$129 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Apr 5, 2015 Check-out: Apr 6, 2015

The Opal San Francisco

3 stars
View map of 1050 Van Ness Avenue, San Francisco, CA 94109

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Opal San Francisco

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
656 out of 656
Amenities:
3.3
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
3.7
Value:
3.8

81% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Super Chomak
Santa Rosa
Nov 13, 2012

Great Place and not expensive either!

We stayed in the Junior Suite which was perfect for our family of 4. It had two queen beds (which is hard to find in SF) and a queen sofa sleeper in a small sitting area and a large walk in closet!. Lots of room!!!!! As others have said, it is an older hotel so don't expect modern furniture or TV, but TV reception was great. Reason I left a 4 star for cleanliness was because the pillows were sub-par on comfort and they appeared old. The pillow cases were clean though so not to worry! And the blanket in the sofa sleeper was a bit gross, so we didn't use it. The continental breakfast was great! Yogurt, bagels, toast, fruit, mufifins, hot chocolate and good coffee!.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

If you are staying with a car, the meters are free on Sundays. You can also park for free in a yellow zone after 6PM.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jan Combs
Business
Lenoir City, TN
Apr 12, 2014

The Opal Stay

We found The Opal very helpful and welcoming to all our request. Staff was very efficient and strived to meet our needs. Would return again and would recommend it to everyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

The Opal is centrally located the major attractions in the downtown area. Very easy to use bus, cable cars to get where you need to go.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
yays
Business
Oregon
Apr 11, 2014

If only the water didn't leak from the ceiling and the drier worked.

If only the water didn't leak from the ceiling, that one day, and the drier worked, it may actually be a very good hotel, especially for the price and the location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Kristine W.
Business
Phoenix, AZ
Apr 10, 2014

Gorgeous

Beautiful hotel in the perfect location. Almost everything was in walking distance or close to a bus stop.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Giant's Baseball Fan
Business
Portland, Oregon
Apr 10, 2014

Fun in the Sun

We had a great experience at the Opal Hotel. The rooms were spacious and clean. The location was conveniently located on the bus lines. It was a short 10 block walk to Unio Square. The staff was very helpful answering all quetions and setting up tours of the city for us.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
PB86
Business
Nevada
Apr 10, 2014

Average, I've been in better for less $$...

Pretty average hotel. It's got the standard TV and wifi in the room. Breakfast is just juice/coffee and bread. Other (cheaper) hotels I've been in had eggs and sausage or bacon, so I was pretty disappointed about that. You have to pay extra to park there, which might be something all hotels do in SF (you might want to research that if you're gonna drive because it's NOT included in your price). And their $30 a night parking lot is like sardines in a can. Location was great because it was right in the middle of town, so every tourist attraction could be easily accessed by 1-2 bus rides. It's in a pretty safe place, compared to other hotels in ghetto streets. No refrigerator in the room or microwave so don't bother with take out. No complimentary water (don't know if that matters to you). We always came back to a clean room. Factoring in the parking fee, I'd look for somewhere else first when it comes to value because it's a pretty ordinary hotel, nothing special besides its convenient location. If you're not driving (which is advisable, because driving is a pain in SF) and you plan on enjoying your breakfast in local spots then this is a good place to sleep at night and leave in the morning to enjoy the city.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Don't drive in SF, you waste a lot of time looking for a place to park! Bus rides are cheap and part of the experience!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
sfvisitor78
Business
davis, ca
Apr 7, 2014

Great Stay at the Opal!

I was very happy with my stay at the Opal Hotel in S.F. Its an older building, but that is part of the charm. I had a room with a king-sized bed and it was quite spacious and overlooked Van Ness avenue. Even though my room was located in front of the building, there was not much noise coming in at night while I slept. The room was clean and the bed was comfortable. The bathroom was clean as well and spacious enough. Overall I enjoyed my stay at the Opal. Would highly recommend. Decent location and great price!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Lers Ros Thai Restaurant is located a couple of blocks away on Larkin. They have fantastic food. Order the stir fried pork belly. You will thank me!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Chi Spring Traveler
Business
Chicago
Apr 6, 2014

Great Value Stay

I looked at several hotels before booking at the Opal. It was an extremely great value for a hotel in San Francisco. The staff was friendly and helpful upon checkin and answering any additional questions we had about the area. We checked In on a Wednesday, and they had a wine & cheese hour. After checking out on our last day, we were able to store luggage in a locked luggage room before an overnight flight. The rooms was cozy and clean and did the trick for our four day stay. The area is great aside from a walk down Geary near Hyde.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Odeon
Business
California
Apr 5, 2014

One of the rare hotel in SF that includes breakfast

I booked this hotel a few times this year because of the great price. It is out of the tourist area but very close to bus lines that takes you to Fisherman & Union Square. The building is very nice with a very confortable lobby area. Mels Diner restaurant is in the same building if you check in late and need a burger fries ! Easy acces to great and cheap ethnic restaurants in the Tenderloin area. Staff extremely nice, and room confortable. The only problem I noticed is a very strong smell of "cleaning products" or something like this in the corridors and in the room. They should do something about that. Great breakfast from 6 to 10am.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Tenderloin area : Thai, Vietnamese , Turkish restaurants

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Colleen Proud Navy Mom
Business
Baraboo, Wisconsin
Apr 4, 2014

Celebrating Son's NPS Graduation

Good experience. Like that door to hotel is locked from outside so feel safe. Staff were wonderful - desk staff always helpful in giving suggestions to navigate the City; breakfast was basic but good and staff person kept the area clean and items filled; maintaining of rooms, lobby, etc. well done. Close to downtown restaurants, cable car, bus stop on corner. Enjoyed diner attached to hotel. Older but well-kept and charming hotel in a good location. Would definitely return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Stroll over to Polk Street and enjoy some good ethnic food.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
PISTEN BLITZ
Business
Leavenworth, WA 98826, USA
Apr 4, 2014

Business with family

Great location and parking but noise. Construction -i/accross the streeto

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top