$99 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: May 25, 2015 Check-out: May 26, 2015

The Opal San Francisco

3 stars
View map of 1050 Van Ness Avenue, San Francisco, CA 94109

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Opal San Francisco

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
711 out of 711
Amenities:
3.3
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
3.7
Value:
3.8

81% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Romas
Singapore
Jan 2, 2013

Eventful Family Holiday

The hotel provides complimentary breakfast of continental bakery, something which is not common for tourist hotels in America I would say. Hotel location is within walking distance to downtown Union Square and City Hall, which is very convenient for shopping and typical tourist leisure walking.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Bryn Mawr Alumna
Business
Portland, Oregon
Apr 30, 2014

Clean, comfortable economical

Staff was super nice. Would recommend hotel to friends. I like to be able to open a window when U sleep which you could do. Breakfast was gluten heavy, but diner next door was great. We shared a milkshake whe we waited for the shuttle back to the airport. Easy bus to catch to the sites.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Bus 47 to cable cars or wharf.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
MarianaMC
Business
Goldsboro, NC
Apr 27, 2014

Good price for location

Friendly and helpful staff. Large comfortable room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Lyssa716
Business
New York
Apr 23, 2014

Opal

The location was great, the rooms were small but comfortable and they offered a free continental breakfast, nothing special but it was something. I would stay there again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Frqnt Traveler
Business
Philadelphia, PA
Apr 22, 2014

Centrally located budget hotel

The lobby and staff were great, but the room was a bit dingy and the bathroom was small and cramped. I was in San Francisco for a conference and a friend got a much better hotel at a better rate by booking well in advance - this hotel has a good rate for those of us who wait til the last minute.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Greg C
Business
Aptos, CA, USA
Apr 18, 2014

pleasant stay

Just there for one night while scouting colleges. The room was a bit tight. Onsite parking was great (but $30). The breakfast was as expected, but when we went there were not enough seats for everyone which was kinda awkward. The hotel itself is charming and was overall a good value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Vanalex
Business
Toronto, Canada
Apr 12, 2014

Wonderful spot, great stay!

We loved our visit to San Francisco and enjoyed staying at The Opal. My partner and I were there for three nights in early April and would definitely stay there again. The rates are reasonable and the location is a perfect starting point for exploring all that SF has to offer. It's within easy walking distance of a BART station, many transit lines, downtown amenities, Fisherman's Wharf, and countless interesting neighbourhoods. The hotel itself is older but classically beautiful and well-maintained, hotel staff were always pleasant and helpful. The continental breakfast includes: bagels, bread, muffins, various spreads, fruit salad, yogurt, and juice. I was most impressed by the hotel's commitment to waste reduction --all of the breakfast dishes and utensils were compostable and the yogurt cups were recycled; recycle bins were also provided in the accommodation rooms. Being a 3-star hotel, The Opal may not have all of the amenities of a higher-end chain but it does offer excellent value. However, I would like to see a complimentary guest computer with internet access (there was a pay-per-minute computer in the breakfast room but the fees seemed exorbitant to me). It would also be nice to have a book or card in the room outlining the features of the hotel, such as: breakfast hours, fitness room location, etc.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jan Combs
Business
Lenoir City, TN
Apr 12, 2014

The Opal Stay

We found The Opal very helpful and welcoming to all our request. Staff was very efficient and strived to meet our needs. Would return again and would recommend it to everyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

The Opal is centrally located the major attractions in the downtown area. Very easy to use bus, cable cars to get where you need to go.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
yays
Business
Oregon
Apr 11, 2014

If only the water didn't leak from the ceiling and the drier worked.

If only the water didn't leak from the ceiling, that one day, and the drier worked, it may actually be a very good hotel, especially for the price and the location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Kristine W.
Business
Phoenix, AZ
Apr 10, 2014

Gorgeous

Beautiful hotel in the perfect location. Almost everything was in walking distance or close to a bus stop.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Giant's Baseball Fan
Business
Portland, Oregon
Apr 10, 2014

Fun in the Sun

We had a great experience at the Opal Hotel. The rooms were spacious and clean. The location was conveniently located on the bus lines. It was a short 10 block walk to Unio Square. The staff was very helpful answering all quetions and setting up tours of the city for us.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top