$109 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: May 11, 2015 Check-out: May 12, 2015

The Opal San Francisco

3 stars
View map of 1050 Van Ness Avenue, San Francisco, CA 94109

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Opal San Francisco

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
709 out of 709
Amenities:
3.3
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
3.7
Value:
3.8

81% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Super Chomak
Santa Rosa
Nov 13, 2012

Great Place and not expensive either!

We stayed in the Junior Suite which was perfect for our family of 4. It had two queen beds (which is hard to find in SF) and a queen sofa sleeper in a small sitting area and a large walk in closet!. Lots of room!!!!! As others have said, it is an older hotel so don't expect modern furniture or TV, but TV reception was great. Reason I left a 4 star for cleanliness was because the pillows were sub-par on comfort and they appeared old. The pillow cases were clean though so not to worry! And the blanket in the sofa sleeper was a bit gross, so we didn't use it. The continental breakfast was great! Yogurt, bagels, toast, fruit, mufifins, hot chocolate and good coffee!.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

If you are staying with a car, the meters are free on Sundays. You can also park for free in a yellow zone after 6PM.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Steve767
Business
San Diego
May 7, 2014

Good for weekend stop

Easy to find and park but the breakfast was a bit of a joke. Less than a dozen miniature bagels and miniature muffins with no jams or butter. No heated food.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
JC from LA
Business
Los Angeles, California
May 5, 2014

San Francisco Trip

Nice location, parking in the area is a total pain, have to pay $35 daily. Hotel Crew is friendly and nice, breakfast is not that good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Deb with Vemma
Business
San Antonio, Texas
May 5, 2014

opal hotel in San Fracisco

The hotel stay was good for the price. Very small room, but that was OK, since we were there only to sleep. Never could get a good connection with wifi though. Bed was a too soft. The location of the Hotel was great to access all points of interest to visit. Would probably refer to others for value and location. Staff seemed friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to Walgreens to get passes for cable car and bus, saves a lot of time and money. Big bus tour was great also to hop on and hop off to major attractions. We were able to see a lot in 4 days

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
tmsoap
Business
Lake Tahoe, Ca
May 1, 2014

Clean, comfortable, great value

One of the best lodging values in the city. Nothing fancy. King room was small. Nice size tub in small bathroom. Everything was clean. Staff is super friendly. Location is a little sketchy, but that's pretty much the whole city. Not many places to escape the homeless and panhandlers. Check out Tommy's Joynt across the street. Bus stop on corner takes you directly to Fisherman's Wharf or AT&T park. Short walk to cable car and shopping. I've stayed in many S.F. hotels over the years from low budget to high end, this is right in the middle.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
2
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: In Hotel

Make sure to say congratulations to Brad at the front desk, He's retiring later in 2014. Great guy. He'll be missed.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Graduate Traveler Won
Business
Omaha, NE
May 1, 2014

Senior Trip Vacation

Checked in at 5, and was charged a $50 deposit without my knowledge. However, other than that, I had a good experience with this hotel. Breakfast was great, service was good, rooms were clean, and location was fantastic. Major Muni lines run right past the hotel and it is located conveniently close to Union Square. Fantastic hotel for the price, and I would recommend to anyone looking for low cost accommodations in San Francisco.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
lp65
Business
Ottawa
May 1, 2014

so so

Got charged on credit card after having paid in cash before leaving....sad but true, despite my full intentions of returning

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sirka
Business
Los Angeles, California
Apr 30, 2014

Very nice

It was very nice hotel, everything was cute and lovely ) location most convenient for tourists as within walking distance from Union square the staff is very responsive and accommodating We love it very much

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Bryn Mawr Alumna
Business
Portland, Oregon
Apr 30, 2014

Clean, comfortable economical

Staff was super nice. Would recommend hotel to friends. I like to be able to open a window when U sleep which you could do. Breakfast was gluten heavy, but diner next door was great. We shared a milkshake whe we waited for the shuttle back to the airport. Easy bus to catch to the sites.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Bus 47 to cable cars or wharf.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
MarianaMC
Business
Goldsboro, NC
Apr 27, 2014

Good price for location

Friendly and helpful staff. Large comfortable room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Lyssa716
Business
New York
Apr 23, 2014

Opal

The location was great, the rooms were small but comfortable and they offered a free continental breakfast, nothing special but it was something. I would stay there again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top