$99 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: May 27, 2015 Check-out: May 28, 2015

The Opal San Francisco

3 stars
View map of 1050 Van Ness Avenue, San Francisco, CA 94109

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Opal San Francisco

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
711 out of 711
Amenities:
3.3
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
3.7
Value:
3.8

81% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
PB86
Business
Nevada
Apr 10, 2014

Average, I've been in better for less $$...

Pretty average hotel. It's got the standard TV and wifi in the room. Breakfast is just juice/coffee and bread. Other (cheaper) hotels I've been in had eggs and sausage or bacon, so I was pretty disappointed about that. You have to pay extra to park there, which might be something all hotels do in SF (you might want to research that if you're gonna drive because it's NOT included in your price). And their $30 a night parking lot is like sardines in a can. Location was great because it was right in the middle of town, so every tourist attraction could be easily accessed by 1-2 bus rides. It's in a pretty safe place, compared to other hotels in ghetto streets. No refrigerator in the room or microwave so don't bother with take out. No complimentary water (don't know if that matters to you). We always came back to a clean room. Factoring in the parking fee, I'd look for somewhere else first when it comes to value because it's a pretty ordinary hotel, nothing special besides its convenient location. If you're not driving (which is advisable, because driving is a pain in SF) and you plan on enjoying your breakfast in local spots then this is a good place to sleep at night and leave in the morning to enjoy the city.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Don't drive in SF, you waste a lot of time looking for a place to park! Bus rides are cheap and part of the experience!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
sfvisitor78
Business
davis, ca
Apr 7, 2014

Great Stay at the Opal!

I was very happy with my stay at the Opal Hotel in S.F. Its an older building, but that is part of the charm. I had a room with a king-sized bed and it was quite spacious and overlooked Van Ness avenue. Even though my room was located in front of the building, there was not much noise coming in at night while I slept. The room was clean and the bed was comfortable. The bathroom was clean as well and spacious enough. Overall I enjoyed my stay at the Opal. Would highly recommend. Decent location and great price!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Lers Ros Thai Restaurant is located a couple of blocks away on Larkin. They have fantastic food. Order the stir fried pork belly. You will thank me!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Chi Spring Traveler
Business
Chicago
Apr 6, 2014

Great Value Stay

I looked at several hotels before booking at the Opal. It was an extremely great value for a hotel in San Francisco. The staff was friendly and helpful upon checkin and answering any additional questions we had about the area. We checked In on a Wednesday, and they had a wine & cheese hour. After checking out on our last day, we were able to store luggage in a locked luggage room before an overnight flight. The rooms was cozy and clean and did the trick for our four day stay. The area is great aside from a walk down Geary near Hyde.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Odeon
Business
California
Apr 5, 2014

One of the rare hotel in SF that includes breakfast

I booked this hotel a few times this year because of the great price. It is out of the tourist area but very close to bus lines that takes you to Fisherman & Union Square. The building is very nice with a very confortable lobby area. Mels Diner restaurant is in the same building if you check in late and need a burger fries ! Easy acces to great and cheap ethnic restaurants in the Tenderloin area. Staff extremely nice, and room confortable. The only problem I noticed is a very strong smell of "cleaning products" or something like this in the corridors and in the room. They should do something about that. Great breakfast from 6 to 10am.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Tenderloin area : Thai, Vietnamese , Turkish restaurants

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Colleen Proud Navy Mom
Business
Baraboo, Wisconsin
Apr 4, 2014

Celebrating Son's NPS Graduation

Good experience. Like that door to hotel is locked from outside so feel safe. Staff were wonderful - desk staff always helpful in giving suggestions to navigate the City; breakfast was basic but good and staff person kept the area clean and items filled; maintaining of rooms, lobby, etc. well done. Close to downtown restaurants, cable car, bus stop on corner. Enjoyed diner attached to hotel. Older but well-kept and charming hotel in a good location. Would definitely return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Stroll over to Polk Street and enjoy some good ethnic food.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
PISTEN BLITZ
Business
Leavenworth, WA 98826, USA
Apr 4, 2014

Business with family

Great location and parking but noise. Construction -i/accross the streeto

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Canuck mom
Business
Turlock Ca
Apr 4, 2014

Decent, Affordable

Hotel is pretty basic but clean and affordable. Could really use some new tvs and better channels as well as conditioner and fluffier pillows but that's why its affordable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
RDRss
Business
fort lauderdale, fl
Mar 30, 2014

Nice place

Rooms are a bit small no seating other than desk chair. They should probably put a sleeper sofa with a bed. Outlets are few, had to disconnect light to plug in charger. There is no refrigerator or microwave, So you will be spending more on dining $$$ They should at least put a microwave on each floor. so you can bring left overs./

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Tommy s Joynt is across the street, good prices they hand carve the meats for your sand wiches, killer cornbeef, Also there is an Afgan resturant around the corner on Geary, another good priced place, portions are filling.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
FaSa
Business
Florida
Mar 29, 2014

Nothing special

Rooms clean, not the best location. Was ok for money savings. The good thing is that you're between presidio park and market street, right in the middle.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kat8na
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Mar 29, 2014

Good hotel for the price with great breakfast

Stayed there for the second time and loved it. Rooms are old but clean. Staff is friendly and helpful. Breakfast is very good. Location is convenient near public transportation. The only negative is costly and limited in space parking. Will stay there again on our next trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Park at the cinema garage next to hotel to save up to $20 per day.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top