The Opal San Francisco

3 stars
1050 Van Ness Avenue, San Francisco, CA 94109
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
613 reviews
Nice stay

We had double suite room with 4 adults, we had good stay. Breakfast was better than expected with... See full review

  • TravelerAsia
  • Sep 26, 2014
great location

pleasant staff, decent breakfast and good for bus routes See full review

  • craiggus
  • Sep 7, 2014
Historic hotel and spacious suites -- walking distance to Union Square

Dating back to 1908, this five-story Union Square hotel still boasts the stained glass windows, period antiques and other decorative touches that hearken back to a simpler time. Rooms are clean and efficient; spacious work desks are popular among business travelers. Other amenities include a complimentary on-site fitness center and 24-hour coffee and tea service, as well as a complimentary breakfast buffet.

Highlights
  • Walking distance to shopping in Union Square
  • Historic architecture, decorative touches
  • 24-hour coffee and tea service
  • Complimentary breakfast buffet
Rooms

Each of The Opal's 164 guest rooms features central air and heat, cable television and complimentary high-speed Internet. (There's also free Wi-Fi in the hotel lobby.) Suites include small sitting areas with plush sofas. A handful of rooms have windows that look out onto the bustling Union

Features
The hotel has received a three-diamond rating from AAA and was selected as the Crescent Hotel and Resorts "Hotel of the Year" in 2008. A baby grand piano welcomes visitors to the lobby of The Opal -- a public area decorated to invoke the way it looked when the hotel debuted in 1908.

Elsewhere on the property is a 24-hour laundry facility (fees apply) and car rental desk (fees apply; rentals also can be facilitated by the concierge). Overnight parking is also available (fees apply).

All guests have complimentary access to a state-of-the-art on-site fitness center. Guests also are entitled to a complimentary breakfast buffet every morning.

After a long day exploring the city, grab a milkshake and a tuna melt at the on-site outpost of Mel's Drive-In, a 1950s-style diner that has become a San Francisco institution. The restaurant is open 24 hours on weekends.
Transportation
  • San Francisco International Airport (45 minutes)
  • Oakland International Airport (40 minutes)
  • MUNI bus (5 minutes walking)
  • Cable car stops (15 minutes walking)
  • BART (18 minutes walking)
Attractions
  • Union Square
  • Theater District
  • Embarcadero
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art
  • AT&T Park
Policies and fees

Debit cards are not acceptable at check-in. Overnight Parking is available (FEES APPLY).

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

The Opal San Francisco Rooms

Superior Junior Suite
Superior Jr Suite-Free Continential Breakfast Free Internet
Executive Suite
King bed w-Living room Free Cont Brkfst-Wireless Internet Access
KING JUNIOR SUITE
ONE KING BED - SITTING AREA FREE CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST BUFFET FREE WIRELESS INTERNET ACCESS
Deluxe King
Deluxe King - Free Continential Breakfast Free Internet access
Deluxe Double Double
Deluxe Double Room Free Continential Breakfast Buffet
Deluxe Queen
Deluxe Queen-Free Continential Breakfast Free Internet access

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
General
Air conditioned
Free local telephone calls
Elevators
Dining
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
Coffee shop
Meal plan - continental
Family plan
Services
24 hour front desk
Maid service
Guest laundromat
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
Security
In-Room Safe
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Room
Temperature control
Electronic door locks
International direct dial
Sprinklers in rooms

Hotel Map

37.7855 -122.4209
Nearby airports
San Francisco International Airport, (SFO), 25.00, MI, W; Oakland International Airport, (OAK), 22.10, MI, NW;
Area description
City Center

Nearby points of interest

  • Civic Centre: 0.2 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.2 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.4 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 0.5 mi
  • Japantown: 0.5 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 0.5 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 0.5 mi
  • Japan Center: 0.5 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 0.6 mi
  • Nob Hill: 0.6 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 0.6 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.6 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.7 mi
  • Union Square: 0.8 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.2 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.2 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.4 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 0.5 mi
  • Japantown: 0.5 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 0.5 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 0.5 mi
  • Japan Center: 0.5 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 0.6 mi
  • Nob Hill: 0.6 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 0.6 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.6 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.7 mi
  • Union Square: 0.8 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.8 mi
  • SoMa: 0.8 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.9 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.9 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 1 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 1 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 1.1 mi
  • Moscone Center: 1.1 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 1.1 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 1.1 mi
  • Chinatown: 1.1 mi
  • Lombard Street: 1.1 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 1.2 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 1.2 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 1.4 mi
  • Coit Tower: 1.4 mi
  • Walter Adams Gallery: 1.4 mi
  • Mission Dolores: 1.5 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 1.5 mi
  • Mission Delores: 1.6 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 1.6 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 1.6 mi
  • Ferry Building: 1.6 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 1.7 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 1.7 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 1.7 mi
  • Underwater World: 1.7 mi
  • ATT Park: 1.7 mi
  • Haight Ashbury: 1.7 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 1.7 mi
  • Pier 39: 1.7 mi

Dining

Mels Drive In Diner
Classic American Food - 1950 Diner

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (613)

Ratings and reviews for The Opal San Francisco

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
613 out of 613
Amenities:
3.3
Room cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3.6
Location:
3.7
Value:
3.8

81% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
travelin' mom
Redondo Beach, CA, USA
Oct 24, 2011

Its the Little Things

I have always traveled to SFO with hubby on business, and therefore stay at Weston St.Francis, Clift, etc. 5* fancy places. This time I was solo and wanted to spend $ instead of waste it on a room I wouldnt be in much- I wanted "simple". BEST DECISION EVER! Nice, simple cozy lobby. Staff was so accommodating - friendly- WELCOMING- I cant say enough. Never felt like I couldnt ask them a question about where to go or what to do. Always OFFERED (before I asked) to call a cab, town car. HEY- did I mention FREE breakfast every morning! Yep, until 10 am they have a separate room off to the lobby they open up for a complimentary breakfast for ALL their guests. I didnt eat there (slept in, MOM was on vacation)- BUT, I saw it looked pretty tasty with pastries and fresh fruit - juices. There is also complimentary COFFEE and TEA 24 hours a day in the lobby. GOOD coffee. Not the icky watered down stuff. Bigelow tea- very nice selection- and cafe cups with LIDS to take with you. (who needs starbucks?) . WAIT- one more thing- WINE & CHEESE gathering every FRIDAY evening for all the guests (that are 21 of course, get the wine- under or non drinkers get just crackers and cheese- and non-alcoholic :) ) THey served a "nice" cab and chard. Serious, not a bad selection. Although, we were so close to wine country. I would definitely say the wine was ABOVE the MAJORITY of house wines in 4* and probably on par with house red/white at top restaurants. Amenities are sparse- but who uses those anyway? really, dont we all bring our own? There are the 2 little bars of soap that are good for hands. But the shampoo and conditioner and lotion are in little "sample"- like packets. It was the first time I had seen this- and frankly, I dont know WHY more dont do this, its so much more environmentally smart. Of course, if you need or want more- just ask. They didnt smell bad- organic- themed.... but dont expect there to be more than for one- Mels Diner is "attached" by a single back door that leads into the restaurant for eating convenience. Of course, the foods great - but its diner food. There are restaurants all over. Tons of ethnic variety everywhere- "hole in the wall" places. BUT... to be honest, I didnt feel safe going ALONE up and down the streets looking for a place to eat at NIGHT. Daytime was fine. If I had been with my hubby- I would have felt fine- even a group of girlfriends would have been fine, but solo- I was just too chicken, not knowing the area. The front desk has a BUNCH of take out menus -if you ASK them. They will CALL and ORDER for you once youve decided what you want. How cool is that? NOTE- delivery times can vary at night-some stop really early. overall, i was shocked! I LOVED this place- I will totally go back to THE OPAL! Oh ya- THEY called ME on my checkout morning and asked if I needed help with my bags (ah, usually I have to call the front desk!-and then WAIT...)- and when I told them I had a late flight back to LAX- OFFERED to let me have a late check out! WOW- never had THAT happen. They stored my luggage- suggested multiple places to eat, called me a towncar to the airport (it was about the same price as a cab) and made sure I was a VERY happy person when I walked out their front door! I almost didnt want to write a review- because it was already crowded when I was there- its a hidden gem. I want to be able to go there when ever I want, AND keep the rates so low! If the secret of the OPAL gets out- everyone will want to go. So.... I changed my mind. dont go there- its WAY TOO GOOD! :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Japan Town- aka Little Osaka is about 3/4 blocks down the street. Perfect walking distance and a fabulous time to be had by all. VERY different than Chinatown-so dont expect all the glitz and touristy flair. This is Japan in its pure form, food at its most authentic.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Peder the Great Dane
Bydgoszcz, Poland
Feb 1, 2010

unbeatable price for the good location

Very professional staff, always very helpful. The hotel is good situated only few blocks away from Business Center and China Town. If you are looking for a downtown location to a fair price, the Opal hotel is the hotel to go for. Our first time in SFO, but certainly not the last and Opal would be our choice for the next trip too.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Ruth´s Chris steak restaurant. Certainly worth to pay a visit. Excellent service, the food extremely good and a place you would bring your loved ones.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Cleveland, OH
Oct 18, 2010

Central, clean, comfy, and cheap

I was blown away by the price -- for being downtown SF and so well up-kept. The rooms are right-sized, clean, and the staff very real and relatively friendly. ;) We would definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Francisco, California
Jul 14, 2011

Good location, Great price, Nice hotel

Good location to go any place you want to go. Nice hotel for a great price, and the stuff just polite. No wonder, the hotel looks busy with a lot travelers, mostly from French. Rooms big, bathroom clean, and you feel safe in the hotel

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

different places for fun, business, or shopping are so close to the hotel!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
KeepItReal99
Canada
Jun 24, 2014

Pretty good

The hotel is in a convenient location but definitely in a sketchier neighbourhood. The staff was professional and beds were comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Hof
Nov 27, 2007

Friendly staff

The Opal is a good deal, if you want a hotel in a central location of San Francisco. It's comfortable with a very friendly staff. The room was large enough and the furnishings are quite good. You have to notice the additional price for car parking!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

You are nearby Fishermans Wharf, Cable Car, Golden Gate and more. The location is very central an there are good connections by bus, tram and cable car.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Booted Cowboy
Business
Baltimore, Maryland
Jun 30, 2012

Biz in San Fran

Hotel was clean and very roomy, not cramped. Larg bath as well, but who decided to put the paper on the opposite wall from the john? LOL Talk about a stretch! Service was great. Loved the free breakfast and the continuous coffee and tea service and used it frequently. This was a very nice place to stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Hotel is near "Little Saigon." Some great local Thai restaurants. Cash only but I had a great meal of a beef noodle bown and fresh spring rolls at one of them for less than $12!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
RowenaRicardo
Business
USA
May 6, 2007

My review of The Opal

The location of The Opal hotel was very nice. The room amenities were good - bottled water was provided and there was an in-room iron/ironing board. The in-room internet access was nice. There was an additional blanket for the cool nights. The only downfall was that there was a couple in the room either next to us or in front of us that was noisy. The first night we were there, we heard the woman crying and the man trying to convince her to get back into the room. The second night we were there, she was giggling uncontrollably. The third night they were just talkative in general. Otherwise, we enjoyed our stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There is Village Pizzeria located just up the hill and across the street and Kyoto Sushi with reasonably priced sushi. My husband enjoyed their 99 cent glass of Sapporro!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
KHerna9895
Business
Sacramento, CA
Dec 4, 2013

Nice hotel, needs updating

Overall for San Francisco this hotel is a pretty good value. The bathrooms are a bit dingy, as is the rest of the room décor. However, the beds are comfortable and the location is right next to a movie theater. I would recommend it if you can get a good price (under $100 per night).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Right next door to a nice movie theater.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Drangel
Business
London UK
Jul 17, 2012

Perfect for needs

Was attending a conference. 20 min walk from Conference centre, free and stable wifi. Rooms were clean and comfortable. The hotel is on the edge of the tenderloin so ask hotel staff for best ways to walk or catch cabs. Would use again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Great cinema next door

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top