$119 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: May 31, 2015 Check-out: Jun 1, 2015

The Opal San Francisco

3 stars
View map of 1050 Van Ness Avenue, San Francisco, CA 94109

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Opal San Francisco

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
711 out of 711
Amenities:
3.3
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
3.7
Value:
3.8

81% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
TRAVELING ASHIMA
Business
NEBRASKA
Aug 18, 2014

OLD HOTEL, SO SO ROOM, EXCELLENT STAFF

I stayed in this hotel for three nights in August 2014. My stay ended on August 17. In my assessment, the location of the street is not bad, except for the many homeless people with mental illness on the adjacent streets within three or four blocks of the hotel. These people tend to peacefully beg for money, especially at night. My room was VERY CLEAN, but the amenties were very minimum. If we put everything in perspective, I got what I paid for. My alternative was to stay at other hotels in the area, but they cost much more than the Opal. The Hilton, for example costs about $450/night which was more than double what I paid for the Opal through Chesp Tickets. Com. The carpet in my room was clean but old. I am used to staying at hotels like the Marriott, the Hilton and the Westin, so, by comparison, I was not comfortable walking barefootedly on my room floor for my first two nights in the hotel. For food, there are plenty of eating places all around the hotel...American food, Indian, Pakistani, Thai, facy or casual, name it, you will find it around the Opal...especially on O'Ferro street right next to Van Ness. Also, you can easily hop on the 47 line bus almost in front of the hotel and go nonstop to the Fishermen wharff for sightseeing and great tourist attractions. All in all, I will recommend this hotel if you are staying for only two or three nights around downtown San Francisco. I don't think I will stay there again because of the hobos on the streets and the amenities, but the staff is EXCELLENT! !! My toilet overflowed and flooded the bathroom floor one night, but the staff got someone on the matter within 30 minutes. The floor was well moped. Lastly, my air conditioner did not work very well. I, however, opened the bathroom window and got very nice cool San Francisco breeze oozed into my room each day and night. I did not report the air conditioner to the staff, so, it will not be fair to blame the hotel or its staff if they are unaware of the poor state of the air conditioner. That's all from me folks. I hope my review has helped you with sufficient information upon which you can make your decision about the Opal. To stay or not to stay at the Opal, that, is now a question for you. Good luck to you. If you need to talk about the Opal, please call me at 1-800-make-up-your-freaking-mind-on-your-own. I hooe that puts a smile on your face.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
L.A.
Jul 15, 2009

nothing's worse than a rude "supervisor"

It was a very bad start to my weekend get away. Upon trying to leave my bags (as I arrived early), I was given an extremely rude and condescending "Check in is at 3. WE DON'T HAVE A ROOM" before I could even say a word. I thought I was the paying guest.Needless to say, this extremely rude guest relations person named [...] neglected to take down my name so by the time I came back to check in, the only rooms left were smoking. Even though I had confirmation for a NON-SMOKING room. They "upgraded" me to a bigger room, (smoking) but the entire place was in dire need of renovation and clean up. This place is worn down. Stains on carpet and cracked sink.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Diego, CA
Jan 28, 2008

ok

it was fine... the price was great. it's old though. there were very small elevators. it reminded me of a cheap bed and breakfast in europe.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Mel's diner.

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
A Boyfriend
Business
NYC
Jan 5, 2014

Convenient and Economical Stay

All in all the hotel is reasonable for its value. The location has its pluses and minuses. The hotel is conveniently located within 10-15 mins walk to the station (civic center/un plaza), the walk might take you thru diversifying characters and landscape which to me speaks of San Frans current urban devlopment. The hotels staff is accommodating and pleasant. Hotel is also located across Tommy's joynt (carved meats buffet style bar)...A local stomping ground for meat eaters. Mel's diner is located at its coner and seemingingly packed all day. Hotel room itself is small and tight. Kept as clean as it could be...but dated and as equivalent to any NYC 'hells kitchen' cheap price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

The mission district !

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
001Traveler001
Business
new york
Jan 19, 2014

OK for a short stay

The staff was friendly and checking in/out was quick and easy. The hotel itself was alright for a short stay. The place is a bit outdated and dingy, but the room was a decent size and had all the necessities for a night. There were some stains on the carpeting and chair in the room, but the bed linen seemed clean. It wasn't my favorite hotel but it was decent for the price. I didn't have breakfast in the morning so I'm not sure how that was.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Yuchen
Business
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Feb 13, 2014

Average

OK for short stay. Bed linen seemed not that clean. Parking is expensive. I parked one block away in the theater which was $26 a night while the hotel charges $35 a night for parking. Not that good for walking towards main attractions.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
STUDENT g
Business
Baltimore, MD
Feb 21, 2014

Nice Hotel, shady area

The hotel itself was nice, clean, the continental breakfast was nice and the people very friendly. The only drawback is that few blocks to the east of the hotel are a little bit dangerous so take the 38 bus or a cab at night. I had no issues walking during the day but be careful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
1
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
San Diego Curmudgeon
Business
San Diego, California
Mar 26, 2014

Sanity Break

Average hotel but in a good location for public transportation. Some staff were friendly and competent but others were bored and/or uninterested. Rooms and halls need updating but were very clean. Telephone switchboard was almost useless.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
FaSa
Business
Florida
Mar 29, 2014

Nothing special

Rooms clean, not the best location. Was ok for money savings. The good thing is that you're between presidio park and market street, right in the middle.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
RDRss
Business
fort lauderdale, fl
Mar 30, 2014

Nice place

Rooms are a bit small no seating other than desk chair. They should probably put a sleeper sofa with a bed. Outlets are few, had to disconnect light to plug in charger. There is no refrigerator or microwave, So you will be spending more on dining $$$ They should at least put a microwave on each floor. so you can bring left overs./

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Tommy s Joynt is across the street, good prices they hand carve the meats for your sand wiches, killer cornbeef, Also there is an Afgan resturant around the corner on Geary, another good priced place, portions are filling.

Back to menu Return to top