$159 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 2, 2015 Check-out: Aug 3, 2015

The Opal San Francisco

3 stars
View map of 1050 Van Ness Avenue, San Francisco, CA 94109

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Opal San Francisco

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
621 out of 621
Amenities:
3.3
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
3.7
Value:
3.8

81% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Yuchen
Business
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Feb 13, 2014

Average

OK for short stay. Bed linen seemed not that clean. Parking is expensive. I parked one block away in the theater which was $26 a night while the hotel charges $35 a night for parking. Not that good for walking towards main attractions.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Betito1990
Business
Los Angeles, California
Feb 7, 2014

Great stay

Cheap affordable and amazing Center of all to do in San Fran Great and friendly staff Going thru remodeling

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Prepare to walk

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
SecondHoneymoon20
Business
Louisiana
Feb 4, 2014

Great room for price

Nice hotel. About 6 easy walking blocks from the BART. Good free breakfast. Great Staff. 6 Blocks from Union Square.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ashski4
Business
Modesto,CA
Jan 27, 2014

Clean and comfortable

This hotel is clean with friendly staff. Our room was small and outdated but that added to its charm. The only major thing that I could really complain about was the radiator. It was quite warm in our room in January and we ended up sleeping with the window open. However for the price we were happy. The bed was surprisingly comfortable and so were the pillows.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
001Traveler001
Business
new york
Jan 19, 2014

OK for a short stay

The staff was friendly and checking in/out was quick and easy. The hotel itself was alright for a short stay. The place is a bit outdated and dingy, but the room was a decent size and had all the necessities for a night. There were some stains on the carpeting and chair in the room, but the bed linen seemed clean. It wasn't my favorite hotel but it was decent for the price. I didn't have breakfast in the morning so I'm not sure how that was.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
KonnieKatt
Business
Mtn. View, CA
Jan 18, 2014

Excellent location

I like to walk, take Muni, and visit museums and theaters when I'm in SF. The very central location (corner of Van Ness & Geary) was perfect for that. On Wednesday evening, complimentary wine and cheese was served in the lobby.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
ResidentMocker
Business
San Francisco
Jan 15, 2014

Friendly staff, but clumsy hotel

My room was cold - like 53ºF cold. Beds were so cold, it felt wet. Heater didn't work. Radiators didn't help.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Merdi H
Business
Kansas City
Jan 14, 2014

Helpful Staff

I thought the staff was all very helpful. They had good suggestions for food and entertainment in the area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Merdi H
Business
Kansas City
Jan 14, 2014

Great Staff

I especially liked the staff at the Opal. They had several recommendations when asked, about food and entertainment choices around the area. They were all pleasant and friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
A Boyfriend
Business
NYC
Jan 5, 2014

Convenient and Economical Stay

All in all the hotel is reasonable for its value. The location has its pluses and minuses. The hotel is conveniently located within 10-15 mins walk to the station (civic center/un plaza), the walk might take you thru diversifying characters and landscape which to me speaks of San Frans current urban devlopment. The hotels staff is accommodating and pleasant. Hotel is also located across Tommy's joynt (carved meats buffet style bar)...A local stomping ground for meat eaters. Mel's diner is located at its coner and seemingingly packed all day. Hotel room itself is small and tight. Kept as clean as it could be...but dated and as equivalent to any NYC 'hells kitchen' cheap price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

The mission district !

Back to menu Return to top