$99 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: May 5, 2015 Check-out: May 6, 2015

The Opal San Francisco

3 stars
View map of 1050 Van Ness Avenue, San Francisco, CA 94109

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Opal San Francisco

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
670 out of 670
Amenities:
3.3
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
3.7
Value:
3.8

81% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
MarianaMC
Goldsboro, NC
Apr 27, 2014

Good price for location

Friendly and helpful staff. Large comfortable room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
travelmommo
Business
Honolulu, HI
Jun 8, 2014

very nice hotel...in the tenderloin

I was a little concerned once I realized the location of this hotel (buzzer to get in the front door), but the front desk staff was very pleasant and helpful, the amenities of the hotel like 24 hour coffee and tea in the lobby and continental breakfast was just what I needed for a short stay. Bed was comfy and clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
CitycoutureGirl
Business
San Diego
Jun 5, 2014

City exploring

Staff was very friendly and helpful. We had two rooms in the outside area. Yes there is inside rooms and outside rooms. Hotel/motel? Free continental breakfast was simple but better than others I've had. Great location for us to walk the city. Coffee and tea in the lobby available at all times, we loved that.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

San Francisco is not very good for bigger parties to dine out. 5 or more, you have to do some searching to find a place that has enough room for everyone to sit together. It is manageable..

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Rozzielee
Business
Norfolk, VA
Jun 2, 2014

Two star hotel for Four star price

Put us in the wrong room from the start. As I tried to unsuccessfully to open the room door with my card key it was opened by a gentleman in a towel who obviously just got out of the shower, and explained I had the wrong room. When I showed him my hand written room number, he showed me his and of course it was the same room. They apologized at the front desk and then as is often the case when you book through travel sites and not through them directly, proceeded to put us in the noisiest room in the hotel. When I asked to change rooms they said they were booked and could not accommodate us. I know this was not the case. Breakfast was sub-par at best. The second night there we hit the hay early as we had a crack of dawn flight out of San Francisco International, we were awakened at 12:30 a.m. by a angry man screaming at his female roommate as well as obviously hitting her, it was that loud and that obvious, I called to the front desk and reported the scenario. They said they would take care of it. After another hour of the same, I physically got out of bed and went to the front desk and threatened to call 911 if they did not take care of the situation. After about 20 minutes the yelling stopped. Needless to say I got no sleep. I would not recommend this hotel to anybody staying in the San Francisco area. On a side note, we were one of the few Americans in the hotel. Mostly European occupied.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

This hotel is too far away from Union Square and in a seedy side of town with many vagrants all around.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MDisciple87
Business
New York, NY
Jun 2, 2014

Clean & Staff was friendly

Has a certain vintage look to it, but the staff was extremely friendly and the place was clean and comfortable. Great value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
kelly 5
Business
santa cruz
Jun 1, 2014

San Francisco Mini Vaca

The hotel was in the most ideal area of San Francisco for our trip!! Awesome staff and clean comfortable rooms! The parking is well worth the extra dollars they require. I will go back there on my next trip to the bay area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Great location!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Retired Mtn Folk
Business
Auberry, CA
May 29, 2014

Giants game day getaway

Location was near where we were arriving via Amtrak bus and easily used MUNI buses to stadium. Older hotel with friendly staff with clean rooms. The bathroom was a little small and only one chair in the room, but the room was very clean and the bed was very comfortable. Quiet and a very good value close to shopping in San Francisco. Enjoyed Mel's Diner located first floor.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
ClaynKenzie
Business
Charlotte, North Carolina
May 27, 2014

Good location, old hotel

Overall, the hotel was too expensive for what we got out of it. We really just paid $250 a night for a good location and an old hotel. If it was renovated, it would be a better value, but the hotel is past its prime. Also another important note, parking at the hotel costs $30 a day which I found excessive. I wish we would have stayed across the bay in a hotel half the price and much nicer and we still would have paid the same for parking in the city when we came to visit. So really if you stay here you're just paying for a good location but I would recommend somewhere else.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Bri'Asia Solange
Business
NJ
May 24, 2014

Good location, friendly staff

The staff is very friendly. The location is great. You can easily walk to Union Square, and those that are fit can easily reach Chinatown, Fisherman's Wharf, etc. The amenities are basic and it is a clean hotel. They have a wine reception on Wednesdays for 1 hour which was a nice touch.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Francesco555
Business
Reno
May 21, 2014

Left my heart...

Enjoyed the Opal and it's good eats neighbors. Location is great, staff was friendly and helpful and the accommodations were comfortable. Good value for SF....would do again...Toms Joynt directly across the street...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Opal San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Insevin
Business
Yuba City, CA
May 19, 2014

Nice hotel for a fair price

Opal is a good hotel in the middle of the city, near Chinatown. The cheaper rooms don't have many amenities though and the decor is more plain and beige than some of the pictures let on. The breakfast is also small, consisting of muffins, bagels, bread, sliced melons, juice, and coffee with toasters on the side. The rooms are satisfactory if you're just trying to visit the city. If you into the sharing sort of thing, the beds can fit about 3 normal sized people who don't toss and turn and you can always request a roll-in bed. I would choose this hotel before a typical budget hotel or something not in the main city. Also, we happened to be in a handicapped accessible room and it seemed appropriate for that purpose.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

There is a parking garage behind the hotel that is cheaper than the hotel's parking. At first glance it might even appear that it IS the hotel's parking, but its not.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top