$160 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 25, 2015 Check-out: Aug 28, 2015

The Opal San Francisco

3 stars
View map of 1050 Van Ness Avenue, San Francisco, CA 94109

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Opal San Francisco

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
621 out of 621
Amenities:
3.3
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
3.7
Value:
3.8

81% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
LA CA
Los Angeles
Dec 21, 2012

good choice for staying economically

very classic and clean. Also, very convenient location to travel around by buses.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
PB86
Business
Nevada
Apr 10, 2014

Average, I've been in better for less $$...

Pretty average hotel. It's got the standard TV and wifi in the room. Breakfast is just juice/coffee and bread. Other (cheaper) hotels I've been in had eggs and sausage or bacon, so I was pretty disappointed about that. You have to pay extra to park there, which might be something all hotels do in SF (you might want to research that if you're gonna drive because it's NOT included in your price). And their $30 a night parking lot is like sardines in a can. Location was great because it was right in the middle of town, so every tourist attraction could be easily accessed by 1-2 bus rides. It's in a pretty safe place, compared to other hotels in ghetto streets. No refrigerator in the room or microwave so don't bother with take out. No complimentary water (don't know if that matters to you). We always came back to a clean room. Factoring in the parking fee, I'd look for somewhere else first when it comes to value because it's a pretty ordinary hotel, nothing special besides its convenient location. If you're not driving (which is advisable, because driving is a pain in SF) and you plan on enjoying your breakfast in local spots then this is a good place to sleep at night and leave in the morning to enjoy the city.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Don't drive in SF, you waste a lot of time looking for a place to park! Bus rides are cheap and part of the experience!!

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Lyssa716
Business
New York
Apr 23, 2014

Opal

The location was great, the rooms were small but comfortable and they offered a free continental breakfast, nothing special but it was something. I would stay there again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Frqnt Traveler
Business
Philadelphia, PA
Apr 22, 2014

Centrally located budget hotel

The lobby and staff were great, but the room was a bit dingy and the bathroom was small and cramped. I was in San Francisco for a conference and a friend got a much better hotel at a better rate by booking well in advance - this hotel has a good rate for those of us who wait til the last minute.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
tmsoap
Business
Lake Tahoe, Ca
May 1, 2014

Clean, comfortable, great value

One of the best lodging values in the city. Nothing fancy. King room was small. Nice size tub in small bathroom. Everything was clean. Staff is super friendly. Location is a little sketchy, but that's pretty much the whole city. Not many places to escape the homeless and panhandlers. Check out Tommy's Joynt across the street. Bus stop on corner takes you directly to Fisherman's Wharf or AT&T park. Short walk to cable car and shopping. I've stayed in many S.F. hotels over the years from low budget to high end, this is right in the middle.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
2
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: In Hotel

Make sure to say congratulations to Brad at the front desk, He's retiring later in 2014. Great guy. He'll be missed.

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Bryn Mawr Alumna
Business
Portland, Oregon
Apr 30, 2014

Clean, comfortable economical

Staff was super nice. Would recommend hotel to friends. I like to be able to open a window when U sleep which you could do. Breakfast was gluten heavy, but diner next door was great. We shared a milkshake whe we waited for the shuttle back to the airport. Easy bus to catch to the sites.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Bus 47 to cable cars or wharf.

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
lp65
Business
Ottawa
May 1, 2014

so so

Got charged on credit card after having paid in cash before leaving....sad but true, despite my full intentions of returning

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
JC from LA
Business
Los Angeles, California
May 5, 2014

San Francisco Trip

Nice location, parking in the area is a total pain, have to pay $35 daily. Hotel Crew is friendly and nice, breakfast is not that good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Steve767
Business
San Diego
May 7, 2014

Good for weekend stop

Easy to find and park but the breakfast was a bit of a joke. Less than a dozen miniature bagels and miniature muffins with no jams or butter. No heated food.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
The SmallTime Traveller
Business
Irvine, CA, USA
Oct 10, 2011

Great time

Overall rating 3. Location great (SF is only 7x7 miles), Staff awesome!! Our original room had just been cleansed and it had a bleach smell to it. I called the front desk asked if we can simply change rooms, not only did theyaccomadate us immediately they gave us an upgrade. They also went out of their way to help find us Alcatraz tickets (tickets were sold out the whole weekend). It was a great stay...no complaints at all.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Take a taxi....parking is horrible everywhere. Parking garages are min $25 (no matter how long the stay)

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
une voyageuse
Business
Portland, OR, USA
Oct 17, 2011

convenient location

In San Francisco to take care of some business. We found the staff helpful and friendly, the room was spacious and quiet enough for downtown San Francisco. It is conveniently located. WiFi in the room requires cable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There is an excellent restaurant not too far, and near bus route even, but you can walk too or catch a cheap cab: Absinthe.

Back to menu Return to top