$122 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Apr 1, 2015 Check-out: Apr 4, 2015

The Opal San Francisco

3 stars
View map of 1050 Van Ness Avenue, San Francisco, CA 94109

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Opal San Francisco

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
656 out of 656
Amenities:
3.3
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
3.7
Value:
3.8

81% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
dvmvet
Business
MN
Feb 8, 2012

friendly staff

Nice enough place, though not in the best area of the city. The gym, as in most hotels is rather poorly equipped with free weights, but the staff is very helpful, and they go out of their way to help. The breakfast is also OK. All in all, good value for the money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The thai restaurant on O'farrel street is about 200 yes away and serve good food

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MrDisneyland
Business
Denver, CO, USA
Feb 14, 2012

I had a very good time.

I stayed at the Opal with my GF, and i had a very good time, walking to downtown was not hard at all. and i liked the location for, it is right on the edge of Tenderloin, and my GF who lives in SF told me not to stay anywhere past Tenderloin. the room was okay, it was not a 5 star hotel, but it was better than i was expecting. we stayed in the Deluxe King, and the Bed was comfy. i liked that they had a walk in shower, but the toilet was a little small, but i am 6'4 so i bet not many others would complain. we traveled the subway with ease, and had a very good time. and we enjoyed going back to the Hotel every night to spend quality time with each other. i would stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
World Traveler 125
Business
New Orleans, LA, USA
Feb 22, 2012

Good place to stay, extremely helpful staff

It was a nice place place to stay in a good location: close to many convenient public transportation options and within walking distance from Chinatown. The room was clean and it had all necessary amenities, even though the hotel is old and it shows. It was a good value for cost and would stay there again, even though it was nothing fancy. The best thing about it was the front desk attendant, who was EXTREMELY helpful with tips about where to eat, where to go and how to get there, what was going on in the city. All her recommendations turned out extremely true and helpful which made for a much better time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

The Slanted Door at the Ferry Terminal. Great food and a great atmosphere with a view of Bay Bridge. Book early especially for weekends because it fills up.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
iluvsf
Business
AZ
Feb 21, 2012

Good Stay!!!

Good value for the money..Nice location close to a lot of fun stuff

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Lansing, MI, USA
Mar 17, 2012

Great value!

Tour guides led us to believe we'd have to spend a lot of money for a decent hotel in a convenient area. This hotel was a bargain for almost any city. It was conveniently located (within walking distance of Union Square), and it was clean and very comfortable. I was pleasantly surprised.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

House of Nankink in Chinatown

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Utah Sisters
Business
St. George, Utah
Mar 13, 2012

Fun Sister Vacation

Three sister vacation. The hotel is beautiful with stained glass windows, antique furniture and a good breakfast. The room and bathroom were small but comfortable. The staff was amazing. The girls at the front desk were very helpful in arranging tours for us and taking care of problems we had on one of the tours (Muir Woods and Sasalito). We would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

We enjoyed Mel's Diner and Tommy's Joynt accross the street. It was a little scary going through the Tenderloin.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
SWDKM
Business
Boulder, Colorado
Mar 13, 2012

Great central location

catch public transportation to anywhere in the city-very comfortable, friendly and helpful staff

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
mbm15
Business
Sacramento, CA, USA
Mar 27, 2012

couple getaway

It was a good experience all in all the hotel is located within minutes from all the diferent attractions so that was really helpfull.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
rural NYer
Business
Donnattsburg Rd, Glenfield, NY 13343, USA
Apr 9, 2012

Loved the "European-like" ambience

I booked the Opal because it seemed to be a good deal. I was not disappointed! If you like a hotel in a great location (close to tons of restaurants, cable cars etc) with the ambience of a European hotel, then the Opal is for you. Our room was roomy and clean, the staff was very helpful and friendly and the common rooms were furnished with beautiful antiques and lovely what I would assume to be original fixtures. Apparently the word is out abroad, we heard many different languages spoken at breakfast (which by the way was very adequate). If you like a hotel which is not a predictable American franchise the Opal is for you.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

A short walk from the Opal is the California cable line. Take it to its end and it brings you to the Ferry Building. Wonderful boutique shopping there. It is where the natives spend their Sunday mornings.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DSO Fan
Business
Mendocino, CA, USA
Apr 15, 2012

Perfect location in proximity to Great American Music

Stayed 3 nights here in comfort and security. Beautiful lobby area with self-serve coffee and tea available 24/7. Front desk staff is wonderfully enthusiastic, informative and always seem to be actually enjoying their roles in ensuring a positive experience for guests. Though even for two the rooms have a bit of a cramped feel, the beds are great quality, and maids were very observant as whenever we left the room (usually not until early afternoon), the rooms were always made up by our return a short while later. Also enjoyed the quiet and general lack of noise of the room. Our room was rather dark with only one widow, conducive to rest but not for anything requiring good light. Never made it downstairs in time for 10:30 free breakfast so can't speak to the quality of that fare. Certainly not deal breakers, but it would have been nice to have a small coffee pot in the room and small fridges are not available at all.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Phil's Coffee is just down Van Ness and is a wonderful spot to enjoy superb coffee and WiFi.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top