$149 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 7, 2015 Check-out: Sep 8, 2015

The Opal San Francisco

3 stars
View map of 1050 Van Ness Avenue, San Francisco, CA 94109

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Opal San Francisco

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
631 out of 631
Amenities:
3.3
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
3.7
Value:
3.8

81% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
One Night Wonder
Business
Napa, CA
May 6, 2012

Served it's purpose well

Stayed for one night to take an exam in the city early the next morning. Courteous staff, decent room, excellent price-value ratio-- no complaints here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
FBGordon
Single
Destin, FL, USA
Jun 2, 2012

Great place in San Francisco.

Although a little dated, I really enjoyed my stay at the Opal. It was in a great location, the room was spotless and comfortable, and the value was well worth it. The next time I'm in San Francisco, I'll be looking to the Opal again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Single

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Five blocks away is Bourbon & Branch, a speakeasy. If you like classic cocktails, you have to go here. High-end whiskey and cocktails with complex but delicious palettes are their thing. You'll need a reservation, so email or call them!

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Hard Done
Family
San Francisco
Jul 2, 2012

Fantastic Stay!

We got upgraded to a junior suite! Very large room and was clean! The beds were comfortable and the staff very helpful! Right outside bus stop to mARKET st!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Single 27 year old
Friends
Santa Barbara, California
Jul 3, 2012

Best hotel for the price

I paid about $105/night. Location is excellent - 15 minute walk to Union Square with no hills in between. Trolley on California street is a just a couple of blicks away. Polk street right next to the hotel is packed with nightlife - about 10+ bars, from dance clubs, to dive bars and everything in between. We randomly walked into a hole in the wall bar because it had no line, and we were pleasantly surprised to find a concert in a hidden back room. Exactly what you expect San Francisco to be. And the hotel is nice, for the price. Very comfortable. Will definitely try to stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Polk Street

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dookey21
San Diego CA
Jun 26, 2012

Good stay

only one night there but was a good location and clean with nice/helpfull staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
H20Color
Couples
Sacramento
Jul 7, 2012

Opal Hotel

Nice and secure facility. Great room, decent bed, clean. Parking onsite and secured, easy to come and go yourself with automatic parking gate opener-a big plus. In an OK area. Closer to the Orpheum and Civic center than Union Square hotels. Good restaurants nearby. Street people abound as in the Union Square area. Generally safe as many places have security personal out front.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Drangel
Business
London UK
Jul 17, 2012

Perfect for needs

Was attending a conference. 20 min walk from Conference centre, free and stable wifi. Rooms were clean and comfortable. The hotel is on the edge of the tenderloin so ask hotel staff for best ways to walk or catch cabs. Would use again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Great cinema next door

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Big Mike 05
Couples
Houston, Texas
Jul 31, 2012

Great Location for a great price

This hotel is located right on the bus line so if you are going to take public transportation, this hotel is in the perfect location. The only negative was the continental breakfast. They have a FREE breakfast but it only includes toast, muffins, fruit and yogurt. It would have been nice if they had a waffle maker or scrambled eggs. Overall I would definitely recommend this hotel for its location and price. The rooms are not the nicest but for the price you pay of around $120/night for a queen size bed can not be beaten.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
mgsekar
Business
nashville
Jun 20, 2012

Nice stay

enjoyed the stay. Hotel is in a convenient location to attend the conference. Will recommend to the other people.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Papa Mac
Single
Fairfax, VA
Jun 12, 2012

Price was right

This is a fine old hotel, centrally located with convenient parking. Ask ahead about the cost for parking. It was pretty expensive, but I guess for central city that's to be expected. Transfer of luggage between the lower garage and the room was awkward and confusing, but the staff was ready to assist. Staff at the front desk was very knowledgable and assisted me with shopping, dining choices nearby. Stayed for a family reunion in the area on my way from SFO to a longer visit in Sacramento. I'd certainly stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Single

Back to menu Return to top