$99 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: May 25, 2015 Check-out: May 26, 2015

The Opal San Francisco

3 stars
View map of 1050 Van Ness Avenue, San Francisco, CA 94109

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Opal San Francisco

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
711 out of 711
Amenities:
3.3
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
3.7
Value:
3.8

81% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
some unique name
Business
Santa Cruz, CA, USA
Jan 22, 2012

Average 2-3 * hotel

The hotel is somewhat dated and showing its age. The rooms are large enough and lucky for us we got a room away from the noise of the main streets. Downside was the shampoo given was an extremely small container (not enough for two) and on top of that was fairly poor quality. We needed to shower again when we got home. The staff was friendly and helpful. The included breakfast was minimal.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Donovan6
Business
Los Angeles 90026
Feb 19, 2012

needs full disclosure on pricing

Add 34.00 per day to park your car at the hotel, otherwise good value and very nice breakfast spread

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Caffe Sport-good Italian in North Beach Fino -good Italian Nob Hill

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
une voyageuse
Business
Portland, OR, USA
Mar 2, 2012

A good location

It was convenient and good enough for this professional trip. Good location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
WP4F
Business
Waterloo, ON, Canada
Mar 11, 2012

not a bad place, but no chain experience

Definitely feels like an old place, and it feels like you are in an old apartment room, definitely not like a chain. You need a key to get in the front doors. Bathroom had no room at all to put anything, one of those sink only, no counter places, and a walk in shower with no extra light. Only one chair in room with King bed, and temp had to be adjusted a lot, but other than that, it was good enough (desk and chair height made it hard to work on laptop though). Continental breakfast sucked, toast, juice, yogurt, mini muffins (one flavour), and hard boiled eggs.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Mel's Drivein is in Hotel and fantastic meals, although I didn't enjoy the breakfast at all (they don't even butter your toast for you, what is up with that!), but the burgers and fries were so really awesome, also very quick to serve you food.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
birk
Business
Eagle River, WI
Mar 20, 2012

Nice hotel

We enjoyed our evening at The Opal. Nice older motel. Disappointed there was an extra charge for high speed internet. We have had better continental breakfasts.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
jaktri
Business
Redlands, CA, USA
Mar 19, 2012

Noisy hotel

The hotel is showing its age with hard beds and pillows. However, the room was clean. On the third night a group was removed for smoking pot which was incredibly strong in the hallway. Unfortunately, on the fourth night, Saturday night, a large group of college students were allowed to check in to one room. They were yelling, banging on the walls, slamming doors etc. After two calls to the front desk at about 8 p.m. they were quiet. Not surprisingly after the bars closed I was awakened about 2:30 a.m. by them with even worse noise. It took three calls to the front desk and the police before they were somewhat calmed down. I was disappointed they were not asked to leave the hotel as first thing the next morning about 6 a.m. it started up again. I was refunded my parking for the four days for the horrid night. I will not go back here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Julesssss
Business
Capistrano Beach, CA 92624, USA
May 1, 2012

Good Value

I thought the hotel was a good value for the money we paid! I was up there for business and will definitely stay there again. The parking was Expensive though!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
exploreit
Business
bakersfield ca
May 8, 2012

good location

Its located perfectly and its walking distance to almost everything. The rooms were a little small, but clean and worth every penny.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
First Time in San Fran
Business
NJ
Jun 1, 2012

Average Stay

The hotel was average, very clean and very friendly staff. The room was small but comfortable for two people. The continental breakfast was average - fruit, bread, hard boiled eggs, yogurt, and variety of hot/cold beverages. It's far from Fisherman's Wharf. If you can find a decent hotel in Fisherman's Wharf, then I would recommend that. Overall, the hotel was average, but the staff made it worth while.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Fisherman's Wharf

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Dani the scholar
Business
New York, NY
May 27, 2012

Okay hotel, nothing special

The hotel is a typical 3-star hotel, in a so-so area. The staff is very friendly though. Breakfast is pretty bad.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top