, reasonably priced restaurant.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Malcolm Betty
Business
Boston
Nov 2, 2013

Nice place but little expensive

The room I stayed has a nice view and it was clean but the towels were not clean enough.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

It was very close to downtown

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mickey Mack
Business
Portland
Oct 30, 2013

Quiet friendly old hotel

The opal is a great place to do a walkabout of S.F. The staff is vell informed and can provide usefull Info on the colorfull area that you can't get from reading the tourist info mags. The hotel is old and needs new carpeting and seats. Visitors wanting a good healthy breakfast will find the Opal to be a great place to stat walking about central S. F. A walk up the hill will take you to St Mary,s Cathedral ,a work of moderne art, and a good place to Take photos of the city

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Kulettos and Leftys ,both in the Union Sq.area are still providing good food at reasonable prices.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Monwalker
Business
Texas
Oct 29, 2013

Good hotel

Hotel is clean but a bit noisy due to traffic. Staff very courteous and friendly. Breakfast okay but after 2 days you will be looking a different breakfast like meat. The hotel is close to so many restaurants and fast foods, delis within a walking distance. Room is a bit small but bed is comfy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Magic Mike
Business
Washington, DC, USA
Oct 20, 2013

Nice

Really nice staff, fine breakfast, close to cable cars so you can get around well. Some of the carpets are dated, but otherwise fine.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Mel's diner is a California Classic. Try the expresso milkshake.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Texannyc
Business
New York, ny
Oct 8, 2013

Decent place for a little too much **

I believe that the hotel was overpriced for what it offered but the fact that there were two large medical conferences in town that weekend I'll give it a break. Compared to other places that weekend it probably was a good deal. The continental breakfast was a little light on pastry choices, bread or bagel or muffin but was adequate. Good location and easily accessible to public transit, and not too far (10-15 min walk) to Market Street. Overall I'd say it's a decent place in a good location, and if rates aren't jacked due to an extra busy convention weekend, probably a decent deal.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
sharpdart
Business
Williamsburg/Brooklyn, NY
Sep 30, 2013

OK for two nights

We booked at the Opal through a travel website, which had a 20% off special on hotels. It worked out to $200 a night, and we stayed for two nights. Overall, it's not a bad place. It's a relatively clean, old hotel that is in a not so convenient (and somewhat sketchy) location. We had a basic room with a king size bed, which was adequately comfortable, but the pillows (all four) were flat and useless. We stayed on the fourth floor and didn't hear the traffic on the street, so that was a big plus. The water pressure was decent, and the bathroom was spotless. The tv was an old box - a reminder that the hotel hasn't seen an update in the last ten or more years. The continental breakfast was nothing more than the basic bread, basic pastries, basic yogurt, coffee and tea. It will give you enough energy until you reach a place for breakfast or lunch, but you may have to stock up - if you loved hosteling in your youth, you might appreciate the nostalgia of a sugar and caffeine laden high. Would I return? Probably not.. But for what it was, I can't say it was bad. I'm sure there are plenty of people who are more than happy with their experience. They don't do anything wrong (maybe the pillows), but they do a good, basic job of providing a place to crash in a city that is sooo expensive. For the price, however, I would probably have stayed in a neighborhood that had more to offer. Since it's not close to the BART or Muni, the cab rides tacked on another expense that would have justified an upgrade.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top