$163 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 26, 2015 Check-out: Aug 29, 2015

The Opal San Francisco

3 stars
View map of 1050 Van Ness Avenue, San Francisco, CA 94109

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Opal San Francisco

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
621 out of 621
Amenities:
3.3
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
3.7
Value:
3.8

81% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Leslie A.
Business
Centreville, VA
Jul 31, 2012

Not as close to Union Sq as appears

The hotel is older but the staff is friendly, the rooms are clean and there is free Wi-Fi (something most downtown hotels charge for). However, it is not as close to Union Sq as it appears on the map and you have to walk through the tenderloin to get there (SF's public transit doesn't reach all parts of the city). There are a fair amount of homeless people in the tenderloin who will ask you for money. I never felt threatened but uncomfortable, and I was with my husband who can look intimidating.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Dato n
Business
menifee ca
Aug 4, 2012

its ok

Very cold greeting. Their parking 35$ a night.night

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
DG 2012 x1
Business
Portland OR
Jun 19, 2012

Recent Opal visit

I enjoyed the central location. Could walk to trains and easy public transport right out front. Overall enjoyed my stay there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Alabama
Jun 10, 2012

Not bad, not great, just good.

This is a classic 3 star hotel. Clean, nice staff, old, elevator makes noises and you are on the edge of the Tenderloin district. I actually liked the shady neighborhood characters and enjoyed watching them from a great diner next door - Mel's. Walk a few blocks and you can get on a trolley going anywhere. Would stay again, wife would prefer closer to Union Square.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Mel's Diner is next door and a great place for breakfast. I got up really early one morning (still dark) and while enjoying my eggs and hot coffee, watched a hooker beat down her pimp on Van Ness Blvd. Stuff I don't get to see in my home town.

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
International Southerner
Business
New York, NY
Aug 6, 2012

Great value for good location and helpful staff

I booked this hotel for the beginning of my stay, and was impressed by how helpful the staff. They suggested an alternative parking option to the hotel's parking, which saved us some cash. The rooms are a bit dark with "tired" furnishings, but comfortable enough. They are refurbishing part of the hotel now. Breakfast is not very enticing, but ok for a quick something before heading out. Overall, the location and staff won out, so I ended up booking it again for the end of our week's trip to Northern California.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
S Hahn
Business
Alexandria, VA
Aug 9, 2012

Fair Deal

Front desk staff person was very efficient and very helpful. Did not feel rushed, all questions answered. It's an old hotel, renovated. You may feel like you are stepping into history, but the free wifi is up to date! Parking off street in downtown aan francisco is hard to find. The opal has it, it's not Cheak but probably reasonable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

If you stay here, check in and get their directions and tips. Staff will save you a lot of time and money.

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
EastCoaster04
Business
Baltimore, MD
Sep 6, 2012

Not Fantastic

The hotel was clean and there was no street noise. Breakfast was adequate. I paid $120/night which seemed fair considering the other options in the city. Access to transit was convenient.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
mayamoon
Business
colorado
Sep 17, 2012

Funky and Old

Well for me spending $200 a night is a lot of $$$ to dish out for a room. I was hoping it was going to be a bit fancier. The carpets are disgusting!! But the rooms were clean. The floors being gross made it feel dirty. The Staff wasn't warm but were very hospitable. What they offered for continental breakfast was a disappointment. I wouldn't stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mike Crawford
Business
Temecula, CA
Sep 28, 2012

Old and Musty

The hotel was ok for the price. It was a decent value for a hotel in San Francisco. My only complaint really was the musty smell as you enter the front lobby and hallways. Room was nice with no smell.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
StephenJoyce
Business
North Vancouver, BC, Canada
Oct 13, 2012

Good overall stay

The hotel is nice. It is located a few blocks away from Japan Town and relatively close walking distance to other areas of town. It is an older hotel so you can feel the age and the walls are not particularly thick. Be prepared to have your neighbour wake you up with their shower. Overall though it was good value for what I needed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top